We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“entertainment in the parking lot”
Review of Motel 6 Modesto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Motel 6 Modesto
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Reviewed 8 November 2012

Between the raucous beer drinkers, the drunken fights and the calls of the half dressed women above us, it was nearly impossible to sleep. The desk staff said "there's nothing we can do and we'll give you another room" to two 70+ women who are unable to climb stairs which was not what we wanted to hear. The next morning the parking lot was littered with beer cans and bottles. The dogs had to be carried over the puddles of unidentifiable fluids to get to the pet area. This place was scuzzy, dirty and obviously not a decent place to stay. I was tired and dirty when I arrived and equally tired when we left the next morning. Our nonsmoking room reeked of cigarette smoke and the carpet was ripped and torn. Tom Burdett, I expected more. Turn off the light in the Modesto Motel 6.

Room Tip: Find another motel - stay out of Modesto. I've never seen drug dealers inside a WalMart before...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (32)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 32 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2011

My family and I stayed in Motel 6 Modesto over the 4th of July weekend of this year, the rooms were clean, they had all the basic necessities, the ac worked fine, the pool was clean and the Ice machine worked great, had friendly staff. We stayed here because the Ramada Inn directly accross the street had horrible rooms, carpets stained everywhere, AC blowing more hot air than cool air, Ice machine not working and the pool was out of order, Ramada Inn was a big disappointment, Motel 6 saved the weekend for us.

Gabriel

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabriel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2009

My family and I needed an inexpensive place to sleep for a Autism walk we were going to participate in. The room we had had parts of the carpets that were wet, one lamo would not turn off. Beds were to hard.
After we checked out and got home, found out they double charged me. They say it is not their fault and I will need to talk to my bank, refusing to refund me even after faxing them proof. I will talk with my bank to get ALL my money back.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank anarkist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2009

1. Awful location: extremely noisy, close to the freeway
2. The staff was very rude, shouting
3. The room was not clean (hairs in the bathtub)
4. No laundry facility
The worst Motel6 experiece so far

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aladin007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2009

i have been here alot and only when this securtiy guard works i get a call from the office saying, that theres been complaints about traciff in and out. or loud nioses.. which if anyone gos out its not there business anyways. people come in all hrs for a room. i hear people up and down the stairs all nite long... this guard also watchs us we seeing him hiding always somewhere...why does he have that right to lie and why would he...Its really funny that i get complaints when no one is even in rms next or up from me...so if theres a time that no one should be in or out i like to no.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank silly1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2006

Motel 6 is always a budget choice, and I'm not a picky traveler, but this one is not my favorite. We stayed on a Friday night in August. The property is older and feels like it's about to fall down--the windows rattled as I walked around in our second-floor room. The walls are very thin and I could hear partying and conversations going on around us. The people next door kept going in and out of their room until late at night, and the sound of their door closing was thunderous. The room was supposedly non-smoking but smelled like it had been a smoking room very recently; our clothes and luggage smelled like stale smoke for the rest of the trip. The beds were decent, nice and firm. Though the hotel doesn't seem to be in a particularly bad part of town, near a Ramada Inn and a new hotel being built across the street, the clientele (through no fault of the motel, of course) were overall sketchy. There was a parade of hoopties cruising slowly through the parking lot, around and around, and a lot of young people were up, visiting each other's rooms, hanging around outside their rooms, and chatting with occupants of cruising vehicles until very late at night. I feared for the contents of our car, but we parked right by the lobby (where a uniformed security guard was in evidence) and we had no trouble. This hotel needs some serious renovation and it's just barely adequate, even for budget travelers like ourselves. I almost always stay at Motel 6 when it's available, but I will not stay in this one again. I just didn't feel safe or comfortable, and I didn't like carrying that nasty smell with me the rest of the trip.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank Twirlgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Max G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
1.8 mi away
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
Motel 6 Modesto Downtown
#13 of 20 in Modesto
45 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
96 reviews
3.4 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
0.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
0.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Modesto

Address: 1920 W Orangeburg Ave, Modesto, CA 95350-3740
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Price Range: £49 - £65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Modesto 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Motel 6 Modesto California is located within walking distance to area restaurants. Go shopping or visit the Micke Grove Zoo, 2 miles. Several golf courses are within 5 miles. Enjoy our outdoor pool. Wi-Fi is available in all modern guest rooms for a fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Motel 6 Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Modesto Hotel Modesto
Motel Six Modesto
Modesto Motel Six
Modesto Motel 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing