We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs Renovation - badly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Quality Inn Near City of Hope
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Santa Maria CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs Renovation - badly”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

Good location and a great price for the area.
But the rooms are worn out and are very badly in need of a complete renovation.The rooms feel dirty-carpet,walls,etc., they need fresh everthing.
The overall property needs maintenance too-fresh paint,take care of deferred maintenance,etc.
Did not want to use the pool and it appeared useable, but was "closed for renovation" ??
We have family in the area but won't be staying here again until it is redone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabrejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    28
    12
    10
    9
See reviews for
19
16
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sanger, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Came here with my significant other for a quick weekend trip and stayed n Room #114. I booked the 2 person whirlpool tub room (not the heart shaped one shown on the website) but I apologize fellow tripadvisors, I was so excited with the room I forgot to take pictures! I am planning on a return trip there for our anniversary as everything was to my satisfaction at the hotel and will take pictures then.

The same lady checked us in and checked us out and was very pleasant each time, she even offered to let me see the heart shaped jacuzzi room but we were pressed for time.
Staff wasn't loud and didn't wake me in the morning and they allowed us an extended check-out.
The room was a smoking room as it was unfortunately the only one available, however when I got to the room I completely forgot it was a smoking room as there was no smell whatsoever!
They did have an extra $10 hold on my card but it was released and I was charged appropriately, just a heads up.
The room needs more outlets in the bedroom but I guess that's not something they can just change can they?
The room had a large walk in bathroom with a two person tub with adjustable jets and a separate standing shower. Overall best experience I've had at a Choice Hotel probably ever!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here while we were visiting a relative who was getting treatment at The City of Hope. The hotel is very modest (as to be expected with a Quality Inn) but it is exceptionally clean and well kept. The managers / owners are also very personable and it's clear they truly care about their guests. They asked frequently about how our relative was doing and offered support that was genuine. This made such a difference during a difficult time. I would highly recommend this hotel. It's very close to many amenities, including a Starbucks that's right next door.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CostaRicaMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

The hotel is average. Would I stay here again? Yes. You can find nicer places, but I have to agree with some other reviewers, this is a motel not really an Inn. But as for Quality Inns, this place is right in the middle of the road.

It's off the 210 on Huntington. Parking really just for cars or pickups. No real spots for RVs or semi trucks. You have to go under an archway to get in.

The rooms are comfortable and clean. The beds are nice

Breakfast is basic. Cereal, waffles and hard boiled eggs, toast and muffins. Not much more than that. The breakfast room is small

The manager of the hotel was especially nice and helpful. I wish I had more to say about this place,but just want an honest review. But would I stay here again. Yes I would.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barne125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

The clean and comfortable room was a wonderful retreat after the days at my mother's retirement community. No need to bring your own pillow, the ones there were first class. The beds are comfortable and lots of absorbent towels. The breakfast in the lobby was varied and delicious and there were complimentary USA Today newspapers. It is called an inn because that is the franchise name ~it is a first class motel. It is family owned and managed and they take pride in their business. Call for your reservation - better deal than on internet brokers.

Room Tip: I liked an upstairs room. No noise from cars leaving early in the morning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tigerette59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2012

Our family of 4 (along with many other family members) stayed here for a weekend to celebrate my great grandmothers 100th birthday. It is a motel, but nice all the same. The people at the front desk were friendly and helpful, pool was clean (although small), and the rooms were fine. It's not a 5 star hotel, but a great deal for a good nights sleep. My only complaint is that the carpets could use a cleaning. Complimentary breakfast of waffles, cereal, pastries and yogurt was fresh and substantial enough to get one through to lunch. All in all a good deal

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Haskinsfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

First things first -- this is a MOTEL -- it is NOT and Inn nor hotel. How on earth Choice Hotels would give it the Quality Inn label is beyond me. I admit that I should have read these Tripadvisor ratings closer to realize that.
As in any standard motel, there is a small, separate building where you check-in. In that small building, they do serve a few danish, etc., in the morning (with 2 small tables to sit at) but that off itself does not make it an "Inn"! ALL rooms are outside entrances. The exterior appears run-down. There is a second floor (which I stayed on) but just a concrete and steel (exterior) stair to get to those rooms. The room itself is decent as long as you go in realizing you are staying at an older motel. On the bright side, t has been well kept and appeared clean. As a standard motel, though, just a standard old 19 inch tube tv (no flat screens here), and of course just an area by the sink to hang a few clothes (no closet or wardrobe).
The person at checkin and checkout was very nice. All in all, I would have rated this higher if it was designated as a MOTEL so I could rate it as such. But, I am rating this as a "Quality Inn", which it definitely is not. I usually look for Inns or hotels -- those with lobbys and inside room entrances. Guess you can't trust a name anymore.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Jon&Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monrovia hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
2.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
2.1 mi away
Oak Tree Inn
Oak Tree Inn
#4 of 7 in Monrovia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Arcadia/Pasadena Area
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn Near City of Hope? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn Near City of Hope

Property: Quality Inn Near City of Hope
Address: 1125 E Huntington Dr, Monrovia, CA 91016-3717
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn Near City of Hope 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn Near City of Hope reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Monrovia
Monrovia Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing