We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice. The "lounge" is unacceptable though.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sheraton San Jose Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Petaluma
Level Contributor
198 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Very nice. The "lounge" is unacceptable though.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

Always enjoy my stays here. Very nice hotel. Decently appointed. Acceptable prices. Good service at the front desk. Comfortable bed. Decent Wi-Fi. In general nothing at all to complain about for a business hotel.

However, the lounge? C'mon. Its a hotel room converted to a lounge. Very small, not much room inside. Not much food either. A mini fridge with a few sodas and waters. Some chips & salsa in the evening. Maybe one tray of one type of appetizer, something you could buy in the freezer at Safeway. Lots of places you can make do with the lounge food for a meal. Not here. I generally look at the options and leave without taking anything other than some waters. Its really just unacceptable.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fanfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and our future guests. You are right about the lounge being small and unfortunately, we can't do much about that. However, we change the menu for the evening hors d' oeuvres reception so that it is not the same everyday, but it is really not meant to be a full meal either. We will explore other options to improve. Thank you again for letting us know about your experience. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    144
    59
    11
    14
See reviews for
58
41
34
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in more hotels that I can count in San Jose and this place is hands down THE BEST... Beautifully furnished, great location, comfortable beds, awesome staff, quiet, clean... Well, you get the picture...

Highly recommend it....

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mohamad K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback! It feels good to know that we took care of you and that we were able to provide you with a great experience. Thank you for your recommendation to our future guests and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

The front desk guy was very helpful. Even proactive when he determined that based on who was traveling, that our king bed would be insufficient. He got us back on track. A very pleasant experience. We would stay again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the courtyard side rather than the freeway side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CARainmaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay at the San Jose Sheraton Hotel. It's great to hear about our associates who make the experience a pleasant one because they anticipate your needs. Although there were no names mentioned, we will give special recognition to our front desk team!
Thanks again and we look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I stayed at this Sheraton property for one night for business. This property is located in the middle of the Silicon Valley. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Check-in staff were friendly and helpful. I stayed in room 622, which has a great view of the swimming pool in the back. If you a SPG premium member, Sheraton club serves good breakfast in the morning and snack in the afternoon. I will stay at this property again in the future.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the swimming pool in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank New O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
I am happy to hear that you will be back again. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it is helpful for us and our future guests in determining where to when they come to the San Jose/Milpitas area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen
Level Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

From the start a very friendly hotel, the staff was pleasant and very wecloming.
Kris and Joy at the front desk were always offering assistance and directions for this first timer to the area. Their suggestions were right on the money...and very welcomed.
Kudos to their professionalism and their input and directions....
Dora the 7th floor chambermaid was pleasant and thorough, and willing to maintain my room in excellent conditions.
The swimming pool area is lush and tranquil, and a beautiful waterfall greets you as you arrive and soothes the weary traveller.
A Dinner meal at the Bistro was served fresh and on time, by a friendly host.
The meal was actually quite impressive as was the decadent dessert! A++ to the chef on that cake!
Upon meeting the office and management staff they also welcomed me to the property and offered an open door policy, seldom found in a hotel chain.
If travels should bring me back to the San Jose California area, I really wish to return to the Sheraton-Milpitas.
Thank you for a great stay!
Hope you enjoyed the cookies!...you deserved them and more!
Abel Gonzalez
713 West Curtis
Harlingen, Texas 78550
abelglz713@aol.com

Room Tip: Sugested rooms to overlook the swimming pool/ courtyard areas.....but all rooms have great views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abelglz713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
I was excited to read your review of your recent stay here, I'm glad that you had a great experience with us. I shared your comments with the rest of the team, particularly Kris, Joy, and Dora, and all were equally thrilled to hear the recognition about their great service.
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback with us and our future guests! We are happy to know that, as a team, we are doing the right things to satisfy our guest. We look forward to your next stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
136 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while attending a convention at the Santa Clara convention center. All in all, my stay was very nice. The room was clean, comfortable, and well-appointed. My only complaint was that I couldn't get the window to open, and the room felt stuffy to me. Other than that, I thought we got a good room at a reasonable price (booked through Priceline name your own price)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for staying with us and providing feedback about your stay, we appreciate it.
The window opening in all of our guest rooms is limited for safety reasons. However, we have a beautiful courtyard where guests can sit and relax too, or do some work if they choose to do so. The hotel has other nice features, including an outdoor heated pool, which I hope you will be able to enjoy when you stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Adequate business hotel.

Stayed at the traditional room with king bed for 3 nights. Room was clean, bed was comfy, and bathroom was spacious. I do like Sheraton's bed a lot and always had a good sleep.

Two things I did like about this Sheraton: really friendly service and the bigger than average gym.

Few things did bother me though. First, there's no in-room safe. I do like to store certain things just to have a peace of mind, but ended up taking all with me. The work desk in the room is set up right in front of the AC unit, which was annoying when it was blowing cold air, so I ended up shuffling things around so I don't have to sit with the AC unit freezing my back. The door to the bathroom is really wide for some reason and blocks the entryway unless it's closed or open all the way.

Also, whenever I enter to the gym, my room card would always be deactivated by the card reader at the gym! I had to go to the front desk several times just to get a new key or have my key reactivated. Annoying.

Was hoping I would be offered free wi-fi, but wasn't lucky enough. Tried to take advantage of the free wi-fi in the lobby, but it was pretty slow, so ended up going back upstairs and paid the $10 for the in room wi-fi.

Hotel restaurant, The Bistro, was okay. There's plenty of food options and Asian plazas within a short drive. Free parking.

Overall, for a business hotel, it works.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank wow445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rlangley, General Manager at Sheraton San Jose Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us and our future guests. We will continue to work on improving on the areas that you mentioned, such as the keys and the safe. We understand that these details can make a difference in the hotel experience of our guests.
The hotel fitness center is a very nice feature of the hotel. It is spacious and has new equipment that make it easy for our guests to stay fit while on the road. The complimentary WiFi access in the lobby and restaurant is great for guests who want to stay in touch while roaming the hotel; however, the in-room WiFi is ideal for guests who want faster and a more secure connection for work.
Thank you for taking notice of our friendly staff, we have a great team and we are proud of it! We hope to see you here again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
0.1 mi away
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
1.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
1.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
2.5 mi away
HYATT House San Jose/Silicon Valley
1.2 mi away
Courtyard Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton San Jose Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton San Jose Hotel

Property: Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Address: 1801 Barber Lane, Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#5 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sheraton San Jose Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a warm welcome at the Sheraton San Jose Hotel. Close to The Great Mall, Levi's Stadium, and Paramount's Great America Theme Park. Offers 14 different meeting spaces. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Sheraton San Jose Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Milpitas
Milpitas Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing