We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were ripped off on a transporation ride”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 August 2008

This Sheraton is primarily a business hotel with no tourist attractions within walking distance. The hotel rooms do not have an in-room safe. We wanted to visit the Egyptian Museum. We asked the desk staff to call a taxi. A driver from “K Limo Shuttle” arrived in an unmetered Lincoln Town Car and charged us $25 for the 6 ½ mile ride. When we left the museum, K Limo was not available and K Limo told us to call Yellow Cab. The return trip to the hotel was only $11.50. I informed the hotel manager about this experience.
One afternoon, the hotel cleaning staff forgot about us and they finally arrived about 4pm.
On the positive side, the hotel does have free shuttle service within a 5 mile radius and
that includes The Great Mall. And they provide airport shuttle transport.

Stayed: August 2008
Thank MarJan6861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (354)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

320 - 326 of 354 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2008

I loved this hotel, it is great property, very clean, friendly staff, has all the ammenities that you need for either business or pleasure trips, rooms are very nice, I was in San Jose for a business trip and will definately stay there again, I highly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank travelmorena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2008

Stay at the Sheraton San Jose regularly (every 2 weeks) for business. In general, the hotel has been recently renovated (past 9 months), has great front desk staff and is centrally located to High-Tech locations, freeway access and shopping.

Hotel is very clean with it's own restaurant, bar, exercise room, pool, hot tub, … . Rooms have both wired & wireless high-speed access. Club lounge is available as a great place to meet other Hi-Tech people; have made great friends there.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Travel-too-much44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

Hotwire.com lists this property as a 4-star hotel and using their criteria, would agree. Using everyone else's criteria, I would rank it as a 3.5-star hotel. But it is certainly better than the 2.5-star rating that tripadvisor's customer ratings give it.

PROS:

First of all, the room is very nicely appointed. We had a two-bed room, both beds being queen-sized (hotels really need to dump the standard-sized bed in favor of queen-size; they don't cost that much more and I bet a lot of customers look for two queens and not two standard beds, a.k.a. doubles.) It was large enough, had a clean, up-dated bathroom and was quiet. Good location, safety, clean and quiet rooms, clean bathrooms and comfortable bed are all I ask in my hotel room.

In spite of the fact that the hotel is hidden on a road not easily found or accessed by the main roads, it is in a good location, once one learns the trail, for access to the South Bay area around San José, which is a good spot for exploring all that part of California. It's not too far from San Francisco (traffic providing).

There is free parking, though some of the parking lot is poorly lit at night.

I cannot complain about the hotel or room itself. I liked it and we are going to stay there again in September.

CONS

The staff is comprised largely of pleasant young people who have the flaws typical of their age: they are eager and polite but essentially clueless and incapable of reasoning out reasonable solutions. (Shall we blame parents, schools or television? How about all of them?). When I arrived at the San José airport, I found I had left my map of the hotel at home. So I called the Hotel--and remember, this is a hotel that supposedly serves the airport--and asked for directions. The young lady who answered had absolutely no idea of how to go from the airport to the hotel, so she passed me on to a young man who knew the directions, just not how to explain it to me. He couldn't remember the exact name of the freeways or roads. Incredible.

To be fair, I called 411 for directions, and they couldn't give me the correct directions either as they didn't have the names of one of the streets. I eventually found the hotel, off on its little hidden path, but it was purely by accident. The staff wasn't terrible or rude, on the contrary, they were to be commended on their politeness. But I sensed ineptitude, which is not a good quality to have in a service industry. It's almost as if Sheraton uses this hotel to train its brand-new employees.

One last complaint: in a day when the internet is ubiquitous and even cheap motels like Choice International and Best Western offer free internet access, the fact that this Sheraton, and probably all of them, charge for internet access, is ridiculous. Now since I got the hotel through hotwire.com at a really good rate ($59.00 per night before charges and taxes), I put up with this, and they do have some slow computers in the lobby. But this, like charging for parking (which they did not, I'm just adding this as a pet peeve) has to go.

I understand that hotels are profit-making businesses, but this is ridiculous.

I liked the hotel (once I found where it was) and intend to go back. What more recommendation can I make?

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DCinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2008

# Overall Impressions

Upscale Courtyard (noisy heating cooling unit in room, cheap fixtures and furniture). Not a 4-star on my scale, more likely a 2.5-star. The Sheraton is well-located for business in Milpitas or Santa Clara: Montague Expressway is two blocks from the hotel.

# Layout

L-shaped hotel. There is a restaurant complex associated with the hotel separated from the small lobby by a covered driveway.. Neutral beige decor as of 2008-05-23.

# Beds

Adequate

# work area

Large desk, comfortable chair. Wired internet and WiFi available, the WiFi is much faster.

# Bathrooms

The best thing about any Starwood property is the bathroom. Spacious enough for two. Marble and tile, nice fixtures in shower.

# Restaurants

Late night dinner in The Bistro was decent, unremarkable, forgettable, but not too bad.

# Front desk

Friendly, accurate, helpful, a little mechanized.

# Charges (internet, parking, etc)

There is a charge for internet (9.95 USD), not for parking.

# hotel chain website

starwood still has one of the less impressive websites, especially compared to Marriott. Needs work.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank terryjgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

The Worst Hotel i've ever stayed!!!
We got sick due to the window is opened.
we check-in late, the room is dark, did not realized that the window is open, it is very windy, the heater is very noisy keep turning on and off. Called the front desk, and they said they will talk to the manager, never get back to me.


Details:
Stayed in Sheraton at (Barber Lane, San Jose, California) from March 23, 2008 to March 27, 2008 (5 nights), the suite is big with 2 big screen TV, one queen size bed. The suite located in the first floor.

March 23, 2008 Sunday (check-in night time)

1. Kleenex tissues only few pieces left in the box.
2. Turn on the TV, and the TV screen said “Please wait, working on the system”.... and then said “too busy....” something like this, no TV to watch
3. the clock beside the bed is blinking, need to fix it, (too tired, did not bother to fix it)
4. only two small little trash bin in the suite (one in the bathroom, another one underneath the office table), end up putting all the trash on the floor beside the bin
5. did not realize the window is open, as the curtain covers the window
6. the room is too dark, not enough lights (living room has only one standing lamp)
7. the heater is too noisy
8. no elevator, need to use stairs

March 24, 2008 Monday (back to the hotel, night time)

1. the light switch beside the door is not working, due to the person who cleans the room turn off the light manually, which makes the swtich not working. we need to walk in the dark to turn on the light.
2. the TV still not working, call the front desk, need to press 41 inorder to watch TV.
3. the clock beside the bed still not working (too tired, did not bother to fix it)
4. the 2 small little trash bin (one in the bathroom, another one beside the room door), lack of trash bins, need to put the trash on the floor
5. did not realize the window is open, as the curtain covers the window
6. did not use the coffee maker, but have use paper cups last night, did not add paper cups anymore
7. the heater was turn off, need to turn on the heater, the heater is too noisy and will blow lots of cold air out first before the room can be warmer.

March 25, 2008 Tuesday (back to the hotel, night time)

1. the clock beside the bed finally is working.
2. There are 2 small little trash bins (one in the bathroom, where is the second one?) check under
the office desk, check in different doors, how come they take out one of the trash bins? After looking for a while, give up on looking the trash bin. An hour later, finally saw it was underneath the TV table of the bedroom
3. the light switch is not working, same thing happen, they turn off the light manually. we need to walk in the dark to turn on the light
4. feel some air blowing out, finally realize the window is open, call the front desk, make sure they close the window after the room is cleaned up.
5. still did not add paper cups beside the coffee maker machine after the paper cups were used the first night
6. one of the door key is not working, got expired

March 26, 2008 Wednesday (back to the hotel, night time)

1. they removed the power cord of the clock, NO MORE clock
2. request for more trash bins
3. got sick, after sleeping few nights under cold air
4. NO MORE paper cups
5. Two door keys are not working, need to go to the front desk to get new key (it was a nightmare!!!, need to drive out to go to the front desk to get new key, and climb stairs for several times) It makes the things worse as I have an infant in the car seat, need to take the baby out of the car several times, put the baby back to the carseats, etc...

LOTS of work just because we got expired door key!!! which is non-sense....

March 27, 2008 Thursday

Did not refill the used up tissue box

they turned off the light manually, not turning it off by the wall switch near the door. When we came in, it was dark, flipped the switch, no light, fumbled all the way to the lamp at the other end of the room and flipped that switch, still no light, fumbled all the way back to the door to flip the wall switch, now we have a dim light in the unit.

The staff was not trained properly to tend to travelers' need! Mis-managed hotel overall.

OVERALL: THE WORST hotel I've ever had!!!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ssze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2008

I have stayed at this hotel every year for the last few years and really enjoy it. It is just off the highway but on a rather quiet road, and feels somewhat isolated from the business areas it serves. The room I was most recently given was large and brightly lit, with a beautiful HD television and large windows through which I could watch the sun rise. In general I found the room quiet: no street noise and no evidence of other guests except the USA Today's in the mornings.

Unfortunately the pool was closed (even though the website said it would be open by 1/1/2008) but in the past I have swum laps in it for exercise: it is large for a hotel pool. They have a nice (again, for a hotel) fitness room with cardio equipment that has individual TV screens and dumbells up to fifty pounds.

I was surprised at the quality of the room service meals I had. I ordered room service twice, and each time the food arrived in fifteen minutes and was really really tasty.

I found the front desk staff very helpful and proactive. They have three computers and two printers set up for guests to access the internet or print documents. Ample parking.

This remains my choice of hotels near Cisco Systems and the other San Jose high tech companies.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank fenwayman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
327 reviews
2.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton San Jose Hotel

Address: 1801 Barber Ln, Milpitas, CA 95035-7419
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#5 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range: £90 - £333 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Sheraton San Jose Hotel. Close to The Great Mall, Levi's Stadium, and Paramount's Great America Theme Park. Offers 14 different meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sheraton San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milpitas
Milpitas Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing