We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in, and Ive stayed in a room with roaches. PLEASE READ”
Review of Heritage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Heritage Inn
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Reviewed 14 April 2011

Bare with me, I am still furious. We spent 6 hours in the car getting to our hotel, and it was a disappointment from the minute we pulled in. The hotel looked rundown just like the matching boarded up, barbwire fenced Denny's across the parking lot. I grew up in this city and it made me feel let down just pulling up, little did I know it was just the beginning.

We walked into the office and told the gentleman we wanted to check in. All goes well until he stated that for the room we wanted, we needed to pay more. We booked the room over a month prior on Orbitz in which our credit cards were already charged for the nights. I showed the gentleman (who I found out later was the manager) my print out from Orbitz stating how much the rates were, and what we were charged. He said if we wanted the room we booked, we would need to pay more money and that Orbitz had messed up. We were exhausted from the drive and just wanted to get to our room so I gave him my card and paid more. He gave us our key and we walked to our room.

Upon entering our room (it was a smoking room, which I dont expect to smell like roses) we were overwhelmed by the smell best described as an ashtray full of cigarettes left in the rain. On the floor there were multiple holes in the carpet, a ball of human hair was on the floor, the chairs were stained,the comforter was stained, the walls were deep yellow, and the lamp was broken. I proceeded to the restroom which the door did not close all the way, mold on the ceiling, initials carved into the wood under the window, rusty trash can, and a pen cap jammed into the ceiling. I was LIVID, but we had plans and had to leave to eat dinner.

While out, we called Orbitz trying to get a refund or even help to book another hotel but they said they could not help us unless the hotel agreed to work with us. Orbitz called our hotel where the manager refused to give us any sort of a refund because he claimed the room was fine. This is not Orbitz fault dont get me wrong, they tried to help! Orbitz said the hotel manager was willing to work with us and not to leave. I had my credit card in hand wanted to grab our stuff and get out.

We get back to the hotel where we visit the manager again. We proceeded to talk to him about the room and my boyfriend mentioned and I quote, "I am a guy, and by guy standards its completely disgusting". The manager began to argue with us saying and I quote again, "It is a smoking room, there are going to be holes in the carpet I cant fix it every time I mean what do you expect? What can I do?". He kept saying there was nothing wrong with the room and all he was willing to do was switch us rooms. We figured it was just a losing situation and we would never win so we accepted the room change.

After grabbing a new key card we proceeded to walk to our new room when we hear the manager yell to us "Wait, I already booked that room I need to give you another key card". Really sir? You are that disorganized? Anyways, we go back into the office, grab another key and walk to our new room which was 3 feet from the ice machine and maintenance room and opened the door.

The smell was not nearly as bad however the stains were everywhere, our tv remote did not work, the back of the main door was terribly trashed, tv was fuzzy, mold on the ceilings, more graffiti on the wood under the window and the shower floor was ATROCIOUS. I was so furious I was about to cry.

We go to leave to get some drinks when we notice our front door doesnt lock behind us. I was livid, so I sent my boyfriend to talk to the manager again. He walked with my boyfriend to our room and proceeded to tell my boyfriend it was HIS FAULT the door didnt lock. He said to my boyfriend it was because of the way he opened the door. After a few minutes he fixed it and my boyfriend walked back to my car and we left.

We go to leave the following day to get some breakfast, when behold! Our door doesnt lock....yet again. My boyfriend goes to the manager and says the door didnt lock. Manager comes back and says it just needed WD40, and after a few minutes it locks again. After that I was so angry it practically ruined my trip, we got back to the hotel, got our stuff and left. I have stayed in a hotel before where I saw a roach crawl across the floor, and I thought that was the worst hotel. I swear to you, this was HORRIBLE and the manager was incredibly rude, and not at all willing to do anything about what had happened. I am not trying to not pay for a room, I'm willing to pay for a room for what its worth. I would not pay $10 to stay in a hotel like this. I will NEVER stay in this hotel or any other Travelodge for that matter. I wish I could post all pictures so you all could see how horrible. I did not get a dime back for my hotel stay, nor an apology from the manager. Ridiculous, save yourselves DONT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Milpitas is a gorgeous, dont stay here.
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SkipShift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (28)
There are newer reviews for Heritage Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 28 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2011

WE got there and one wall had no power. after they hit the breaker the lamp blew sparks out the wall. we had to request a remote control. The coffee pot had no lid so the coffee spilled out. The smell was bad and masked with cheap air freshener. I was afraid to plug my lap top in because every outlet was over pluged or had fire marks around it. Worst stay of my life!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fdelude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

As soon as we reached the Front Desk we knew we were going to have a pleasant stay at this hotel because of the "big" welcoming smiles that we got from the staff . The lobby, small , with FREE internet access. When we checked in our room we were surpised to see how big the room was with old but good furniture,When we realized that maybe our remote was missing we called the front desk and staff was very happy to send us one in 5 minutes. they called back in 10 minutes to make sure we got it!!! Now that's what I call "trained well" staff. The bed was comfortable and the breakfast was ok. We would stay here again any time and we will tell all our friends about the Sheraton San Jose in Milpitas

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank i_love_use
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Room was very dirty. Obviously had not been vacuumed recently and could see a very thick layer of dirt in the corner of the room. The beds appeared clean but like the towels were stained. The shower had mold around the tile and the drain cover was not even attached. Stood on a towel to shower..at least the water was hot. Fixtures, carpet, and bathroom vanity were loose and notably dated (rusted, broken etc..), couldn't even close shower door! TV reception was poor. We didn't see any bugs but ended up itching after we climbed into the beds.

Continental breakfast a joke; pieces of cut up muffin, white toast, and small gross looking tangerines. Coffee was good though. Although the water looked clean, pool had a sign on it showing it was closed by health inspector or county. All this for about $80.00, what a rip off!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greyNECalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2010

When i went into the room it stank like if they had not cleaned it for a while, but i just sprayed my perfume so the smell went away but then when i went to the bed there were some bugs that bite you, i thought there was only one but my husband woke me up at 3 am and he was all bitten so we just wanted to leave so they offered us another room and we went to the other room and it was stinky the blankets looked dirty but I was tired too leave to another hotel plus they did not even want to refund the money

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcarolina88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2008

Well, I had to book a hotel on the day I needed it. So choice hotels was out of the questions because prices were very high. So I decided to give Expedia a shot. Prices weren't that bad and it came up with Travelodge for about $65 a night total. Not so bad, but there were a few cons upon my arrival.

I stepped into the check in desk and asked to check in. The process was simple and he just told me to sign here and there. After that, I asked him how to access to wireless internet, He said type in the zip code. I told him uhhh ok.

So I went to my room with my girlfriend and the room was very plain in a bad way. Nothing was dirty around the room nor bathroom, just it organized in a very messy way and also the room walls and blankets looked very old, probably more than ten years old.

I then sat on the bed and took out my laptop, and tried to connect to the internet. I tried several times trying to enter the internet but it just didn't work. I called the front desk again and he told me to type in travelodge and the password is the zip code, I did that and it still didn't work. I went down to the front desk where he gave me instructions but he didn't want to tell me himself how to do it.

I went back to my room and saw the instructions weren't even for the same router as the hotels. I then gave up for a few minutes and stared at the instructions again. I found out it was in an ANS III code, which means you put a "3" before each password letter. Meaning if the zip code was 95035, you do "3935303335". A three before each zip code number, THEN THE INTERNET WORKED! After and HOUR frustration.

The internet was not very reliable however, I kept getting disconnected and connected.

The hotel was pretty good otherwise. Shower was burning hot, heater was decent, the bed was very comfortable. I slept pretty quick on the bed, yeah it was that comfortable. HBO on the TV's a big plus, it got my girlfriend stuck on the TV.

Next morning I woke up and got to front desk and just gave them my key and I was done. Breakfast was in the small front desk room also and it wasn't too appetizing. Just some muffins, donuts, cereal, juice, and morning bars. Overall, great stay, but the swimming pool being separated from the facility and also horrible wireless internet. It could've been better, I would recommend it if these small things don't bother you.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank jrjrdinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyT38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
0.1 mi away
Days Inn San Jose Milpitas
Days Inn San Jose Milpitas
#15 of 20 in Milpitas
278 reviews
0.4 mi away
Baymont Inn and Suites Milpitas/San Jose
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Brookside Inn
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
320 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heritage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heritage Inn

Address: 378 W. Calaveras Blvd., Milpitas, CA 95035 (Formerly Travelodge Milpitas/Silicon Valley)
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Price Range: £79 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Heritage Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Heritage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travel Lodge Milpitas
Milpitas Travel Lodge
Milpitas Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing