We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious”
Review of Cafe LuMar

Cafe LuMar
Reserve with OpenTable
Cafe LuMar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 139 Restaurants in Monrovia
Cuisines: American, Croatian
Restaurant details
Azusa, California, USA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 13 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Café LuMar is very delicious and the service is excellent; they are really nice! The crepes were amazing! I will definitely be coming back for more, especially the crepes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    11
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Marino, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Delicious Croatian food”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We were a group of 12 and they prepared a very special meal for us here for $12. The place is small, clean & the food is prepared from some wonderful cooks that know how to prepare Croatian food. There is also an area to buy Croatian food. Our menu consisted of an appetizer (gibernitzer), goulash, sarma (stuffed cabbage), mashed potatoes, salad, cheese cake with blueberries, iced tea or lemonade. It was a wonderful meal, home-cooked with delicious flavors. There are only about 8 tables in there, so you probably need to reserve tables if you are a group. I’m not sure if we got a special price, so you should call ahead. The price was well worth it. The owners are friendly and explained all the dishes served.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cgda2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendora, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good food”
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

overall good food but a bit pricey for the portions- a little slow service too.
the crepes were a little dry

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ALcorona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We used a groupon to try someplace we had never been. It's a lovely place, bright, fresh and immaculately clean. Everyone who worked there was friendly and made an extra effort to make us feel welcome. The Crêpes are just the right size and the savory ones have a perfect degree of seasoning and the dessert ones delicious. We asked them to give us one of each flavor instead of two pf the same and they were happy to oblige. The soup was yummy. We didn't try any of the Croatian main dishes but they looked to be something I would go back for for dinner. It's a small cozy place with the best kind of "Mom and Pop" vibe when the owners came out of the back to chat with us and make us feel they enjoyed having us there. there is also Croatian groceries to purchase as an added gourmet bonus. Children are welcomed. We will go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank gashrink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia,CA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Warm and Friendy”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The atmosphere is warm and friendly and the food is good. . I've only tried it for lunch at the suggestion of a friend . It was a pleasant experience and those who run it like to talk about middle and eastern european food. I think they'd prepare you anything you asked for---as long as you gave them the time

My personal taste goes to gutsier flavor but i enjoyed the experience and would probably try it again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BETTY S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe LuMar also viewed

 

Been to Cafe LuMar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing