We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place with good service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I came in on the day of and needed a room from which to work given I was attending a conference there. I did not spend the night but the normal check in was 3pm and I was allowed to check in at 10 a.m. Very helpful. Thank you Hilton

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (882)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

753 - 759 of 882 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2013

We stayed at this Double Tree Feb 28-March 3 during a trip to Santa Anita Racetrack. We picked this hotel from the recommentation at the Santa Anita Racetrack web site as being the official hotel of the track. We stayed in room #501. The hotel did have a very good location and nice staff. What we were unhappy about was the condition of the room. There was a stain on the carpet next to the bed, burn marks on the shelf between the beds and a whole in the ceiling above the toilet. The beds are very firm for those that like softer mattress. Also we had a billing error and it took about 10 days to fix. Even though the hotel was the official hotel of the Santa Anita Racetrack, the staff knew nothing about it except directions. We expected racing forms or at least knowledge of where to get them, post times, etc. For those coming from northern winter climates wanting some fresh warm air, the windows do not open.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sls58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lplascencia, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2013

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay with us. We are very sorry that you were disappointed with the cleanliness of your guest room. We try to be very vigilant in this area because we know how important it is for our guests. Based upon your review, we are actively working with our housekeeping staff to correct these issues so this situation doesn't happen again. Your feedback regarding staff assistance with race information has been taken into consideration and we will be sure to improve in that area. We hope that if your travels bring you back to the area you’ll consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I visited Monrovia (actually, Arcadia) on business recently and I really enjoyed my stay at the Double Tree Monrovia. It was my second visit to a Double Tree and was impressed by the service and the value. I unfortunately came down ill during my stay (dodgy hotdog from LA street vendor) and so spent far too long in the room, but it was clean and comfortable and the service was great. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicko310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This is a great hotel with a subtle elegance and a friendly, helpful staff in a great location. We went for the larger king room and felt very spoiled for 3 nights at an average of $135 per night. Their weekend rates were actually cheaper than their weekday rates. Its conveniently located right off of the 210 so easy access on and off the freeway. Besides the hotel's restaurant, you will find a Claimjumper, Red Lobster and Outback in less than a 5 minute walk. The area feels very safe for walking. There's lots of off-street parking. We stayed here hoping for easy access to Santa Anita Racetrack and shopping and we were not disappointed. We were very impressed with our extra large, modern suite-like room. It was clean and comfortable. We only had one problem and it was quickly sorted out by the staff. I wish we'd had time to use the pool but we did enjoy some time in the pool area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenaiSeamama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We booked this hotel at the last minute, literally the night before check in so I didn't have time to do my usual Trip Advisor checks. We got a good rate, it was Hilton so we thought we were pretty safe. On arrival all looked good, it was easy to find, they have a large free car park and we were given a warm cookie on check in. It was late afternoon and we were the only ones waiting to check in, the process was quick and painless and the woman on reception was pleasant enough.
Our room had a view of the pool, which we didn't use, but was very quiet (but it may be different in the summer) which was great. It was very spacious with two comfortable beds, desk, TV and phone. The bathroom was a good size, but there was no tub, just a shower (which was fine for us) and towels and toiletries were provided (beware of the fancy looking bottles of water they place in the bathroom, they are not free!!). It all looked super clean and tidy although the lighting in the room was so poor it would have been easy for them to cut corners with the cleaning as we wouldn't be able to see. Having now read some of the other reviews about the lighting, I have to admit that if i'd read these prior to staying here I wouldn't have taken it very seriously but it's actually really frustrating that even with all the lights on and curtains open at 11am in the morning you can still barely see enough to do your make-up in the mirror. Wasn't so much of an issue for my boyfriend but us girls need a bit of light for our hair and make-up.
Lighting aside I did like this hotel and was very happy with it especially given the last minute booking, but because we didn't spend that much time here we weren't really able to put the amenities and service to the test. We also didn't eat here, but the cookie was good!

Room Tip: Ask them which rooms get the best light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LJAYLONDON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We really like our stay in the Double Tree Monrovia. The staff was very friendly and courteous. Since we got there late and left early, they were nice enough to place us close to the elevators. We got wonderful warm cookies upon arrival and even though we came in super late, getting extra towels and soaps were not an issue. The rooms were sleek and modern and our students really love the wall mounted flat screen TV. Would definitely stay here again if we are ever in the area.

Room Tip: Paying extra for the larger space is worth the fee.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

The upper floors are for executive stay and the rooms are perfect not very roomy but workable.
Rooms are clean and the restroom was clean. I would not book for children as this room was to small but I think they have larger rooms for families that book a reservation.

The breakfast place in the hotel was better than most "comped" just for asking!!!! The warm cooky was worth the trip....

Room Tip: If traveling as acouple book executive upper levels of the hotel I think floors 7-10 and your good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matt b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.4 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area

Address: 924 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3112
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range: £104 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The DoubleTree by Hilton Monrovia - Pasadena Area is located near Los Angeles, Ontario, Burbank, Arcadia, Duarte and Irwindale, California in the heart of the San Gabriel Valley and offers contemporary hotel accommodations with spectacular views of the Foothills. Forward thinking designed guest rooms feature up-to-date conveniences like flat-panel TV's, mobile "My Table" work surface and our incredibly luxurious Sweet Dreams beds. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Monrovia
Doubletree Monrovia
Monrovia Doubletree

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing