We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Chehalis, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Very Clean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Was getting late and we ran out of freeway and into this BW. We were not disappointed. Very helpful staff, clean room and what a great bed. Plus both my husband and I love the sound of trains...grew up with them. Slept so good we missed breakfast but right next door was a Denney's and it too was excellent. We would stay here again and plan to on our next trip to Southern Ca.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Thanks Again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    71
    34
    18
    3
See reviews for
42
66
22
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

No internet service during stay, not forewarned, though they knew internet was down. Room was so-so, breakfast was poor compared to most Best Western's we've stayed at. No elevator. Unclean tub (hair left on walls and tub from previous customers). It says Best Western Plus but it was not as nice as any of the Best Western's (plus or not) that we visited on this trip. We suggest you drive on to the next Best Western or other brand hotel if possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank luckystars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

I did not expect to find such a nice, clean, and up-to-date hotel in a town as small and remote as Mojave, AZ, but I did. I would stay here again and would recomend it to my friends. It was quiet at night and the bed was very comfortable. The room was decorated nicely and was very clean.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Kerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Kerry P
Thank you for reviewing our hotel. On behalf of the entire staff we would like to thank you for the great review of our hotel. We strive to make all guests as comfortable as we possibly can and it is great to hear that we are doing a great job. Thanks Again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Downey, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

Working in the high desert where everything's far away. This place is walking distance to pretty much anything you need. Very happy we stayed here and are enjoying now day 3 here.
PS
The tint desk is awesome.....needed to fax some paper ASAP and they were very very helpful to accommodate me. Thank u

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodbuster33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Rodbuster,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. It was great to hear that you had an enjoyable stay and would recomend us to your friends. We strive to make all of our guests have a comfortable stay and assist them in any way possible. Again thank you very much for the great review and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We asked for a quiet room and were very grateful to be given one right at the back of the hotel as we hadn't realised that trains thundered through the town at all hours. Our room was very good, clean and comfortable but the exterior door didn't fit very well which allowed the noise of the trains to come in. It was okay after we wedged it shut with a chair. Breakfast was good. I would be reluctant to go to Mojave again, the hotel was fine, but the town was not.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaymaker7343Mk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing our property. Yes the trains do present a noise problem for most of the buisnesses in Mojave. It is an ongoing struggle to beat the train noise. We have some guests that love them and some hat hate them. Most of the time we utilize the rear building to keep guests as far away from the trains as possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived after 10:00 pm and were given a nice clean king bedroom. The bed was comfortable with nice linens and lots of pillows. The television was a large flat screen. The amenities were good quality, as well as the towels. The price of the room included a buffet type breakfast, from 6:00 am to 9:00 am. I've noticed in my travels that people don't like getting up early on Saturday mornings, and generally start arriving for breakfast around 9:30-10:00. The pool looked very nice and inviting.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you Rebecca for your terrific review. I am so happy to hear you had a comfortable and relaxing stay at our hotel and look forward to your next stay with us. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

Hotel is in a good location with very helpful staff. Would stay again and would say it is good for families and couples alike. Standard Best Western but that's what I like..............nothing to fancy but a good standard

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 17 September 2013
Thank you Robert for your review. It is always wonderful to hear good thing about our hotel and that our guests are pleased and had a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
1.3 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
14.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
#6 of 8 in Tehachapi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Property: BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Address: 16200 Sierra Hwy, Mojave, CA 93501-1522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TravelUp, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds Mojave, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing