We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The gem of Modesto” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The State Theatre

The State Theatre
Ranked #3 of 21 things to do in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Central Valley, CA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The gem of Modesto”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This theatre is dedicated to bring to the community fine entertainment and excellent movies. We love the architecture and the selection of entertainment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank bikerchick66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old-Tyme Feel...but Comfy Seats!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The venue of movies/shows has wonderful variety! This place has the feel of 1920s, but modernized to accommodate....snack bar is especially fun!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank colinky62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great movies!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My girlfriend and I like to catch a movie at the State Theatre about every two months. My husband and I go to a music performance at least twice a year at the State. We are able to find movies and/or performances not available at the other venues in town. Love the State Theatre! I gave it a 4 star only because of limited bathroom facilities and the sound is too low. Otherwise, it's a 5 star venue!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sstrudster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salida, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Hard to hear”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This theater puts on special movies and events on occasion. I had trouble hearing the movie because it's an old theater and their sound system is outdated. It is more expensive than the other theaters I go to. They have food catered occasionally, and on one occasion the food didn't agree with my husband. The staff was nice about it, but it shied us away.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old time movies and art house cinema”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

The state theatre is a majestic place, reminds me of movie houses of the past. Old time movies are shown and folks show up in period costumes as well.- a great alternative to the high tech places around town.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank dcwiii2312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The State Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The State Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing