We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just off!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Decatur, Illinois, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just off!”
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The room was beautiful and well appointed. We didn't find the beds all that comfortable but the problem is with the service. On two occasions we couldn't get the key to work to our room and went down to the front desk twice each time to get it fixed. Very frustrating after a long day of activity not to get into your room and then not be receive friendly service or even an apology when it happened. The first time it happened on check-in they gave me a different room and did it with a smile, the second time I finally got into the room but I was putting the night kid out by trying to get into my room.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trinity C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Trinity C.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review on TripAdvisor to let others know about your recent experience at our hotel. Please accept my heartfelt apologies on behalf of the team; I am so very sorry that they did not offer the highest quality service to you during your stay. Our room keys are very sensitive and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced. Thank you for the compliments on the room and we do hope to see you another time in the near future.

Sincerely,
Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    265
    111
    41
    16
    11
See reviews for
145
94
19
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

This hotel has all the potential to be a GREAT property. When you walk into the lobby, you are greeted warmly with a fire, pleasant aromas from scented candles and a great staff.

The rooms are really spacious with refrigerators, microwaves (never use 'em!), two TV's, sitting areas, desks with internet.

My challenge with the property are picky, but they mean something to someone that is going to be traveling and needs to be able to work.

The chairs at the desk are too low, and they will not raise up. It is just awkward to sit here and write the review.

The second factor is the internet. It is fast but spotty. Last night, it completely went down to the slowest crawl and would not even load up the websites. It was like being a kid again on my 300 baud modem. :)

Other than those two things, this hotel has everything to be GREAT!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calvenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Dear Calvenn S.,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor about your recent visit to our hotel. Please accept our sincerest apologies in relation to the spotty internet connection and the uncomfortable work chair. We will definitely keep your comments in mind when making improvements to the hotel. Other than those issues, we are so pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will stay with us another time in the near future, thank you again.

Sincerely,
Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, AZ
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed 2 nights at the Mission Viejo location, then one night at Ontario Mills site. Both were quiet, well tended, and staff were efficient and friendly. I appreciate the hot breakfasts and good rates. I'll definitely stay with Ayres again. (I only give ratings of 5 to hotels that are an amazing experience.)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FormerLAgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear FormerLAgal,

Thank you very much for taking the time to let others know about your experience at our hotel by leaving a review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely appreciate the compliments on the great value and and efficient service. We are also pleased to see that you enjoyed the complimentary full American breakfast buffet. We hope that you will come to stay another time in the near future so that we may provide you with an amazing experience to capture that 5 star review. Thank you again!

Sincerely,
Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pacific Palisades, CA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We had a great room and delicious breakfast. There was a nice area everyone could mingle in the lobby area. The bed was comfortable and the room appointed well. The hotel staff was nice. Everything was really great.

Room Tip: It is a quiet area so no room is really bad. It would just be individual preference if you wanted t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeSantis24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2013

The hotel was full and the service was poor. The king rooms are very poorly laid out and the furniture is very cheap. The sliding mirrored closet doors did not fit the track and kept falling off. Had a hard time getting an iron and ironing board. Poor value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Dear TBoa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a candid review of your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. Our sincerest apologies if your stay was anything less than exceptional, we truly strive to offer the best possible accommodations and service and are disappointed to see that you felt otherwise. Typically we receive a great amount of praise for our decor and are surprised to see your opposing opinion. Nonetheless, thank you for these comments about the furniture and mirrors, we will definitely keep them in mind when refurbishing. Thank you again and we do hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future.

Sincerely,
Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, FL
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We spent a few nights in Mission Viejo during a stop for the Oddball Comedy Festival in Irvine, CA (only about 10-15 minutes without getting on the interstate.) The room was very nice with a separate living room and bedroom, nothing spectacular but still very nice. I did appreciate the green efforts by the hotel which uses a keycard system to power the rooms (you insert your room key in a slot by the door upon entering which powers the entire room, then remove it when you leave and everything shuts off automatically in 30 seconds or so.) Didn't utilize the spa facility, but what I did see of them indicated standard, clean facilities. The staff was very friendly and helpful in offering tips to kill time (this wasn't much of a tourist area, so things to do are limited, but the staff still did the best they could with their suggestions.) I would highly recommend a little family owned sushi restaurant named Sashimi that's in a strip mall within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fldrifter14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We stayed here last week as part of a wedding celebration. At first glance I thought we were staying at a lower end hotel. However, once we entered it appeared I was wrong. The place is nicer inside than out. There is a small little reception area/front desk that's decorated nicely and a courtyard off the front room for people to gather and have drinks (which you can get from the bar in the hotel...which was nice since it was a wedding.)

The rooms are rather large and have a seperate sitting area with TV and couch. The bathrooms are plenty big and have good, adjustable shower heads. There wasn't much for shampoo, body soap, etc. And what there was, wasn't great anyway. The bed was excellent and so were the pillows. They were just right for me, soft but not too hard.

I'm not too familiar with the area or what other hotel options you have in the Mission Viejo part of town but I'd go back for the price...just don't expect 5 star.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DinIndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mission Viejo
0.0 mi away
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
#1 of 5 in Mission Viejo
391 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
5.6 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Foothill Ranch Irvine East/Lake Forest
7.8 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Aliso Viejo Laguna Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Property: Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
Address: 28951 Los Alisos Blvd, Mission Viejo, CA 92692-5934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Mission Viejo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name.You’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at our Mission Viejo hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. Ayres Hotel and Spa Mission Viejo welcomes travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Modjeska Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs. Nearby, the Irvine Spectrum offers various entertainment possibilities encompassing shopping, dining, an IMAX theater and cinema, and the Improve comedy club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Spa Mission Viejo
Ayres Hotel Mission Viejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing