We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My tastes buds are smiling”
Review of Merengue Bakery and Cafe - MOVED

Merengue Bakery and Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$12
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“My tastes buds are smiling”
Reviewed 20 November 2013 via mobile

Just enjoyed a chicken empanada and cheese ball for dinner followed by a Carmel cake. Everything was amazing, I even brought something home for later. The prices were reasonable and it was very friendly place. The staff was very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Cmac2385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    10
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rosemead, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“It's Becoming a Habit!”
Reviewed 26 May 2013

First off, let me say that this review is about the pastries (too hooked on those to try anything else, as yet). Their coconut strudel is to die for . . . Not too sweet, and a nice CHUNK of real coconut inside (nuke 'em for 15 seconds for a burst of pure coconut happiness). The beef empanadas are good, not too spicy and not greasy. The potato balls are perfect. The lemon tarts are a Sunday morning favorite . . . Get these to go with an espresso, and walk to the park 2 blocks up the street for an impromptu picnic. Also great are the flan, the refugiados (guava paste and cheese strudels), and the creme brulee. Before long, I will have tried every bakery item they sell. Quality as good as Porto's, IMO . . . And way better parking, way less crowds.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Mizkwebb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasadena
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Two Time Winner”
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Since I've only visited here twice, I'll keep the review simple:
Chocolate Ganache cake slice...........HEAVENLY, sweet, creamy, chocolate-y, rich, good enough to share....but I didn't :-D
Lemon Tart.....Lemon tart very pretty ....and truly 'tart'...thank you bakery chef! If you like your lemon pie/tart's with a tang that bites (in just the right lovingly way) ...mmmm....order one for me too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Markmom18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love Merengue, watch out Portos”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Didn't feel like driving to Portos and opted for Merengue since it's almost in my back yard. I can't believe I'm saying this but the ham croqueta, papa rellena and pastelito de carne were equally as good as Portos and maybe, just maybe even better. Oh and the tres leche cake was just as good. There I said it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martica V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southern california
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Cake”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Had a party and bought a half sheet cake. Half chocolate with chocolate cream and half yellow with strawberrys and cream
GREAT CAKE

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank nomad1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Merengue Bakery and Cafe also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing