We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tremendous value, bring your own pillow”
Review of Desert Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Desert Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This motel has seen a lot of years, and it shows, but overall it's a very decent place and I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. For the price, it's fantastic. I was in a room with a single bed, which had enough room for a desk and a small dining table as well as the appliances. The room was L-shaped which made the space around the bed a little tight even though the overall size was fine. The in-room refrigerator was enormous for a motel - about double the height of a typical mini-fridge, with a separate freezer section. The AC unit was old, and the TV was new (with satellite service). A couple things were unplugged, I assume just to save energy when the room is empty, but they weren't hard to plug in so I didn't mind. There was duct tape in an inside corner of the front door; it probably needs some new weatherstripping there and I hope this was just a temporary fix. (no Home Depots in Mojave!) Again it didn't really bother me at such a wonderful price point.

The room was clean, the place was very quiet, the owner was friendly and there were some breakfast foods like prepackaged danishes, cereal, oatmeal, milk, juice, etc. in the front office. The biggest complaint, and it's pretty minor, is that the pillows were super dense, not terribly enjoyable to sleep on. But I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank ProphetM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Hello,

We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay at the Desert Inn. We try to make our rooms feel as comfortable for travelers as possible, so you feel almost like you are home, by offering the big fridge/freezer, microwave, and DirecTv with over 100 HD channels on the new 32" flat screen tv. In the bathrooms we also put lotion, shampoo and a hair dryer as well. Yes, the duct tape is a temporary fix, like you wrote there is no Home Depot in town hahaha. Thank you for choosing to stay at the Desert Inn while traveling through our town.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014

Cheap and convenient place to stay on the way to Death Valley and Mojave Desert. Friendly reception service. Very basic breakfast provided. Room clean and tidy with microwave and fridge.unfortunately, our 'no smoking' room did have the smell of stale cigarettes. When we commented on this to the owner, we were told it was due to the air con. system and fumes had come in from next door!

Room Tip: Check it is no smoking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing our rooms are "clean and tidy." AAA has given the Desert Inn the cleanest motel award in town for many years now.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Traveling from Santa Cruz, California to visit my sister in Boulder City, Nevada I wanted to stop
about half-way since the drive is long. I had my dog with me-a small, well-behaved rescued girl.
The town itself is nothing to write home about, but I was very pleasantly surprised by the motel.
The owner/staff was extremely helpful and accommodating. The room was very clean and had every amenity you could possibly want. It looked brand-new. I would definitely stay there again
and recommend the Desert Inn to everyone. The best part was that I was able to have my dog
with me and there was no charge for her. I loved the place!

Room Tip: not sure. my room was just fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank julie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2014

Hello Julie,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay while traveling through our small town. We are happy to read to you were "pleasantly surprised" by what the Desert Inn has to offer. Hope to see you again when you travel through to visit your sister.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

This place is ideal for folks coming in for the night. It was super clean, quiet, and charming. The staff members were incredibly nice, and seem to really care about your stay here. The bed was comfortable, the tv was huge, and the bathroom was clean. I don't know what else folks are looking for if they're stopping for the night or on business. When booking, tell the owner that you saw the Internet special, and you will be given a 10 dollar discount. Great place!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Neil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hey Neil,

Glad to see you enjoyed your stay while traveling through Mojave. Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay at the Desert Inn. We really appreciate your 5 point rating! Thank you again.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here after travelling through Death Valley from the east. Good stopping off point and this motel is a good value. Nothing fancy, central location, very clean, and very helpful owner/staff. We'd stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnCamp81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello John,

Thank you for taking the time and writing about your stay at the Desert Inn. Keeping our rooms clean and customer service are a top priority for us at the Desert Inn. Thank you for the kind words.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The property is older so we were very surprised at how clean, modern, and comfortable it was on the inside. Flat screen TV with Direct TV and multiple HBO channels, 4-ft. tall refrigerator/freezer, comfortable bed with new linen and bedspread... The owners are very friendly and accommodating. I bet it's just a matter of time before the outside gets the same full makeover as the inside.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GigiMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello,

We are happy to read you enjoyed all of the amenities we offer in the rooms from the refrigerator/freezer to the flat screen tv with direcTV to the new linen and bedding. We do what we can to make our guest feel as comfortable as possible while traveling through our small town. Thank you for all of the kind words.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

The rooms are clean with all you could want. However the motel is in need of a complete redo especially outside. Larger then Motel 6 or 8 's but ambiance really low. I case you didn't already know, it's the windiest place on earth!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydidit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arunbhula, Manager at Desert Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Hello,

Thank you for writing that the Desert Inn is "Clean." You wrote a complete redo especially outside? What are you referring to by that? We are consistently making improvements to our motel. We've recently added brand new mattresses, 32" flat screen t.v.'s, refrigerator with freezer, curtains etc... We are always open to suggestions. You wrote "Not a 4 rating" We appreciate your opinion but there are currently 60 reviews that rate the Desert Inn at 4, and 99 that rate the Desert Inn at 5. Thank you again for taking the time and writing about your experience.

Andy & Lisa
Desert Inn
Mojave, CA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mojave
0.8 mi away
Best Western Desert Winds
0.6 mi away
Mariah Country Inn & Suites
0.8 mi away
Motel 6 Mojave - Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn
13.7 mi away
Best Western California City Inn & Suites
17.4 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Tehachapi
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Desert Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Inn

Address: 1954 State Highway 58, Mojave, CA 93501-1933
Region: United States > California > California Desert > Mojave
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Mojave
Price Range: £41 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Desert Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All room have fridge, microwave, coffee maker, free highspeed wireles internet 32 eanch lcd tv cable tv with hbo and cont breakfast ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Desert Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Hotel Mojave
Desert Motel Mojave
Desert Inn Mojave, California

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing