We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent stay but a boring area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent stay but a boring area”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The hotel was ok. Clean, neat, and staff was nice. But the location is terrible, it's near nothing to do, so you have to have a car there. It was close to the highway so we were able to drive to San Jose or MIlpitas easily. I wish they had a bigger gift shop/store with basic advil or any medication for someone who might be sick.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SVS85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Greetings SVS85,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a four star review about your most recent trip to the Silicon Valley Area.

I'm sorry to hear that you found the location of our property a little isolated, however I noticed you were able to drive into San Jose. In regards to the medicinal items, we do have a variety of items available in our gift shop.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,
Lamart Mcintosh
Asst: Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

336 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    132
    64
    18
    14
See reviews for
33
28
18
225
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithfield
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

This Crowne Plaza Hotel was in a convenient location. We found the staff friendly, the rooms clean and nicely appointed. I would have liked to have seen a second chair in the room, but not having one was not a real disadvantage. We enjoyed our stay during this cross country trip and would recommend the hotel for other travelers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RhondaP2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Greetings RhondaP2,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about you're most recent stay at our property.

With so many options for business and personal travel i'm happy to hear that we were able to provide the comfort you were looking for in a hotel stay.

We'll look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thanks again,

Lamart Mcintosh
Asst. Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

When I first realised I was staying at this hotel I was disappointed. It doesn't look much from the outside, however I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms were spacious and clean, the bed comfortable and the bedside treats for weary travelers were a lovely touch. There's a small pool and deck, and a guest laundry. The bar's quite nice. The staff were incredibly helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Greetings Liz G,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about your most recent trip to the Silicon Valley area. We're delighted to hear that our hotel met you're expectations.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Thanks again,

Lamart Mcintosh
Asst. Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Staying here for the second time. Rooms have been renovated and look nice, bed comfortable, quiet except from little street noise which is hardly noticeable. Restaurant has good food at reasonable prices and great service. Thank you Lupe!
This hotel also has plenty of parking space which is free.

On the negative side, the toilet paper holder in my bathroom was not mounted (?!?), no Kleenex and there´s no real closet, just a corner with a curtain which looks cheap and spoils the overall impression of the room. There´s also no in-room safe.
Aircon/heater system is kind of strange and noisy: To heat it blows very hot air into the room until it decides that the room is at temperature. After the room cooled down, the circle starts again... no middle term like just warm air with low fan speed/noise.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jet_Lagged_Man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Greetings Jet_Lagged_Man,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and the level of service provided. I will definitely pass on Kudos to Lupe.

I'm sorry to hear about the issues which caused some inconvenience during your stay. I would love to hear more about these issues. Please feel free to contact me directly via the info provided bellow.

Regards,

Lamart Mcintosh
Asst. Guest Service Manager
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sintra, Portugal
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

On the heart of silicone valley, the Crowne Plaza is a very comfortable hotel, with nice rooms and a good service.
The shuttle from the hotel to the surrounding companies is a fantastic complementary service, that allows a easy way of transportation.
All the staff is very helpful.
Recommended for you business trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CA_GSXR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Greetings CA_GSXR,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about you're most recent stay at our hotel here in Milpitas.We're extremely happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our level of service matched your expectations.

Again we just wanted to say thanks and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,
Lamart Mcintosh
Asst. Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

I stayed here for three nights on business travel and had a pleasant experience. The smart young Asian lady (Ardi?) at the counter was professional and gave me a warm welcome with all the details I needed to know for my stay. I give high marks to this place for cleanliness, comfortable beds and spacious bright rooms. I got a room on a high floor with a nice view to the Silicon Valley. The floor was quiet and I could work in peace. Wi-fi was quite good and I had no issues even watching Netflix.

Breakfast was delicious and the service staff was fantastic! Kudos to the chef for making some delicious fare and changing up the menu every other day. Many hot choices, including scrambled eggs one day and yummy huevos rancheros another day.

I would have given this hotel a five stars for everything I said and its perfect location off the highway but I really struggled to find a decent parking spot in the evenings. Even if I did, this parking lot is packed so tight, sometimes it is hard to fit in a full-size vehicle in the narrow parking lanes. This is a real problem .. the last thing I want to experience after coming back from a long day at work is to go circles in a parking lot at my traveler's home. Not sure what the management can do to address this issue, but clearly there appear to be more cars than guests in this lot!!

Overall I highly recommend this place ... great value for money in an area where everything seems overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frantix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Geetings Frantix,

Thanks for choosing to stay with us on you're most recent trip to the Silicon Valley area. We know that you have many options and choosing us makes us feel special. It is with that in mind that we ensure you and all our customers feel special too. I will definitely pass on kudos to Arcy at the front desk and the chef for ensuring you're stay was memorable.

In regards to parking we will definitely take note of the concerns.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Regards,
Lamart Mcintosh
Asst. Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

I wish we can stay longer, it's just 2 nights but I really enjoyed my stay in this hotel and the surrounding attractions in San Jose, Bay Area and of course San Francisco were really fantastic! Staying in this hotel as part of our San Francisco tour is really a good choice, room is very clean and bed is comfy. I will recommend this to any friend who's planning to visit the area..

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gavin_Zachary07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownePlazaSJSV, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Greetings Tripadvisor Member,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review about your most recent trip to the Silicon Valley Area. We're happy that you enjoyed your time here with us.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Cheers,

Lamart Mcintosh
Asst. Guest service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
1.5 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sonesta Silicon Valley San Jose
1.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Silicon Valley-Milpitas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley

Property: Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Address: 777 Bellew Dr, Milpitas, CA 95035-7900
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Business Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley 3.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are pleased to announce that as of mid-July 2013, we have completed our full hotel renovation! Experience the fast-paced energy of Northern California's vibrant Silicon Valley when you stay at the Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley. Situated just minutes from the Mineta San Jose International Airport, our modern hotel is the largest in Milpitas and offers the perfect combination of comfort and convenience right here in the "Capital of Silicon Valley." Whether you're visiting for business or pleasure, you'll enjoy our well-appointed guestrooms, spacious suites and fabulous service from our friendly staff and delicious food and beverage in our SEVENS BAR & GRILL. Connect to your social life or catch up on e-mails with our robust WiFi network and stay with us to discover your perfect home away from home right here in the energetic city of Milpitas, CA! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), IHG, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza San Jose/Silicon Valley Hotel Milpitas
Crowne Plaza Milpitas
Crowne Plaza Hotel Milpitas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing