We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unauthorized charges with no explanation.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Quality Inn Modesto
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Unauthorized charges with no explanation.”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We paid $65 for one night using debit card. Next day card was charged $80, $40, and $30. Manager was unprofessional. Offered no valid reason for unauthorized charges and required us to pay cash in order to reimburse the charges back to our card. Rediculous.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nelspm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quality_Inn_Modesto, General Manager at Quality Inn Modesto, responded to this review, 23 July 2012
Dear nelspm,

First of all I'd like to apologize that you were unhappy with your stay. I spent 15 minutes with you trying to explain to you what you were seeing on your account. However when profanity is used, the communication has broken down and that is why I refused to explain things further. As you may recall on the day we spoke, I explained to you the charge for $80 and $30 are authorization holds on your card. In the hotel industry when you rent a room with a credit card, the hotel usually puts a pending charge on your card for the amount of the room plus a percentage extra for any incidentals. The charge for $40 was for taking towels from the room, which was promptly refunded back to you once you once the towels were returned. We did not charge anything to refund that amount. Nevertheless, we wish you best of luck in your future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    22
    23
    8
    28
See reviews for
16
30
7
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 July 2012 via mobile

Walked in with a coupon and got a great deal. The woman at the front desk was wonderful. She even brought towels out to the pool for us!

The room had more than I expected for the price. Not only was it huge, but there was a fridge and microwave and dish tv. The room was clean.

Breakfast the next morning was great considering the price of the room. Bagels, muffins, cereal, juice, and more.

The hotel advertises a walk in special rate of $44 (same as the coupon). Unfortunately the manager does not stand by it.

We decided to stay a second night. Unfortunately there was a different employee at the desk (manager?). He first agreed to a second night at the same rate, then decided we needed to have another coupon. When we returned with a coupon, he decided we couldn't use a coupon two nights in a row. I was very upset after all this running around, and the fact that he lied to us. Because of this I will NEVER RETURN.

It's a shame because the room was a great value. Just don't leave your room at night (not the greatest location) and only check in if the nice woman (wish I got her name) is working the front desk.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Silly_Sarah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2012

even though the staff was friendly. The pool was okay. The hotel turns off half the power in the rooms at night.

Room Tip: The staff was helpful and quite friendly. The price was good. They turn the circuit breakers off in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Modesto hotels

1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2012

The staff was very nice And the price was very good Wish your other places with the same Because The comfort inn in vallejo california Was not so good Manager kept up the price Not like the website

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdevoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2012

This is where we stay when we drive from Portland to LA -

Clean rooms with updated bathrooms - My complaint is the TV reception is lousy along with the limited number of channels available.

Internet and breakfast are great along with the staff which are all very helpful.

we'll be back in September if not before.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXcoinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We stayed at this Quality Inn because of location and price. It was near the freeway and access was fairly easy. The front desk staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and quick. Maid service was excellent.

The lobby was fairly modern, clean and inviting. However, the hallway was dark and it was easy to tell the motel had been built many decades ago. Our room was clean and comfortable. The electric outlets were in need of replacement. TV reception was poor on most channels.

Breakfast was better than the usual continental breakfast fare. There were a couple of cereal choices, orange and apple juices, muffins, boiled eggs, waffles, etc.

For the price and our needs, this motel was adequate. It really does need some work to be a good Quality Inn.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 25 May 2012

A+. Great breakfast and clean room. The staff and management did a excellent job in providing service. I felt safe. Los of parking. Clean motel and well location.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyfrancoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
1.6 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
1.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
92 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
275 reviews
4.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
1.6 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Modesto

Property: Quality Inn Modesto
Address: 500 Kansas Ave, Modesto, CA 95351-1516
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Modesto 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Quality Inn® hotel is conveniently located off Highway 99 in the heart of the downtown area. This Modesto, CA hotel is close to many area points of interest, including the Gallo Arts Center, Turlock Lake, the Vintage Faire Mall, E. & J. Gallo Winery and Modesto Junior College. The Modesto City-County Airport is only three miles away.The hotel is centrally located 90 miles from Yosemite National Park, San Francisco, Sacramento and Fresno.There are a wide variety of restaurants and several shops located in the area. JC's Cafe is located on the premises and serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.Guests of this Modesto, CA hotel will enjoy many superior amenities including free continental breakfast, free local calls, free coffee and outdoor pool. Business travelers will appreciate the business center with access to a printer/fax machine.In addition to standard amenities, the hotel offers luxurious rooms with microwaves, refrigerators, coffee makers and hair dryers. Handicap accessible and non-smoking rooms are available.Guest laundry facilities are located on the property or guest convenience. Well-lit truck and car parking is also available.Whether traveling for business or pleasure, the Quality Inn hotel provides spacious accommodations, friendly customer service and affordable rates to everyone visiting the Modesto area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing