We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Below Average”

Darda Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 327 Restaurants in Milpitas
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
IRVING
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Below Average”
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Hi, Some of the food was above average, some below, service is really poor, we had to call, send kids to call waiters, and wave hands like crazy even for the check. Thought of leaving without paying occured, seriously no one would have cared. But we stayed until we payed. we were 4 adults and 2 kids who only had noodles. check came to 52, no apetizers, only soup was ordered. payed only 10% gratuity. If it wasn't for halal won't have chose this one over some other chinese places i know.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HIMANSHU N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    20
    13
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
67 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A great halal Chinese restaurant”
Reviewed 15 November 2012

Maybe not the best restaurant compared to other Chinese restaurants but the best things about this place is that it seres halal meat and the price is very decent. The lunch menu is quite extensive, their portions are big and the price under $8. Their service is fast as well and they are able to accommodate bigger groups and have 2 different rooms that you can book other then sitting in the main restaurant.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelibnebatoota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
2 reviews
“Bad service for slightly better than average food”
Reviewed 4 June 2012

The food quality used to be good and was one of the reasons why the bad service was tolerable. But their food quality had gone down considerably and the service stayed equally bad. We stopped going there a while ago and have found other chinese restaurants with good food and good service

Helpful?
Thank Ahmer K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Don't go for Seafood, Lamb and Beef are their real specialty”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I don't see many review on this restaurant. Therefore, I decided to share with you my experience since I visit there fairly often.

Just like many other Chinese restaurants, this one can be easily misunderstood. You are likely to miss the good food there and walk out thinking this is yet another slightly-above-average restaurant.

Please don't go for any Mu-Shu, kung pao, sweet and sour, or any familiar Americanized dishes. You should only come if you would like to explore real Chinese food. If you don't have a guide to take you there, here are some dishes you must try.
Ox-Tail Stew
Lamb Pan Fried Noodles
Sesame Bread With Green Onion (thick kind)
Hunan Lamb Spicy
Beef With Sa Cha Sauce
Lamb With Pickled Cabbage Warm Pot

Enjoy!!!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimetoRelx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A very good Chinese restaurant that serves halal food.”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Very popular Chinese restaurant in this area. Expect a wait during meal times, so go early. Once seated, service is quite fast.

Our family's favorite is the 2 portion live fish dish, which comes as a soup and steamed fresh with soy sauce. The soup is delicious and the fish is fresh. But order with a bigger group, as is enough for 5-6 people.

Other favorite dishes include the Orange beef (crispy!), bean curd casserole, walnut shrimp.

This is one of the handful of Chinese restaurants in the Bay Area that serves halal food (according to Muslim rites). No pork and no alcohol served. Hence you often see a varied clientele here and often middle-eastern and south asian customers too. Very popular with non-Muslim Chinese crowd too!

The manager is friendly towards kids. A few times, he gave out small toys to our kids!

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank khamen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darda Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Darda Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing