We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the middle of nowhere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Lafayette, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“In the middle of nowhere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We wanted to break up a trip from SFO to Palm Springs since we are older and night travel is painful for the eyes. We took the reccomedation of the BW reservation agent about the hotel. She was right. About the only thing we would like to see as an improvement would be location of a mid scale resteraunt for dinner within walking distance.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for the great review. It is always wonderful to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay at our hotel. Again thank you so much, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    69
    34
    16
    3
See reviews for
41
63
21
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clovis
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

We love to go riding in the desert and recently sold our trailer. We thought we would try staying in a hotel instead, and we sure picked the right one! The rooms are nice and they are very clean. The staff are nice AND you get a free breakfast. Not just any breakfast...they had waffles, eggs, biscuits & gravy, and all the other stuff you usually find for a continental breakfast. And the biscuits & gravy were better then most restuarants! We will definately stay here again!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brinduz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. It is great to hear that you were pleased with your stay and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Sweet find in the middle of the desert. Comfortable, clean accommodations and wonderful people. Great stopping place between Northern California and the Southwest! Been going there for years,---even before it was a Best Western.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank pamarden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for the great review. I have been at this hotel since 2002 and am delighted to hear good things from our loyal guests. Thanks again and we will see you again the next time you visit our town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013

An enjoyable stay, with corp discount even though we weren't traveling on business. Comfortable accommodations. Internet worked well in the room (which is always a plus since I hate having to go to the lobby to use it). The hot tub was lovely. The breakfast had hot options, like scrambled eggs, sausage and you could make your own waffles.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Diana Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Delighted to hear that you had a wonderful stay at our hotel. We love hearing from guest that we have done a good job making them comfortable and happy while they are away from home. Thank you so much for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

Stayed a couple of times en route to other nearby towns.

This motel was a good price, reasonable location in Mojave. Would be happy to stay here again.

Have read some of the reviews, not sure what people are expecting for a Mojave motel.

It did the job.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 28 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you so much for your review. It is always great to hear that our guests enjoyed their stay and we hope to see you again in the future. Thanks Again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

We stopped for one night due to the Tehachapi pass being closed due to snow. They were accommodating in letting us check in at 11am. Front desk clerk was very friendly.
The room was fine although the heater thermostat did not enable you to fine tune the heat. Keep in mind we just came from the Best Western in Barstow which was very nice.
My husband discovered after check in that they they charged us an extra $20. Wait, what? In case we added incidentals....
The room was fine.
Breakfast experience was poor. The Breakfast room was nice and large and they could easily add 2 more tables so people would not have to wait. The breakfast bar was poorly organized. You had to wait to grab your plate because the person buttering their waffle was in your way. Everyone had to prepare their waffle there because of only one syrup pitcher. They didn't have real butter only Promise. The sausages were laying in a pool of grease in the pan. And my orange juice was so watered down I couldn't drink it. It would not take much effort on their part to improve the breakfast experience. Visit the Best Western in Barstow and check out their breakfast room. They do a great job!
The desk clerk was gracious when we checked out. She checked our room and immediately credited the $20 back to our account.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thanksucsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
I was somewhat surprised by this review. All Best Westerns are inspected every 6 months and we always get an above average grade, The reservation system we use always authorizes the credit card for $20.00 over the amount of stay to cover any incidentals but releases that upon check out and only charges for the amount of stay. This is common for most hotels. The breakfast room has a certain amount of tables as to allow for clear walkways in between tables. This room is also evaluated and we have one of the highest scores in the breakfast area. The breakfast counter runs from wall to wall and is arranged according to Best Western standards, with plates and silverware at one end of the counter. The orange juice is from concentrate that is automatically mixed within the minute maid juice machine. and the sausage, eggs, and gravy are in an electric food warmer to keep them hot, and are made fresh daily by the breakfast cook that is there for the full time breakfast is being served.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chehalis, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Was getting late and we ran out of freeway and into this BW. We were not disappointed. Very helpful staff, clean room and what a great bed. Plus both my husband and I love the sound of trains...grew up with them. Slept so good we missed breakfast but right next door was a Denney's and it too was excellent. We would stay here again and plan to on our next trip to Southern Ca.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Sandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kathy B, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Desert Winds, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for your great review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to seeing you the next time you are in town.
Thanks Again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
1.3 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.1 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
13.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN California City Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
14.3 mi away
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
La Quinta Inn Tehachapi
#6 of 8 in Tehachapi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
16.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Country Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Desert Winds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Desert Winds

Property: BEST WESTERN Desert Winds
Address: 16200 Sierra Hwy, Mojave, CA 93501-1522
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Desert Winds 2.5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy convenient access to Mojave Spaceport, Edwards Air Force Base and Willow Springs International Speedway while staying at this Mojave, California hotel. Welcome to the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds where guests will receive the highest quality of customer service and find unbeatable amenities for an affordable price. Guests staying at this Mojave Best Western hotel will enjoy well-appointed modern guest rooms featuring flat screen LCD televisions and free wireless high-speed Internet access. Start the day off right with an expansive complimentary full breakfast served every morning. After a long day, guests are welcome to take a refreshing dip in the hotel's outdoor swimming pool or a relaxing soak in the spa. Guests traveling on business will also appreciate the variety of business services available on property at the BEST WESTERN PLUS Desert Winds including fax and photocopying services.Whether traveling to Mojave for business or for pleasure, the BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is close to where travelers want to be. Nestled at the center point of four major California highways, guests can easily enjoy area activities like spending a peaceful afternoon hiking Red Rock Canyon, whitewater rafting down the Kern River, touring the air museum at Edwards Air Force Base, exploring the Desert Poppy & Wildlife Reserve or taking in a race at nearby Willow Springs International Raceway. Also situated along the corridor of Sequoia National Forest and on the Pacific Coast Trail, guests at this Mojave hotel will be among some of California's most beautiful natural landscapes. Space enthusiasts will especially appreciate this California Best Western hotel's proximity to the Mojave Spaceport. The friendly, helpful staff at the AAA 3-Diamond BEST WESTERN Desert Winds is ready to ensure a comfortable and memorable stay in Mojave, California. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your BEST WESTERN Desert Winds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Mojave
Mojave Best Western
BEST WESTERN Desert Winds Mojave, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing