We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I LOVED this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Historic Hotel Leger
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mokelumne Hill
Certificate of Excellence
Glen Ellen, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“I LOVED this hotel!”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We were a group of 10 and spread out into 4 of the rooms. There was balcony access from most of the rooms but we found ourselves sitting out by the pool playing games at night. The pool is very large and the outside area is nice. Wish they had more outdoor nighttime lighting though. We had to use our phones on the back table. The ghost kit was so much fun ($15) and they give a great hotel tour for free. They needed more helpers for their free complimentary breakfast but it was wonderful. Cinnamon toast and bagels. lots of cut fresh fruit, oatmeal, cereals, coffee and juices. It was a real treat. They should not call it continental breakfast for it was so much more. and FREE. The restaurant surprised us all. The food was EXCELLENT! Every dish was flavorful except for the vegan pecan pasta which needed something. The butternut ravioli was my favorite. Great appetizers. It was a short drive to the river to gold pan and close to California Caverns for caving. We also got a 15% off coupon from the Calaveras County visitors bureauu and a helpful brochure. So helpful, we extended our stay since we got 15% off the room AND the restaurant. For 10 people, that really adds up. I called and ordered a cake for a birthday and they had it ready without me having to double check - and it was the best chocolate cake I have ever had! The wait staff was so friendly as well as all the staff. I will come back and stay here for sure. We found out after we booked our room that we were staying in the most haunted room! But with that ghost kit, we detected nothing all day and night. Well, until I walked downstairs all alone to retrieve someone and outside past the old jail and cellar then the detector device went crazy. Me all alone in a dark stairwell! I was scared stiff and ran back in. Do they work? I don't know, but I do know that when we went down those stairs earlier, nothing went off. At night, they let us play the piano in a big open ballroom and the sound was beautiful. The bed was comfortable and we fit an extra cot in room three. One thing though, I wish they had hooks or towel hangers in the bathroom. Although shared, it still would have been nice. I couldn't figure out where to put my wet washcloth and wet towel. Very sleepy town with a pretty stupid store across the street called Moke Nuts. Wish more was going on but not really needed since so much to do close by. San Andreas was an adorable touristy town with lots to see, eat, shop, drink and do.

Room Tip: Get 15% discount if you call the Calaveras County visitor bureau.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank gwestcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    65
    12
    4
    4
See reviews for
31
70
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Newer owner and staff are personable and real. Restaurant better than expected. Will seek cook out to discuss food next time I'm here. Ate here two nights in a row. Balsamic Fried Chicken appetizer is iconic, butternut squash ravioli with chicken and fettuccine Alfredo (with multiple options) were a favorite in our group, my pork was a bit over cooked but unique berry sauce definitely made up for it, raves about the salmon pasta and seafood chowder (rich cream based)! Artichoke mushroom appetizer has to fall under the iconic category. (I'm usually disappointed with appetizers.) Pizza place is a stroll away. Jackson is close to the north and San Andreas close to the south. Friendly bar with Dogfish Head IPA and the yummy standby Lagunitas IPA. Bar does stay open late on weekend nights but we stayed overhead and had no problems sleeping. Some SUNDAYS are Blues and BBQ day.
Hotel has history of ghosts and it was fun using the ghostbusters kit. The town is sleepy but with the high density of historic buildings, but has potential and it will be fun to see changes when we come back. Also a few upgrades (new carpets) will make the hotel more comfy for some but it is over 150 years old. Close to Mokelumne River and cool water.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LeoneDiMare2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Not your usual hotel experience, but my visit was to focus on the past and history of the area and the Leger fit right in. Personality and charm, very personable staff, felt like home. The food in the dining room was excellent and very reasonably priced. If I return to the area I look forward to visiting the Leger again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Gold rush history abounds. Ghosts of bygone days become the filter of the hotel's story. A kit in our room provided ghost sensing equipment which provided a few fun and anxiety producing adventures. Thankfully we never encountered a ghost but enjoyed the real hospitality of the innkeepers and enjoyed two wonderful dinners in the hotel restaurant. The hotel saloon is a gathering place for people in the area. We spent an entertaining afternoon meeting some locals. This is a great place to stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulineBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lafayette, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We stayed here for a birthday weekend. the rooms are old as would be expected but huge amd very well kept, super clean. We had appetizers and dinner there two nights, loved every moment of it. The continental breakfast was best I've had. Doralee the owner is all over the place, seeing that the guests like their stay and asking what else she or the staff can do. Wow, this place is a home run, loved it and will be back. The location is good to the wineries on Shenandoah Road as well as in Murphys.

Room Tip: Rooms over Main Street are a tad noisier but have great balconies, so that was a great tradeoff. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clayhammer03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

My husband and I enjoy staying in historic hotels and for our trip into the Gold Country we chose Hotel Leger in Mokelumne Hill, near Jackson. Room no. 2 was comfortable and spacious even with creaky floors, antique furniture. The room overlooks the street for a view of the preserved mid-nineteenth century buildings. Inside the hotel, a wonderful saloon with a good selection of beers on tap, including local. We had dinner at the hotel: The Whitewater Grill is casual, comfortable, with a good menu. Very good butternut squash ravioli. The hotel has a pool in the back for hot summer days, popular with locals too, which made it all the more fun. Mokelumne Hill is right on Highway 49, within easy reach of Angels Camp, Murphys, Jackson, Sutter Creek. Hotel keepers warm and very helpful. We'll be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank francescaripperts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We stayed at The Hotel Leger this past weekend and were so pleasantly suprised at this fun find. The hotel sits on a very cute historical street and you get that old time feel with good service from happy people. They do not have an elevator to the second floor. The food in their restaruant was very good and the bar/saloon was fun with good drinks and a very friendly staff. I think they have a few pet friendly rooms as well. We will be back.

Room Tip: Next time we would select a room that has access to the 2nd floor balcony so we can have coffee outs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelLeger, Owner at The Historic Hotel Leger, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Thank you for your stay with us. We know our guests have many choices when visiting the California Gold Country, and we are glad that The Historic Hotel Leger was your choice! We and our staff truly appreciate all guest feedback, so that we know when we're doing the right things, as well as what might need our attention and improvement.

And, yes, we do offer dog-friendly rooms and dining options, Please contact the hotel directly if you would like more information on bringing your dog, or visit our website where you can find our pet policy.

Best Regards,
Doralee & David, Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mokelumne Hill
7.3 mi away
The Robin's Nest
The Robin's Nest
#1 of 3 in San Andreas
5.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
4.8 mi away
Best Western Amador Inn
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Jackson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Days Inn Sutter Creek
Days Inn Sutter Creek
#1 of 2 in Sutter Creek
4.0 of 5 bubbles 538 reviews
8.3 mi away
Hotel Sutter
Hotel Sutter
#2 of 2 in Sutter Creek
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
17.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Historic Hotel Leger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Historic Hotel Leger

Property: The Historic Hotel Leger
Address: 8304 Main St, Mokelumne Hill, CA 95245-9776
Region: United States > California > Mokelumne Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Mokelumne Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Historic Hotel Leger 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the oldest, and still operating, hotels built during the Gold Rush. 13 Antique-filled guest rooms, a full-service dining room open for breakfast and lunch Friday through Sunday, and dinner daily except Tuesdays, and a historic saloon dating back to 1874. Hotel guests receive a complimentary continental breakfast Monday-Thursday, and 15% off breakfast in our restaurant Friday-Sunday. We have dog-friendly rooms, and there is dog-friendly dining available in the Saloon and on the balcony. Please contact the Innkeeper for details and restrictions. Centrally located in the Gold Country on Historic Highway 49 - The Golden Chain Highway - with easy access to all of the sites and activities in the area, including hiking, golfing, fishing, boating, swimming, wineries, antique shopping, historic Gold Rush sites, casinos and more! Please let our Concierge staff help plan your itinerary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Historic Hotel Leger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leger Hotel Mokelumne Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing