We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great convention hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great convention hotel!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My group had a wonderful stay here. The rooms have been updated - just lovely and very functional - also nice and quiet. One small quibble is that the wall unit blows air directly on one bed, but we were able to divert the air flow so that it wasn't annoying

The lobby has also been recently redone in a sleek Metropolitan decor. It is also very functional, with superb gathering places and a bar with a "wall of water" backdrop (a terrific bartender too!). Food was great, including the fresh fruit and delicious eggs at breakfast and the catered buffet luncheon. Our meeting room was perfect for the event and staff kept it neat and the pitchers full of water.

The staff at this hotel deserves a special commendation. They are uniformly friendly, helpful, and cheerful, beginning with the front desk personnel and including the all-important housekeeping staff. I asked for replacement pillows and they were quickly and cheerfully delivered. What a treat to stay where you are so welcomed and valued!

Green Features: I like staying at a hotel with water-saving practices.
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keepdancin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Dear Keepdancin,

Thank you for your kind review. I am so happy that your group enjoyed their stay with us. Our renovation is new and exciting; it is great to hear feedback such as yours. We hope you come and see us again soon.

All the best,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    62
    74
    51
    13
    8
See reviews for
49
43
24
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This hotel has been undergoing some renovations for quite some time now. During this time, a poor quality make-shift bar was put up. Also, complimentary breakfast was instated to make up for the inconvenience. The problem is that I go there often on business and find the temporary bar to be well below Marriott Standards and the breakfast service has lost its quality and variety. Many things that were offered before have been temporarily discontinued. Thus, the complimentary meal to make up for inconvenience has itself become an inconvenience since I preferred to pay for breakfast and have access to all that was offered. As a Marriott rewards member, staying at this hotel to maintain my Elite status has become an unwanted burden, especially when the Double Tree is right across the street! I do however, want to state that the only feature that has remained constant through these renovations is the great positive attitude by Henry the bartender. The bar might look like it's in shambles but Henry does a great job of keeping your mind off it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ_Hernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Hello DJ Hernandez,

Thank you for leaving your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. I completely understand your frustration on the time our renovation is taking. We have run into some unforeseen glitches with the new Bistro/Bar renovation. Unfortunately, this is out of our hands and we are waiting for permits to be approved. We are so very close, to having the Bistro Plus open. Henri has done a great job of embracing his temporary lounge area. Thank you for recognizing him; he is a great asset to our team. I really appreciate your loyalty to Marriott. I would love to discuss your thoughts on the renovation, as well as the new Bistro Plus when it opens. My direct line is 626-531-8011 or my direct line 626-531-8011.

Thank you,
Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monrovia, California
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Great hotel , upgraded infrastructure.Henry is the best !!!
Great hospitality and benefits during the stay.
Complimentary breakfast helps a lot when I have to start my day early.I have stayed here frequently in the last one year and have seen the hotel upgrade the facilities.

Room Tip: Meet Henry when you are here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deveshsinha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Greetings Deveshsinha, <

Thank you for leaving such a great review on Tripadvisor. Henry is a special asset to our team, thank you for taking the time to recognizing him.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I have previously stayed at this hotel a few years ago and was very pleased at that time. During my most recent stay in early May 2014, there were a few issues that need to be improved.

First the good stuff...
Very convenient location just off the freeway. There are restaurants nearby and a Starbucks a block away. I was in room 915 (top floor) which was newly renovated. Very nice, spacious, and a comfortable bed. Water pressure in the shower is excellent. No problem with parking. Front desk staff very courteous. Free breakfast was offered to compensate for the renovation that was going on in the cafe/lobby area. I did not partake so cannot comment on the quality of food.

Now for things that need to be improved...
The internet connection was horrid. I was using wifi and it kept dropping the connection. Not particularly conducive if you were doing work and needed a reliable connection. I tried to do a wired connection but could not connect at all. I called the front desk and the explanation I received is that they were having problems with the internet connection perhaps due to the construction going on. Hopefully this really is the case and once construction is over there will be no issues.

Housekeeping needs to be reminded what the Do Not Disturb sign means on the door handle. Both mornings of my stay, housekeeping was knocking at my door BEFORE 8 am, and even tried to come in, despite my having the do not disturb sign on my door. I prefer to sleep in so this was definitely more than an annoyance for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigsterz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Greetings Pigsterz,

Thank you so much for your valuable feedback on Tripadvisor. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your newly renovated guest room. The renovation in the lobby and Bistro is almost complete as well. Regarding the wifi, I understand your frustration completely. I can assure you that this problem is being addressed and will be fixed ASAP. I have also been working with our internet provider to increase our bandwidth. There will be a dramatic increase in the speed of the wifi as early as next week.

I apologize that your Do not disturb sign was not honored. I have reminded our housekeeping team the importance of honoring the guest’s request. Our housekeeper on the 9th floor is one of our seasoned team leaders. I have spoken to her regarding your stay; please accept a sincere apology from us both.

Thank you again, for your feedback. It is great feedback such as yours that helps our team continue to thrive on making our hotel such a great place to stay. I hope you will be back to the hotel soon so that you can enjoy the new Bistro~Plus, as well as, our improved internet. Please contact me directly, I would be more than happy to assist you with your future reservations. My direct line is 626-531-8011 or colleen.langford@cymonrovia.com.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We were put in a room on the second above an area where there was construction/remodeling going on and I did not get any sleep! Why would the staff put anybody in a room above an area where they know there would be noises because of construction/remodeling?

Check in was very quick and easy, and when we got to the room, there were no construction noises coming from downstairs, this was around 4:30. We left for the evening, and returned after midnight and I noticed a worker in the room below my room sanding or sawing something. It was late and I figured I didn't want to change rooms at that time, and I definitely regret not asking to change rooms because at around 7AM... I heard the noises! Hammering... bang, bang, bang, silence... bang, bang, bang, silence! This went on all morning!!! I had in earplugs and I could still hear the noises coming from downstairs; I fell in and out of sleep. It was just awful because I like it to be completely quiet when I sleep, which I know can be hard when staying at a hotel.

I like the location of this hotel since they're right off the freeway and there are many places to eat in the area, staff was very friendly, and the room was clean, but the noises in the early morning made it miserable for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvgrl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Greetings lvgrl2014,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your experience on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry that the renovation noise interfered with you getting sleep. The construction team and I have organized all of the renovation process to have the least impact on our guest. I had asked them to sand late evening so that the dust would not be an annoyance to our guest. I had no idea that they would be hammering at such an early hour. I have addressed this with our renovation team and they share my disappointment that we disturbed you. Thankfully, we are in the final stages of our renovation.

We are all very excited about our newly renovated hotel. I am truly sorry that this had a negative impact on your stay. I would really like to discuss this with you either over the phone or by e-mail. My direct line is 626-531-8011 and my e-mail is colleen.langford@cymonrovia.com.

Kind Regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

I stayed here for business. Typical Marriott Courtyard service (professional and helpful) and decor. The nice thing is that it's right next to the freeway. Stayed on the upper floor away from the freeway where it's quiet. As always the bed is very comfortable for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jetters888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Greetings jetters888,

Thank you for your great comments and for being such a loyal Marriott patron. I am very happy that you enjoyed our new mattresses, and cannot wait until you are able to utilize our new Bistro Plus.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. We were told over the phone that there was not a free breakfast included, however when we checked in, we were told that there was free breakfast! Pleasant surprise! The hotel was under construction when we stayed but we didn't even notice. We really liked our room...901! It was on the top floor on the corner. Great view of the freeway and the mountains! The beds were very comfortable and the room was very spacious. There was a nice computer desk included with a charging station for all your electronics. There was a coffee pot and a refrigerator in the room, which was nice.
This hotel was also conveniently located in a central location, that is there are many restaurants and shops nearby. The staff was very friendly as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sleepyhollow420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colleen L, General Manager at Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Hello Sleepyhollow420,

Thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor. I am so happy that you enjoyed your stay here at the Courtyard Monrovia. We have finished our room renovation and are really close to completing our new Bistro Plus. I hope you are able to come and stay with us again soon.

Best regards,

Colleen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
0.5 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Arcadia Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
0.3 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
0.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#4 of 7 in Monrovia
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia

Property: Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
Address: 700 W Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3104
Region: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia 3*
Number of rooms: 152
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia Hotel Monrovia
Courtyard Monrovia
Monrovia Courtyard
Monrovia Marriott
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing