We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Show, Average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The New Shogun Restaurant - CLOSED

The New Shogun Restaurant
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Redding, California
Level Contributor
174 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great Show, Average food”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We love Teppanyaki, but the New Shogun's food was very average at best. The food just didn't have much flavor. The chef did a great job with the show, and the staff was very attentive.
I would go elsewhere for Teppanyaki.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bfh195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    5
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California City, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Teppan”
Reviewed 19 December 2012

The teppan was great- fresh shrimp and scallops. The salad was delicious. Happy hour 5-7 is insane- the sushi and appetizers are fresh. Who can not like $2 beer?

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SherrySans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern Cal
Level Contributor
168 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Food good, Service great”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This is a typical teppan house but have a sushi bar as well. The teppan is just fair as teppan goes but the sushi is really good. ( Especially if you hit their 50% off happy hour starting @ 1pm.)
The management is tight on coupons and groupons, yelp deals ( $8 for $16 worth of food presently) being strict with customers rather than realize the original reason for the coupon was to get the people in there. You must eat in the teppan room if you use the groupon so I go in there but end up ordering the cheapest teppan ($7) and order the 1/2 price sushi with my groupon.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cap10paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trabuco Canyon, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Horrible Customer Service”
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I had a gift card to use for this restaurant so I took my sister for her birthday. I was told that because I had a gift card I could not get happy hour prices. A gift card is just like cash, so to not honor happy hour because of a gift card is unacceptable. Food is just so-so, not that great for the price. I will not go back!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJA735
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mission Viejo, CA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's no longer "new" but always good”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Three places in one ... sushi bar, teppan tables, or sit-down Japanese (and sushi) service. We've done all three and all are very good. (The place has been around for all 8 years we've lived in the area - so it's certainly not "new!") We particularly enjoy their sushi ... not too inventive, but always fresh and delicious and properly prepared. They also have a decent selection of cold sake and a full bar. The Teppan tables are pretty typical entertainment and that food is always very good. Haven't had their other traditional Japanese food (e.g. tempura), so I can't comment on that, but given the other food, I suspect they would be very good as well. Great negihborhood place for a good Japanese dinner.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank OCchick13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The New Shogun Restaurant also viewed

 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 
Mission Viejo, Orange County
Mission Viejo, Orange County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing