We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT BOTHER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Miranda Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Miranda
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Miranda Gardens
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Certificate of Excellence
Norfolk, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“DO NOT BOTHER!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

My husband and I were looking to find a nice cabin in the Miranda area to visit the red woods. The reviews and the pictures of this place truly looked amazing so we booked a cabin for 3 nights.
Biggest mistake ever! Do NOT bother! You're much better off camping out or getting an RV. Here is why...

1. The so called "resort" has no AC or ceiling fans. In the month of September temperatures were in the upper 90s, and one day it reached 103F. We had to ask the front desk for a portable fan. Needles to say we didn't sleep at all that night.

2. The temps cooled down at night, but we could not open the windows because it required for the blinds to be up, and bystanders could easily look into our bedroom

3. The resort description says that it has a heated pool. We have a toddler so we thought that this would have been great for her. When we get there, the water was freezing. Unbelievable! Mainly because it was scorching hot outside. I could not wrap my brain around the fact as to why the water would be cold. Not to mention that it was advertised as a headed pool! We didn't get to use the pool the entire stay there. I couldn't even dip my toes in.

4. The resort description states that they offer continental breakfast. When we got there we found out that the breakfast they offered was cereal and hard boiled eggs. Wow!
So we went across the street to the only town dinner/restaurant. The food there was pretty good, but overpriced. Most likely due to the fact that it was the only restaurant in a 50 mile radius.

5. There is one store, which is a gas station/general store. We decided to get a frozen pizza and cook it in the oven in our cabin. The box stated 20-25 min at 400F. It took almost 1 hour and 30 minutes to cook the frozen pizza. The 80s oven could not bake, but we found that out too late.

6. The cabin was equipped with a nice deck, but we didn't get to use it either because there were no chairs or table to sit at.

7. There was a TV, but it only had 4 channels. 2 were news channels, and the other 2 kept playing the same movie over and over again (Shrek and The Day After Tomorrow).

We were very disappointed! We had looked forward to this trip for months, and it turned out to be a nightmare. Imagine being on vacation and not being able to sleep all night due to the heat. Nightmare!

I would strongly suggest not to waste your money at this place. We stayed one night, and decided to leave, despite the fact that we would not get our money back for the other 2 nights. I'd rather bite the bullet and forget the $300 that we paid for the other 2 nights than stay there and not get any sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Nosika F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    76
    12
    6
    6
See reviews for
88
111
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Miranda by some of the reviews. We were looking for somewhere to spend our honeymoon that was clean quiet. We found it at at the Miranda we stayed in cabin 5 and was extemely pleased. The only complaint if any is there was no TV in the bedroom, but we made due with our computers and movies. We brought our own food and prepared in the well equipted kitchen. Including BBQ steaks on our last night. because our stay was at the very end of Oct and it was turning cold the pool was closed but the staff still made available the fire pit and plenty of wood and kindling to started it as one of the thingsI wanted was roasted marshmellows the staff was kind and helpful, even loaning us roasting forks for the marshmellows, it was located in a perfect location with lots to do if you dont mind driving some.Our honeymoon holds memories for us that will lead us back for another stay soon. beds are comfortable and more that enough blankets....one of the highlights for me was the deer outside of the deck in the back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRACI L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
altoona, pa
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

My wife and I stayed here one night during our recent trip through Avenue of the Giants. We were looking for something a little different. What could be better than staying in a place surrounded by large Redwood trees? The place has been here for quite some time and the furnishings are not new by any means, but it is clean. The room we stayed in was #2 which was probably the smallest one on the property but it was more than adequate.

We enjoyed the fire ring and campfire that night which was located on the property. Be forewarned that there is not much else in the area, but we were fine with that. There is a grocery store next door and a restaurant/pizza place across the street. The people who run this place were extremely friendly and helpful. It was a little pricier than it really should be but not too far out of line.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lref1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Mirada, California, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

Spent Oct 18-21 with family @ this excellent resort! Resort is surrounded by redwood/sequoia trees. Cabin 6 is excellent choice - two older kids got the room/den extending out to the woods - and they woke up every morning with a view of the majestic trees. Two younger kids got the main bedroom and enjoyed the fireplace. Kitchen is well-equipped - just remember to shop and bring your grocery there :) A short drive to the Avenue of the Giants and also Loleta & Eureka! Front desk excellent service too :)

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank DanielMelody L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

We just got back from a weekend at Miranda Gardens. I kind of have mixed feelings about it. We were there for a niece's wedding, and it was nice, but not someplace I would have chosen. Well done, nice, clean, good service, really a good value for what you got even if it was on the expensive side, but it had it's weaknesses too. Antique furniture, which it has, or a very close approximation of it, is ok to look at, but somewhat less so to use. Kind of dainty and fragile, but hard and uncomfortable. At the end of September it seemed odd not to have any heat working, nor to have enough remotes for the gas fireplaces. Yet I suspect at full July heat it could be a good 90F outside and due to the way the blinds were mounted you could only open a couple of windows and only 2" at best. And no A/C in the redwoods, so I suspect it could get quite warm. The whirlpool tub was nice but the showerhead was miserable, one of those fine mist ones where it's 120 at the head but 70 and cold at waist level. Water saving to be sure, but not comfortable. The grounds were nice, they accommodated the wedding party nicely, but not much to do there otherwise. Good romantic getaway maybe? Contentential breakfast was ok, better than I expected and they were responsive, when someone asked about bananas they went right over to the (co-owned) store next door and brought some over. There appeared to be some WIFI you could buy from in town, but not free WIFI from the resort, poor in this day and age.

It was nice, just not my kind of place. I doubt I'll return, but more because it just isn't my style rather than any problem.

Room Tip: Talk to them, all the rooms seem to be different and they know what's what.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mg99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We enjoyed the classic motor lodge cottage feel of the place. We would stay again in a heartbeat. Right out our back door was a huge tree. 1/4 mile north is an awesome grove (huge trees) with a short loop hike. Very relaxing setting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BryanandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

The ladies at the desk greeted you with a smile and were fun to talk with.The rooms were clean with a victorian touch. My husband and I loved it. If we ever come back to this area from New York we will go out of our way to stay here. There is a great place to eat across the street too!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karensflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miranda
11.8 mi away
Benbow Historic Inn
Benbow Historic Inn
#1 of 5 in Garberville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
9.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Humboldt House Inn
6.6 mi away
Dean Creek Resort
Dean Creek Resort
#1 of 1 in Redway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 mi away
The Shelter Cove Oceanfront Inn
9.8 mi away
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
Humboldt Redwoods Inn
#1 of 1 in Garberville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miranda Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miranda Gardens

Property: Miranda Gardens
Address: 6766 Avenue of the Giants, P.O. Box 186, Miranda, CA 95553
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Humboldt County > Miranda
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Miranda
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Miranda Gardens Hotel Miranda
Gardens Hotel Miranda

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing