We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a bit of Modesto history” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of McHenry Mansion

McHenry Mansion
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Modesto, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a bit of Modesto history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

The McHenry Mansion is a beautiful place with an interesting past. The tour guide was excellent and very informative, as she explained the details of the mansion's beautiful interior and exterior, as well as its history. This place is one of very few historical gems remaining in the Modesto area.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Don D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Modesto, California, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“A Piece of Local History”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Amazing piece of local history! Just took my third grade students on a field trip tour. So much to see inside the mansion! Tour guides are extremely knowledgeable and so nice! Great for a guided tour or just to wander around and look through at your own pace. Beautiful place to visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Barbara A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Just a perfect tour...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Our docent ,M.B. , surely loves this town and all the interesting history that goes with it. Please don't miss this tour while you are in Modesto. Before touring the house there is a short, but informative, film on the McHenry family. There is a lot to see in the mansion and the family history and building of Modesto is quite interesting.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MtGranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
137 reviews
79 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Beautiful Mansion, wonderful docents”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

My aunt, husband and I visited this mansion on a Sunday and had a wonderful tour with an extremely knowledgeable docent. We watched a film prior to our tour and it was a wonderful overview of the history of the mansion, the family and the times. The mansion was owned by Robert McHenry who was really not who he said he was. But that is part of the mystery of the mansion and I'll let the docent tell you more.
The mansion has been lovingly restored to its original beauty. There are a few original pieces though most of the furniture is period furniture not original. I loved the Victorian wall papering, even on the ceilings. Our docent had lots of stories about the family and the furnishings and took us through every room. Thanks to the Gallos who bought the mansion and gave it to the city as a museum.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
high springs fl
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A TREASURED AND HISTORICAL RETURN TO THE PAST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This tour was a very interesting blast from the past history of the McHenry Mansion.The tour guide was very in tune with the events of this era, plus she added some other insights to its history as well. The intro to its beginning was shown in a short movie- to enhance its the mansion flavor, before the actual tour began.The grounds surrounding the house were well kept,this event of visiting such profoundness was worth the time to make- not to mention their little gift shop too boot. The items in the gift shop were unique and different as the tour itself.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank cynthia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed McHenry Mansion also viewed

 

Been to McHenry Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing