We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Smells of too much air freshener”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel Smells of too much air freshener”
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Friendly staff and good location, however the rooms reek of air freshener. I am a Diamond level Hilton Honors member and travel frequently to Modesto on business. At times the aroma in the room is overwhelming, sickening and cloyingly sweet. What are they trying to hide here?

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Not1Wink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole_Siefken, Pervez Khan at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 17 February 2013
Hello Not1Wink
Thanks for your loyal patronage of DoubleTree by Hilton Modeto.
We heard your suggestion and act accordingly. We look forward to
your future visits at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    326
    144
    69
    31
See reviews for
188
149
51
457
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013 via mobile

If you need to travel to Modesto, CA for business, this hotel will accommodate you nicely. No frills, nothing special but a pretty good deal for a road-warrior. The bar is OK but they run out of Johnny Black within an hour... Staff is trying to be helpful but they gave us a wrong dinner recommendation - the restaurant is out of business for several weeks now.

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mozo4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole_Siefken, Director Pervez Khan at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
Hello, Mozo4ever Los Angeles, California
Thanks for a Nice Comments and your feed back as such we have corrected those two issues during your stay. Please accept very sincere apology from the team & Management of the DoubleTree by Hilton.
We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Barbara, California
Level 6 Contributor
593 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

I stayed one night for business. They have nice rooms. Decent fitness center and a cool pool on the roof of the 2nd or 3rd floor. Cool corner suites if you can get one. Nice restaurant and bar area for watching sports.

Room Tip: Stay as far away from the train tracks as possible and turn on the fan on the HVAC. Leave before 7...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole_Siefken, director at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Hello, Kuwells San Antonio, Texas
Thanks for staying with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto. We are glad you enjoyed our Hotel and it's facilities. We have one of the Largest swimming pool on 2nd floor. Our Lounge & bar is one of the best in Modesto area. We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyderabad, India
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

The Hotel is centrally located, good parking space, nice food. Maxis restaurant opens at 6 am, Bar is good, The Gym facility is open 24 hrs. You get a shuttle for airport which is 15 mins away. Rooms are good clean with good hospitality. rate is 150-200$ per night . Only catch is the near by train which horns at 3 am in the morning.

Room Tip: Choose rooms on the back side to avoid the train horns
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viven09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

I just stayed here again last week for 4 nights and had a much better experience than before. I upgraded my room to a Corner Junior Suite on the 5th floor and it was QUIET. I only heard the trains once in the 4 nights that I stayed there.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a Corner Junior Suite away from the trains, yes its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LA-Backdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole_Siefken, Director at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Hello LA-Backdoc
Thanks for your very nice and encouraging words regarding DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
We look forward to your next visit to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nynashamn, Sweden
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

I stayed here recently for a week on business trip. A nice and comfortable hotel but be prepared for restless nights thanks to the train tracks that are located so close that it wakes you up at all hours of the night.

They do charge for parking on this property - but get it validated as soon as you enter the lobby so the charges go directly to your room bill which was convenient for business folks.

The exercise room on 2nd floor was nice with plenty of equipment and pool.

Buffet breakfast was OK - with the usual suspects on the offering table and nothing exotic but the service staff during the breakfast hours were real nice.

Did not try the restaurant on the property for dinner since we preferred the sports bar across the street.

Mildly interesting - all the bathroom supplies (shampoo, conditioner, lotion) were coriander based - which was new, at least to me, in all my travels thus far. Thank god I did not ask for toothpaste , mouthwash or shaving cream from the guest services.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms far far away from the train tracks if you want to get some sleep. Get your garage par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chanakyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole_Siefken, Director at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Dear Chanakyan Nynashamn
We appreciate your nice words about our property & team members. We appreciate your business. Our DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto being the most conveniently located hotel in Central valley, corporate & Leisure travellers love it because of it's proximity to all the area businesses and entertainment. We sincerely regret the inconvenience of noise.
We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by hilton Modesto. CA.
Thanks
Pervez Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Modesto
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Attended a Rain Concert at the Gallo Center, and booked a room at the Double Tree.
We were in walking distant to the concet and dinning. The Double Tree was a great place to stay and enjoy the company of friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kole_Siefken, Director at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 23 January 2013
Dear Mr. Richard G
Thanks for staying with us. We appreciate your nice feed back. We are glade you enjoyed your stay with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
Yes, we are centrally Located in Down Town Modesto. We are close to Gallo Centre for arts
& many other entertainments in walking distance from the hotel.
We look forward to your future stays with DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto.
Thanks
Pervez Khan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
2.1 mi away
Best Western Palm Court Inn
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
279 reviews
5.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Modesto Salida
1.5 mi away
Days Inn Modesto
Days Inn Modesto
#5 of 20 in Modesto
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing