We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Monrovia, California
1 review
“Review”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great hotel , upgraded infrastructure.Henry is the best !!!
Great hospitality and benefits during the stay.
Complimentary breakfast helps a lot when I have to start my day early.I have stayed here frequently in the last one year and have seen the hotel upgrade the facilities.

Room Tip: Meet Henry when you are here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deveshsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Greetings Deveshsinha, <

Thank you for leaving such a great review on Tripadvisor. Henry is a special asset to our team, thank you for taking the time to recognizing him.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    72
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
47
42
24
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have previously stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was very pleased at that time. During my most recent stay in early May 2014, there were a few issues that need to be improved.

First the good stuff...
Very convenient location just off the freeway. There are restaurants nearby and a Starbucks a block away. I was in room 915 (top floor) which was newly renovated. Very nice, spacious, and a comfortable bed. Water pressure in the shower is excellent. No problem with parking. Front desk staff very courteous. Free breakfast was offered to compensate for the renovation that was going on in the cafe/lobby area. I did not partake so cannot comment on the quality of food.

Now for things that need to be improved...
The internet connection was horrid. I was using wifi and it kept dropping the connection. Not particularly conducive if you were doing work and needed a reliable connection. I tried to do a wired connection but could not connect at all. I called the front desk and the explanation I received is that they were having problems with the internet connection perhaps due to the construction going on. Hopefully this really is the case and once construction is over there will be no issues.

Housekeeping needs to be reminded what the Do Not Disturb sign means on the door handle. Both mornings of my stay, housekeeping was knocking at my door BEFORE 8 am, and even tried to come in, despite my having the do not disturb sign on my door. I prefer to sleep in so this was definitely more than an annoyance for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Greetings Pigsterz,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated guest room. The renovation in the lobby and Bistro is almost complete as well. Regarding the wifi, I understand your frustration completely. I can assure you that this problem is being addressed and will be fixed ASAP. I have also been working with our internet provider to increase our bandwidth. There will be a dramatic increase in the speed of the wifi as early as next week.

I apologize that your Do not disturb sign was not honored. I have reminded our housekeeping team the importance of honoring the guest’s request. Our housekeeper on the 9th floor is one of our seasoned team leaders. I have spoken to her regarding your stay; please accept a sincere apology from us both.

Thank you again, for your feedback. It is great feedback such as yours that helps our team continue to thrive on making our hotel such a great place to stay. I hope you will be back to the hotel soon so that you can enjoy the new Bistro~Plus, as well as, our improved internet. Please contact me directly, I would be more than happy to assist you with your future reservations. My direct line is 626-531-8011 or colleen.langford@cymonrovia.com.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were put in a room on the second above an area where there was construction/remodeling going on and I did not get any sleep! Why would the staff put anybody in a room above an area where they know there would be noises because of construction/remodeling?

Check in was very quick and easy, and when we got to the room, there were no construction noises coming from downstairs, this was around 4:30. We left for the evening, and returned after midnight and I noticed a worker in the room below my room sanding or sawing something. It was late and I figured I didn't want to change rooms at that time, and I definitely regret not asking to change rooms because at around 7AM... I heard the noises! Hammering... bang, bang, bang, silence... bang, bang, bang, silence! This went on all morning!!! I had in earplugs and I could still hear the noises coming from downstairs; I fell in and out of sleep. It was just awful because I like it to be completely quiet when I sleep, which I know can be hard when staying at a hotel.

I like the location of this hotel since they're right off the freeway and there are many places to eat in the area, staff was very friendly, and the room was clean, but the noises in the early morning made it miserable for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvgrl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Greetings lvgrl2014,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry that the renovation noise interfered with you getting sleep. The construction team and I have organized all of the renovation process to have the least impact on our guest. I had asked them to sand late evening so that the dust would not be an annoyance to our guest. I had no idea that they would be hammering at such an early hour. I have addressed this with our renovation team and they share my disappointment that we disturbed you. Thankfully, we are in the final stages of our renovation.

We are all very excited about our newly renovated hotel. I am truly sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay. I would really like to discuss this with you either over the phone or by e-mail. My direct line is 626-531-8011 and my e-mail is colleen.langford@cymonrovia.com.

Kind Regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
139 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for business. Typical Marriott Courtyard service (professional and helpful) and decor. The nice thing is that it's right next to the freeway. Stayed on the upper floor away from the freeway where it's quiet. As always the bed is very comfortable for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Greetings jetters888,

Thank you for your great comments and for being such a loyal Marriott patron. I am very happy that you enjoyed our new mattresses, and cannot wait until you are able to utilize our new Bistro Plus.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
144 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were told over the phone that there was not a free breakfast included, however when we checked in, we were told that there was free breakfast! Pleasant surprise! The hotel was under construction when we stayed but we didn't even notice. We really liked our room...901! It was on the top floor on the corner. Great view of the freeway and the mountains! The beds were very comfortable and the room was very spacious. There was a nice computer desk included with a charging station for all your electronics. There was a coffee pot and a refrigerator in the room, which was nice.
This hotel was also conveniently located in a central location, that is there are many restaurants and shops nearby. The staff was very friendly as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyhollow420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Sleepyhollow420,

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard Monrovia. We have finished our room renovation and are really close to completing our new Bistro Plus. I hope you are able to come and stay with us again soon.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
260 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The hotel is remodeling and will be going to the Bistro like most of the Courtyards shortly. We were on the 9th floor in one of the remodeled rooms. Bed is outstanding! Marriott has a winner in there choice of mattress and springs. We were in a junior suite with separate bedroom and living room. The bathroom is large and well appointed. The couch in the living area is new but tough to sit in. Does not seem to have a back. Room has refrigerator, microwave and coffee pot.

Staff here is outstanding! From the check in to check out they are smiling and friendly. Breakfast was a buffet and it was replenished quickly and often. Serving staff were quick to assist and refill coffee or juice.

Housekeeping kept room clear and well appointed.

Room Tip: Northwest is the spot to get away from highway noise. It is tough as the Courtyard is right beside...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
Greetings Michael,

I am so happy you enjoyed our newly remodeled rooms. We are so excited about the new rooms and our Bistro that is coming soon. Thank you so much for your great review. I hope you come and see the Bistro when it is complete.

Thank you again,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

I stay at this Courtyard on and off when I travel to the area for work. It's a typical Courtyard property design wise, and it's undergoing major renovations at the moment.

The room I had last week (#410) was not up to Courtyard standards. The room was tucked behind the elevator shaft, sort of a 1 bedroom with a separate living room area. The shape and size overall was unique...not an issue at all. I actually liked the room configuration and it was very quiet.

The issue was that the room was totally missing the slide in desk in the modular desk unit. Just had a chair and the upper portion of the desk unit with the TV and phone mounted on it. No space at all to put my laptop and work.

I inquired with the front desk, and they said they were unaware that it was missing (bad job checking rooms). Also said that they would bring me something to work on...never received anything.

In addition to the totally missing desk piece, the carpets throughout the room and pieces of furniture (sofa and chair) were quite dirty and stained. Most definitely not up to the standards of Courtyard.

This was obviously not a floor that had been remodeled yet, but that being said, other rooms I have stayed in recently at this hotel had not been remodeled, yet were far superior to this last one in the terms of cleanliness and having all their furniture in place.

Maybe this was just a hiccup...

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Greetings Will H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your most recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Monrovia on Trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not get to stay in one of our newly renovated guest rooms. Our Junior Suites are very nice as it does have a separate sitting area. That room type did not have a pull out desk, for whatever reason. I went up to the room after reading your concern and I agree that the work area needs the pull out desk, and I will place the order today. I also noticed that the carpet is worn in the room that you stayed in, thankfully that will be the next floor that is being renovated. I do want to apologize that we did not following up on your request for a desk. I would love to discuss this further with you so that I can find out what happened on our end. You can contact me directly at 626-531-8011 or e-mail @ colleen.langford@cymonrovia.com

Your feedback helps us continue making this hotel a GREAT place to stay! We look forward to your next experience here in our newly renovated rooms.
I look forward to hearing from you.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
0.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Pasadena Arcadia
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
Address: 700 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3104
Region: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia Hotel Monrovia
Courtyard Monrovia
Monrovia Courtyard
Monrovia Marriott
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing