We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK for mid week dinner - kids like it on kids night”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Home Town Buffet

Home Town Buffet
Ranked #228 of 325 Restaurants in Milpitas
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
5,166 reviews
1,540 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,637 helpful votes
“OK for mid week dinner - kids like it on kids night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The staff here is nice. The kids like it particularly on kids night - buffet food, balloons, cotton candy. Its a good place to visit with a coupon when you want dinner with no cooking. Is it fine cuines - no. But their salad bar and dessert is good; they usually have some entrees that are quite good. They also have pizza.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    4
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pleasanton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not so great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

The food was average and so was cleanliness. They started closing some stalls a few minutes before the closing time.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sourabh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best Home Town Buffet...”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

I have been to 10+ different HTB before (don't ask me why), this might be one of worse. Even they are all under same name, different location can provide various choice even with same price, the choices here are poorer compared to other locations. Refill came at a slow pace. Our checks are calculated twice (and they add Soda even you keep saying water only). People working here are nice, but I am not sure I will come back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank neo_cannot_fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Something for everyone”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

When trying to choose a place for a group to eat or if you choose to eat solo this place is great!! Food wise there is usually a great variety and selections to crave even the most finicky of eaters!!
And the nightly specials keep it going for even those on a budget!
Centrally located within the Bay Area this makes a great meeting point for groups or famille to meet for a special event, Dinner, or to meet and eat before venturing out on a group event!
Also convenient for shopping before or after a great meal! With numerous shopping options thru out Milpitas this makes a great place to start or finish your shopping spree!
Living close by we have utilized their new text message specials and coupons! Just another way to save a few dollars and still enjoy a meal out with my Husband!! I love to cook, My Husband love it when I do! But sometimes even the cook needs a day off!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Imcope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milpitas, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great for Groups”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2013

This is always a great place to meet our friends! This way everyone can just have about what they want! There's a great variety of food. The soups are always great! The staff is so friendly and are real good at keeping the dining table cleared off. The iced tea here is great!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank QueenGlenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Home Town Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing