We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent enough stay for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Town House Lodge
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Decent enough stay for business”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

I stayed at the Best Western in Modesto for two nights while attending a business conference.

Pros: Check in was very easy and the desk clerk was extremely polite. Got an excellent rate.
Room on the second floor was very clean and pretty spacious. Convenient location downtown. Continental breakfast each morning has nice selection of both hot and cold food and the attendant is really awesome. Completely non-smoking hotel. Free and easy internet access.

Cons: Little bit noisy as people walk by outside and the air conditioner unit sounded like it was going to blow up. Shower would not drain fast enough. Maid didn't take out my garbage bag from dinner the first night and only left one towel.

Overall, a generally decent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi9095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Thank you so much for your response! We've taken your comments in to consideration and have shared them with the rest of the staff.

We truly appreciate your feedback & hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    78
    56
    28
    5
See reviews for
59
58
18
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa,CA, United States
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were not totally satisfied. The outside noise from a Bar/Nightclub close by interfered with our ability to sleep all night. The air- conditioning appliance is extremely noisy in room #211. This is the second time we have experienced the noise issue at this hotel. We hesitate to stay here again. We do like staying with Best Western when we travel and generally have been quite satisfied.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you so much for your response! I do apologize for the noise coming from the surrounding businesses. Perhaps we can assign you a room that is further away from the nightclub the next time you travel to Modesto? I can assure you that we can set that up without a problem. Again, thank you for your comments, and for being a loyal guest to our brand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redding, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We recently visited for a family wedding at the Mansion behind the hotel. It was very convienent to be within walking distance to the wedding. The beds were confortable enough although a little small if you are a family of 4. Room was a little dark and dingy and the a/c didn't cool down the room enough. The check in staff was awesome!! Very helpful! Breakfast was good with sausage, waffles, cereal, toast and muffin type stuff, yogurt...no fresh fruit and eggs were a little watery. Over all I would stay again if my group was staying there too I would just ask for a room that didn't smell like mildew.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 10 September 2013
Hello Cheryl,

The Best Western Townhouse Lodge would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations! We take your feedback very seriously, and we hope that we can make it up to you next time you are in Modesto.

I have shown your comments/concerns to the entire staff, in order to motivate them to do a better job. Again, THANK YOU for staying with us, and for sending us such an honest critique!

-Carolina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

We stayed here while on business in Modesto. The room was clean, comfortable for 2 people with refrigerator and microwave. Internet access was easy with adequate speed. The staff were friendly and helpful. The motel is located in a central area of Modesto ( many county government buildings) with a variety of restaurants within walking distance. Area feels comfortable for evening walking. Breakfast is provided on-site with several options including scrambled eggs( quite good) sausage, cereal, waffles, pastry, fruits and yogurt and, of course, coffee.
Air conditioning is a bit louder than preferable, but it really didn't impact sleeping. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 2nd floor but had just laptops and carry-on bags. There seems to be no elevator so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephineB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I'm glad we were able to accommodate you during your stay in Modesto, CA. We all take pride in our work and take the feedback we receive very seriously. I have shown your positive comments to the staff. Nothing is more rewarding and motivating than hearing positive things being said about our property. Again, thank you!

We hope you stay with us again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

The bath room is very small and poorly laid out. Mold in the grout, carpet needs to be cleaned something sticky in it that I accidentally stepped in in the middle of the night. The bathroom floor and the carpet area are not flush and I tripped on the edge of the bathroom tile several times. Cover of the smoke alarm fell on me during the night, scared me because I did not kn ow what it was until I was able to turn on a light.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Laura F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 22 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback!

On behalf of the entire staff, we'd like to apologize for the issues
you encountered while staying with us. I have investigated further in
to what room you stayed in, and will be performing inspections daily
to ensure that these issues are taken care of.

I hope that you decide to stay with us on your next trip to Modesto, CA. We'd love to show you our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Modesto hotels

San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I have stayed here many times over the past three years for business and visiting relatives. I have to say the staff is the most efficient and friendly of any places I've stayed in many states and a few countries. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed but some show a little wear. Still, the value, location and excellent staff services make it a great choice.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank LarryRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Hi Mr. Robinson!

Thank you SO much for the comments! It is always a pleasure having you stop by and we can't wait to see you again.

Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooresville, North Carolina, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

This was a nice place in the town of Modesto. We ended up on the second floor and it does not have an elevator so we had to carry everything upstairs. The room was clean and fresh smelling. The bed was comfortable with plenty of pillows. The bathroom was outdated and dirty though. The staff was friendly. We got downstairs to the breakfast room a little late and not much left to eat.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BWMODESTO, Front Office Manager at Best Western Town House Lodge, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Thank you SO much for your response! We take your feedback very seriously.

I have relayed all of your comments to the breakfast staff....
We are also going to revamp our bathrooms in the near future!

We hope that you decide to stay with us the next time you visit Modesto, Ca.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.3 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
0.5 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
2.9 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#15 of 20 in Modesto
95 reviews
5.6 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Town House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Town House Lodge

Property: Best Western Town House Lodge
Address: 909 16th St, Modesto, CA 95354-1117 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Town House Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Town House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Town House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Town House Hotel Modesto
Best Western Modesto
Modesto Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing