We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service other than front desk needs improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Service other than front desk needs improvement”
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our room was an average hotel room and adequate for a 2 night stay. There was a musty/mildew smell when we walked into our room. The hallways as well as our room smelled of over-used air freshener. The hotel front desk staff was polite and helpful. When we couldn't print our boarding passes in the business center (computer was not working properly) they printed them for us at the front desk.

The second day we returned to our room at 4:30 and it was not made up. I called the front desk and they said someone would be right up. After a 1/2 hour I called again and told them to just give us fresh towels which took another 20 minutes.

Our package included breakfast. You can order a number of choices including omelets, eggs, waffles or other hot items which are made to order. In addition there is fresh fruit and breads. Both mornings it took a very long time to get our order. The server apologized many times. Don't eat at the hotel unless you have plenty of time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Dear H S,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate knowing our failures to our guests so that we can grow as a hotel and team. I am very sorry to hear that you had these unfortunate delays in service. We have very recently added more staff to our different departments, housekeeping and our restaurant, and any delays experienced should be taken care of from here on out. I encourage you to call the hotel, as I would love to have you back on me, in order to show our improved service.

Warmest regards,

Evelyn Blessing
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    164
    83
    28
    19
See reviews for
105
62
30
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Hotel is good, however the no of staff for this time when it was running full was inadequate. Also the doors of each room were scratched and gave a feeling of an old place. The breakfast menu needs individual pricing and also needs staff who is attentive to the needs and do not forget orders.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Yogesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This facility is exceptionally nice. We will definitely stay again next trip. The lobby appearance is very cozy, specially the conference table on the side. Restaurant has pleasant atmosphere and a good place to dine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Olegario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Covina, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We really enjoy our stay, the room is clean and accomodate our family with two teens comfortably. The location is very strategic, close to the variety of restaurants, fast food. The satff are very helpful and friendly, we recommend this hotel to stay, good value.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank tzmom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallon, United States
1 review
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Room and facility was good. Reservation system and hotel desk have disconnect concerning billing. Both do it for the same stay. Thus, doubles your cost and staff can't understand where the problem is.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Wade H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Over all the hotel is good. For the price that I had via Booking.com, it was very good. We didn't spend much time in the hotel (arrive late in the evening and leave early in the morning). The ony problem that I had it was regarding the payment. The hotel charged me a much higher price than the one guarantee by Booking.com for my reservation. At the checkout the staff told me that due amont is 0 for the hotel and Booking will charge me the price for 1 week of stay, but at the end the hotel withdrew the money from my account (1.5X the price of my reservation). Finally, staff from Boooking fixed the problem.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mariana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, United States
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The staff was very friendly here and service was very good here. Rooms clean and comfortable. I used the free shuttle to the airport be sure to book ahead of time for the shuttle. Location is very good with several restaurants close by. There is an in and out burger within walking distance. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
282 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
#12 of 20 in Milpitas
147 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Address: 30 Ranch Drive, Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Family Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Hilton Hotels Direct, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas Hotel Milpitas
Hilton Garden Inn Milpitas
Hilton Milpitas
Milpitas Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing