We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Montoursville, PA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I stay here twice per year. It's a little out if my way but so well worth it! Was here for 16 days this past trip. The size and layout if the rooms is perfect for an extended stay.

Breakfast is awesome and the morning staff are amazing friendly!

Front desk staff are amazing as well! Thanks Tanya for always taking care if Jan and I.

See you all in December!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank pamski6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear pamski6,

Thank you for your continued support of Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo! I appreciate your glowing review and recommendation of our accomodations. I am thrilled to see that our staff exceeded your expectations and always continues to do so! Thank you once again for your kind words we look forward to serving you again in the future.

Warm Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    106
    37
    16
    10
See reviews for
137
91
18
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, NV
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

I stayed here as it was referred to me from a location that I was attending for a reunion party, I could not have been happier that I was referred here. I drove in from Las Vegas so I was pretty tired when I arrived. Check in was so easy & I explained that I took the toll road and needed info on how to pay, the front desk person gave me a copy of procedure to pay toll cost, I was so grateful. I got settled in and then went to grab dinner down the road & find a hair salon that the clerk told me about as I forgot my hair tools. I found the salon and made a appt for the morning which was great! Then I went to eat dinner across the parking lot. I got back to the hotel and the patio area sounded so relaxing with a waterfall so I decided to eat out there since the weather was perfect. I felt very safe which traveling alone is a big issue for my senses. I stayed there for 2 enjoyable nights. I had dinner on the second night at the hotel restaurant, the lasagna was excellent, along with my wine & the prices were reasonable. I sat at the bar to eat and really enjoyed the friendliness I experienced. This is a good hotel to stay at breakfast was perfect too!

Room Tip: They all seem nice & safe and have all you need in them!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aztecrose06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear aztecrose06,

I would like to take the time to thank you for your pleasant feedback on your recent stay at our hotel. It fills us with great pride that we are able to offer such wonderful service and accommodations for our guests. Our grounds are very safe and welcoming and I am delighted to see that you were able to enjoy the inviting atmosphere at our patio area as well as the bar at our Modjeska Bar & Grill. The ambiance is wonderful and our staff works diligently to make each of our guests feel welcome and safe. I thank you again for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo and hope you will continue your loyalty to Ayres any time you are in Southern California!

Kind Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at Ayres Hotel and Spa while in Mission Viejo on business. It's a great hotel. Very clean and comfortable and the staff were very friendly, accommodating and professional. The only negative is the restaurant in the hotel. The experience for me wasn't good from start to finish. I decided to have dinner in the restaurant one evening. I arrived and was not greeted or otherwise acknowledged by anybody. I finally decided to seat myself. The server was standing at the bar on his phone. He finally came over to me and said "if you need anything let me know." He didn't ask what I wanted to drink or anything. He eventually came back about and took my drink order. For dinner I decided to try the steak (which has a $30 price tag). I ordered my steak mid-rare and it was medium, borderline medium-well. It was also bland. I'm not sure that it was seasoned at all before it was put on the grill. The fries were decent but it's kind of hard to screw up fries.

The hotel part is fantastic but the restaurant needs some serious help. I would definitely stay here again but wouldn't consider going back to the restaurant.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ColeH77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear ColeH77,

I first want to thank you for your continued loyalty to Ayres Hotels and for your detailed review regarding your recent stay in Mission Viejo. I do apologize that you were not properly greeted upon arrival at our Modjeska Bar & Grill. It is simply unacceptable that our staff did not provide you with anything less than exceptional customer service. You have my most sincere apologies for our lack of attention to detail regarding your meal. I do appreciate your recommendation of our hotel accommodations and I thank you for your time in writing your review. I hope we can exceed your expectations during your next stay.

Warm Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here 7/28 -8/1/ 2014. We stay there every time we are in the area. We enjoy it. The rooms are very nice and so quiet at nite after a long day. Housekeeping does a wonderful job and are helpful. Everyone who works the front desk is nice, respectful, and are more than willing to help you with everything you might need. The swimming pool is a great area to relax. The free morning breakfast is a great way to start your day. Looking forward to staying there next time.

Room Tip: We like rooms on third floor on the back side of hotel because of the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear David J,

I want to thank you for being a loyal guest at Ayres Hotels and for your detailed review regarding your stay and our pleasant accommodations. I am delighted to see that our housekeeping and front desk staff was helpful and friendly during your stay. We pride ourselves on delivering only the best quality customer service are always overjoyed when our employees leave a lasting impression for each of our guests. I am also delighted that you were able to enjoy our serene swimming pool area as well as our complimentary breakfast buffet. Once again, thank you for your enthusiastic review and we absolutely look forward to serving you again in the future!


Kind Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We just returned from a week long stay at this hotel. Our room was clean and spacious and had a small fridge and microwave - very convenient. The hotel has a beautiful lobby and courtyard. The free breakfast was delicious and is much better than many of the typical "free" breakfasts our there. Parking is free as well. This was a beach vacation for us, so I was a bit disappointed that the beach is at least a good 40 minutes from the hotel. If you hit traffic - it is even longer. Our room lacked any printed information regarding room service (menu), hotel amenities (except for the spa), and local restaurants. The AC in the hotel room is difficult to control. This is an energy saving hotel (yeah for the environment), so during the night, the AC would turn off when it reached our desired temperature and never turn back on.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Readergirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Readergirl2014,

Thank you kindly for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo and for your detailed feedback regarding your most recent stay with us. I am thrilled to see that you were impressed by our European-inspired setting and your overall stay. I do apologize that you had to travel the 21 miles from our property to the nearest beach and can understand how that could be frustrating on a beach-themed vacation. In the future, please know that we do have two properties located in Orange County, California that are coastal as well as one location in the greater Los Angeles area that is also coastal. I do also want to apologize that your room was lacking in printed information on local as well as hotel conveniences. Please know that the front desk staff is always available and eager to answer any questions you have or provide you with any printed information you may require. Again, I want to extend to you my most sincere gratitude for choosing our hotel and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Warm Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thousand Oaks, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Just stayed at the Ayres Hotel and Spa in Mission Viejo -- really enjoyed it. The staff was wonderful: courteous, professional, helpful. And the room was very clean, and spacious. It was nice having a roomy refrigerator, and a microwave oven, too. Only downside was the noise of the a/c. Wish it was quieter.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

We really enjoyed our brief stay there. The room was quite large, was nothing fancy but was just darn nice. It was conveniently close to the freeway. The people were very nice as well. The free breakfast hot choices were not that great, but there were plenty of other choices that were fine. The breakfast area was very nice. We would stay there again.

Room Tip: All areas seem to have good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AyresHotels, General Manager at Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Kim K,

Thank you for choosing Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo and for leaving a detailed review in regards to your recent stay. I am delighted to see that you viewed our accommodations as spacious, nice, and convenient for traveling purposes. I apologize that you did not find our hot breakfast buffet choices to exceed your expectations, but am glad to see you were able to enjoy your complimentary breakfast nonetheless. Again, thank you for choosing Ayres and we look forward to serving you in the future!

Warm Regards,

Didi Shields
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mission Viejo
0.0 mi away
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
Ayres Suites Mission Viejo
#1 of 4 in Mission Viejo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Hills Hotel, an Ascend Collection by Choice Hotels
5.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Mission Viejo Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Courtyard Foothill Ranch Irvine East/Lake Forest
5.6 mi away
Laguna Hills Lodge
Laguna Hills Lodge
#1 of 4 in Laguna Hills
4.5 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Irvine East - Lake Forest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo

Property: Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo
Address: 28951 Los Alisos Blvd, Mission Viejo, CA 92692-5934
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Orange County > Mission Viejo
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Mission Viejo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo combines the comforts and conveniences of home with the warm hospitality you’ve come to expect from the Ayres name.You’ll find all of the luxurious guest rooms at our Mission Viejo hotel are impeccably appointed with a full suite of complimentary amenities including our signature, triple sheeted Ayres Dream Sleeper beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerators, coffeemakers, well lit work desks and Wifi, iHomes, hairdryers, curved shower rods, and hookless shower curtains. And every morning you will start your day right with our complimentary full American breakfast. Ayres Hotel and Spa Mission Viejo welcomes travelers with all the modern amenities you have come to expect from the Ayres name and all of the exciting business, recreational, and entertainment attractions South Orange County has to offer. Take in the exquisite views of Saddleback Mountain by hiking or mountain biking on one of the mountain's many scenic hiking trails. Relax with various spa treatments, like an Aromatherapy Massage or Chocolate Body Wrap, available at the Athena Day Spa located inside the hotel. Or indulge at the Modjeska Bar and Grill also located within the hotel. The on-site restaurant offers various types of cuisine including burgers, pasta, and ribs. Nearby, the Irvine Spectrum offers various entertainment possibilities encompassing shopping, dining, an IMAX theater and cinema, and the Improve comedy club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ayres Hotel & Spa Mission Viejo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ayres Hotel And Spa Mission Viejo
Ayres Hotel Mission Viejo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing