We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly nice place in Modesto”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Modesto
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice place in Modesto”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

I had to travel to Modesto for business. Since it's agricultural, I didn't expect much. To my surprise, the Doubletree was great! Clean, updated, friendly staff. They have very nice bathrooms and linens. The staff were nice. Only downside is it's next to railroad tracks, but they provide earplugs and it's not a big deal. Also, no fax in the business center. A new front desk employee didn't know how to send my fax, so I had to wait till I got home. Also, no free parking, but it's in downtown Modesto, so parking across the street is $10/day. However, I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about our hotel. We apologize about the Fax machine mix-up. We have now fully trained all of our staff and will certainly be able to serve you much better on your next trip. Thanks for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    307
    138
    64
    27
See reviews for
180
141
50
426
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I was fully aware of the train noise before booking but went ahead and booked a stay as the hotel was perfectly located for me. I brought ear plugs with me, but apparently the hotel offers them too. Room service was excellent, speedy and good quality food.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Brit M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our hotel on Trip Advisor. We are happy you enjoyed your stay and the services that we offer. We just came out with our new room service menu and have been receiving rave reviews. We are happy that you enjoyed your meal as well.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DuQuoin, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Easy to locate hotel, which made it a great suprise after the grueling traffic coming from SFA. Parking was ten dollars a night in the garage accross the street, but Vallet was sixteen. Check in was a breeze, and got my warm cookie as promised. Lobby was spotless, as well as the rest of the hotel. Location was perfectly nestled in the downtown arts area. All points of this hotel were in tip top shape. Plenty of working elevators to get to and from your floor quickly. Room was very clean, but water controls were the opposite as to what I am used to. That would be the only thing that was weird. Quiet and comfortable room. Beautiful view from my room on the fifth floor. Check out was simple of course, and had a great visit. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your wonderful comments about our hotel and services that we offer. We hope that we have the pleasure of serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Nice well-maintained room (1028), got early arrival and upper floor as requested, week of 4-28-14. Trains (with horns) pass by a couple times a night, but otherwise reasonably quiet and/or masked by constant A/C whoosh. Irritating extra $10 charge for parking in a city structure across the street. Closer street parking is free. Service in bar was pretty poor--very inattentive; twice I gave up and went elsewhere. Cold breakfast buffet for $10 was good.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank bennk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about the hotel and we are happy that we were able to honor your early check-in. We apologize for the service in the Lounge as this is not normally the case. We will definitely undergo some retraining so that this does not happen on your future visits to the hotel. We are in hopes that you will choose us again when visiting the Modesto area.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
263 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a trip in September last year!

The hotel is very nice and well maintained, shame about the outside area.

We had a big lunch and a very long day and just wanted a quick bite to eat for tea. There is a mcdonalds just a 5 minute walk down the road so we thought we would just walk there. Before setting off we left all valuables in the hotel and just took a few dollars!!

What an experience, I have never felt so scared and intimidated. My boyfriend isn't a small guy but we literally ran back to the hotel!

I would recommend the hotel but just stay indoors!

Also it was noted it was my birthday on the trip so they sent me up a whole cheesecake!! Very nice touch :)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank KatK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your kind words about the hotel and the services that we offer. Happy belated birthday! We apologize about your trip to McDonalds. Normally, the area does not present a probelm however we apologize that this happened to you. We certainly hope that when you travel to Modesto again you will be sure to choose our hotel.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anaheim Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Was in Modesto for business and stayed at the Doubletree for 5 nights. Jr Suite was VERY comfortable and made the long hot days bearable upon return to my room. Complimentary WiFi allowed me to keep up with the Stanley Cup Playoffs, and I was able to stream the games live and watch them on the tv through HDMI input. The staff was very friendly and the food and drinks were good. If I find myself in Modesto again, I will definitely be staying at the Doubletree again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We are so happy you enjoyed the Jr. Suite and we all hope that your Stanley Cup Playoff team won! We are happy you noticed that our Wi-Fi does allow you to stream videso for no additional charge. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Hills, United States
1 review
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I love this hotel. Perfect location downtown and very comfortable. Friendly staff.. very helpful. and those cookies are amazing!! The restaurant staff went out of their way to accommodate me and even gave me a free banana .. I offered to pay for it but it was a little bruised so they said "enjoy it" and didn't charge me! The room was very comfortable and quiet.. well the train goes by occasionally but didn't interrupt my sleep. And there is a very nice, large workout facility with several treadmills and a beautiful outdoor pool. I will definitely make this my #1 hotel in Modesto for future trips.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FPSBGM, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Daer Guest:

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments about the hotel and our services. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Sincerely,
Kole Siefken
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Modesto hotels
5.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Modesto-Salida
2.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Palm Court Inn
2.7 mi away
Ramada Modesto
Ramada Modesto
#4 of 20 in Modesto
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Modesto
0.6 mi away
Quality Inn Modesto
Quality Inn Modesto
#15 of 20 in Modesto
92 reviews
2.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#9 of 20 in Modesto
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto
Address: 1150 9th St, Modesto, CA 95354-0823
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Modesto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Modesto
#2 Business Hotel in Modesto
#2 Family Hotel in Modesto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto 3.5*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Doubletree by Hilton Modesto is located in the heart of downtown Modesto. Our location is in the center of dining, shopping, entertainment and culture venues such as the Gallo Center for the Arts. Our bright and spacious 100% non-smoking guest room and suites feature a breezy California style with all the comforts and conveniences of home. Location To AttractionsDoubletree by Hilton Modesto is the crossroads for many Northern California destinations like Yosemite National Park, Castle Air Museum, Fresno, Sacramento, Napa Valley and the San Francisco Bay Area along with nearby Central Valley wineries. The hotel is also centrally located to several sports complexes like Rainbow Fields, Big League of Dreams, Pedretti Park and Mistlin Sports Park which hold soccer and baseball events. Whether your visit to Modesto entails work, play or both, our full-service hotel and caring, courteous staff look forward to welcoming you with our signature warm chocolate chip cookie. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Modesto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Modesto Hotel Modesto
Doubletree Modesto
Modesto Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing