We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great front desk staff; housekeeping uneven”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Milpitas
Certificate of Excellence
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great front desk staff; housekeeping uneven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

I recently stayed here for 9 nights during a business trip. First off, I'd like to say that the front desk staff here are fantastic. They immediately responded to a couple of technical issues in my room, and when they got wind that I was missing my wedding anniversary, they sent a bottle of wine to my room. And they are all very warm and welcoming.

I was in a room on the 4th floor close to the elevators. It was a handicapped-accessible room (which I didn't need) so the bathroom was extra roomy. The room was comfortable (especially the bed) and there were plenty of available outlets for plugging in my various electronics. I managed to get a lot of work done sitting at the desk, which had a great, ergonomic office chair.

Especially appreciated amenities were free wi-fi (though a bit slow), free in-room coffee (Keurig coffee maker), fridge and microwave. And the guest laundry was a god-send.

I only had breakfast there once as I thought it was ridiculously expensive, and, frankly, not all that great.

Some of my stay fell over a weekend, and on Saturday, housekeeping never touched my room. Granted, I wasn't feeling well and had the "do not disturb" sign up for a while, so I let it go. But the same thing happened on Sunday, when I gave them ample opportunity to clean the room. Finally, that evening, someone knocked on my door and asked if I needed anything. Additionally, the Monday crew that cleaned my room left a bottle of glass cleaner on the desk and didn't replace any washcloths or any of the amenities in the bathroom. I found it all a little strange, as there were no issues on any other day.

All in all, this is a great business hotel. Excellent location near the Cisco campus, really good amenities. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFBWDogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    164
    83
    28
    19
See reviews for
105
62
30
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, India
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

Its a bit low side for Hilton brand of hotels i stayed earlier. Its good value for money though. Breakfast and dinner quality needs a lot of improvements. reception staff is quite courteous compared to the bar and breakfast staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Shekhar D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Menlo park, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

I enjoyed staying this hotel so much without paying too much. Very clean and friendly staffs made me feel so welcomed during my stay. There are nice restaurants and nice stores near this hotel,so it was nice I could walk to restaurants and go shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Heeyoung C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed overnight at the Hilton Garden Inn, Milpitas on my return trip home. Picked the hotel because of its airport shuttle. I called around 4:00 p.m. to inform them I would arrive late, around 11. Was told that was still ok and there would be "no additional late arrival fee". First I heard of such a fee. I didn't ask when this "fee" kicked in but I'm glad I didn't arrive later!

Registration was good, friendly, quick. Booked a shuttle to the airport for the next morning when I registered and left for the room. Room was about what I expected - clean, very comfortable bed, good table, functioning wireless etc. Good experience so far...

Was surprised then to find a dirty bathtub. It might possibly have been rinsed with the shower head but certainly had not seen a scrub brush for days. Dirty slime rubbed off on my finger. I used water shoes for my shower.

Next morning, had excellent service for breakfast. Well done. Expensive but on par for hotel prices - $18 for two fried eggs, toast and coffee. On checkout, I was informed that my airport shuttle had been cancelled??? The clerk didn't know why. Fortunately, he took me to the airport anyway.

My previous experiences with Hilton Garden Inn's have been good and I am a Hilton Honors Club member. This is the first Hilton Garden Inn I have experienced that did not live up to the name. Overall it was ok but for the price, I would look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Confirm and reconfirm shuttle if you need it. Take your own bathtub cleaner! Housekeeping is not u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helloimamac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

The hotel is fine. It has everything you need for your business stay in Milpitas. The room was always clean and the bed was really comfortable.
The breakfast can be better, but it was ok.
The people from the front desktop were awesome, very gently.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Franquito1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nevada City, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We decided to stay at this hotel because it cost quite a bit less than the one we normally stay at and was only about 8 miles additional driving involved. It is on the edge of a big shopping center and at the intersection of Highways 80 and 237. It is close to San Jose, Milpitias and Fremont in the East Bay and Silicon Valley on the Peninsula. We did experience one problem and it was immediately and they took care of it immediately once we let them know. Definitely would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank 73Little_Eva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tipp city, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

this hotel offered excellent service by the staff...they were very attentive and made the check in process easy and very helpful...great location of hotel..this seemed to be an older hotel that had been refurbished but done well. the lobby is very pretty and the rooms are comfortable and clean... the beds slept very well and again the staff were super helpful!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milpitas hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza San Jose - Silicon Valley
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Milpitas
Hampton Inn Milpitas
#1 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Milpitas Silicon Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
Sheraton San Jose Hotel
#4 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.9 mi away
Courtyard Milpitas Silicon Valley
0.1 mi away
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
Larkspur Landing Milpitas
#12 of 20 in Milpitas
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas

Property: Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas
Address: 30 Ranch Drive, Milpitas, CA 95035
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Milpitas
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Family Hotel in Milpitas
#4 Romantic Hotel in Milpitas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn San Jose/Milpitas Hotel Milpitas
Hilton Garden Inn Milpitas
Hilton Milpitas
Milpitas Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing