We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Room type reserved not honored due to overbooking”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is nice and clean. Housekeeping staff were very friendly. It was also in a good location - close to restaurants and coffee shops; and right off the freeway. The only worst thing was our arrival and departure experience. We drove almost 5 hours and arrived at midnight, very tired. When we checked in, we were told by the front desk that we were one of the 5 unfortunate guests that were assigned a 1 king bed instead of the 2 beds room that we reserved. We were a family of 4 and a baby. Although disappointed, I tried to understand, as I am also a hotelier. Things happen but could've been prevented. Their explanation was that they had to upgrade Diamond members. I asked for a lot of a rollaway bed and a crib but they don't have any anymore. I asked for a lot of blankets so we can sleep on the floor but only got 2. We woke up with a sore back and the baby had to sleep uncomfortably. I asked to be moved the next day but it happened at almost 3pm because wasn't ready so our whole morning plans were all ruined because we had to wait to move all our stuff. At checkout, we didn't get an apology nor we were asked how our stay was. The front desk greeting was 'Did you get your receipt?' When I said 'yes' she said 'ok'. What I great farewell after all the inconvenience we have encountered.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GM_GMGolda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (569)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

416 - 422 of 569 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

The room was clean and reasonably sized for the price. however, the bed was a bit worn. When I got up the indentations on both my husband's and my side where visible. Beds are not something a Hilton should be skimping on. the staff was friendly and professional. Our reservation did not include the breakfast, which was pricey. We drove (but could have walked) down the street to Starbucks instead. We were only here for one night, so it didn't make a difference to us, but when we checked Yelp, few restaurants came up; however, when we drove around we found a lot more variety.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DinoraInVentura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The hotel was very easy to find off the freeway. The lobby was modern and there were a selection of complimentary beverages available upon arrival. The front desk staff was very friendly. We enjoyed the pool, which was clean and had plenty of seating around it. The bar was reasonably priced. The room itself was spacious and clean. The bed was comfy. There is a breakfast buffet in the morning that we tried, not too great. The staff was very attentive but the food was not too good, omelet was maybe the worst I've had and the potatoes were not edible (even with ketchup), bacon was borderline burnt and pancakes rubbery. I suggest finding a local place that is likely to serve a better meal for a similar price.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
1  Thank Sassybratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed in this hotel several times already. This hotel is located in Milpitas, just by the 237 freeway, very close to several hi-tech companies in the Silicon Valley and that's very convenient.

They recently renewed the main lobby and other common areas of the hotel and apparently upgraded mattresses, an important feature for business travelers. However, the rooms look like the same from several years ago when I first stayed at the hotel.

Breakfast is very good in terms of variety and quality, but the breakfast area is small and gets very busy so you may end up waiting a little bit for a seat or for the replacement of some of the food in the buffet. They also have a restaurant that serves dinner with a simple but good menu.

The staff is also very nice and helpful and they have a transportation service to pick-up you at the San Jose International airport.

Finally, I was very happy with my stay and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I prefer rooms by the front side of the hotel and far form the elevator as they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emerson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Our room was an average hotel room and adequate for a 2 night stay. There was a musty/mildew smell when we walked into our room. The hallways as well as our room smelled of over-used air freshener. The hotel front desk staff was polite and helpful. When we couldn't print our boarding passes in the business center (computer was not working properly) they printed them for us at the front desk.

The second day we returned to our room at 4:30 and it was not made up. I called the front desk and they said someone would be right up. After a 1/2 hour I called again and told them to just give us fresh towels which took another 20 minutes.

Our package included breakfast. You can order a number of choices including omelets, eggs, waffles or other hot items which are made to order. In addition there is fresh fruit and breads. Both mornings it took a very long time to get our order. The server apologized many times. Don't eat at the hotel unless you have plenty of time.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evelyn B, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear H S,

Thank you for your review, we appreciate knowing our failures to our guests so that we can grow as a hotel and team. I am very sorry to hear that you had these unfortunate delays in service. We have very recently added more staff to our different departments, housekeeping and our restaurant, and any delays experienced should be taken care of from here on out. I encourage you to call the hotel, as I would love to have you back on me, in order to show our improved service.

Warmest regards,

Evelyn Blessing
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

The Hotel is good, however the no of staff for this time when it was running full was inadequate. Also the doors of each room were scratched and gave a feeling of an old place. The breakfast menu needs individual pricing and also needs staff who is attentive to the needs and do not forget orders.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Yogesh J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

This facility is exceptionally nice. We will definitely stay again next trip. The lobby appearance is very cozy, specially the conference table on the side. Restaurant has pleasant atmosphere and a good place to dine.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn
Thank Olegario L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milpitas
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
344 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Fremont
Hampton Inn Fremont
#3 of 19 in Fremont
286 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
#11 of 20 in Milpitas
159 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Address: 30 Ranch Dr, Milpitas, CA 95035-5103
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milpitas
#3 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range: £79 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas Hotel Milpitas
Hilton Garden Inn Milpitas
Hilton Milpitas
Milpitas Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing