We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice”
Review of Oak Tree Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oak Tree Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Reviewed 29 May 2013

On short notice, Oak Tree management allowed us to cancel one of two nights due to a family funeral. Room was spacious, very nicely furnished, carpeted, granite sink top, big coffee pot, nice frig and clean. The shower was a little difficult to work but it did. Nice private pool. Located next to Claim Jumper & Red Lobster & Interstate - it's convenient. Overall a much better deal than the pricier Motel 6 at Hotel Circle by San Diego.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Martha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2013

We booked this hotel through the online traveling sight kayak.com.

When we arrived, the room was not at all as promised. It was dirty, blood on the carpet, bed spreads stained and really gross people working there. As soon as I saw the room I called kayak for a refund and a room reassignment. Not only did they not refund my money, they would not help me find another option for my stay.

Then the hotel would not refund my money. We left and stayed at the marriott down the street.

It was the worst hotel experience I've ever had.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jandu111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakTreeMgmt, Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2013

Dear jandu111,

Thank you for your review!

We apologize for all the trouble during your stay. We can understand how you were when you arrived and the room is not what it was promised. It was a hassle and more importantly you guys arrived at night time.

We would love to cancel the reservations for our guests, but for online reservation it works differently. If guest would like to cancel their reservation, they would need to cancel directly through them (online reservation agency) which you did. The very next day the management had been trying to give you a call, but somehow we couldn't reach you. Once we got a call from Kayak regards to this issue, we went and process the full refund for you.

Every room here at the hotel is clean and fresh. Every single part of the room have been gone through a deep clean, and also we have professionals come in to wash carpet on a regular basis. In fact, we are in the middle of renovation that includes replacing the carpets in the rooms.

Because your satisfaction is very important for us, we welcome your feedback and would like to speak with you directly. Please feel free to contact the hotel direct at 626-358-8981 and ask for the manager.

Once again thank you for your review.

Sincerely,

Management Team
Oak Tree Inn
Monrovia/Arcadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I stayed for one night in the middle of the week. I checked in late and the front staff was just OK. Not nice but not rude. Did not tell me about the breakfast or the swimming pool. My room was 204. Everything was worn and needs an update except carpet was new. They had plastic covering the mattress so every time you moved it made noise. Room did not feel clean and did not like the little ketchup size shampoo they had where you tore it open for one time use and they had no conditoner. I use a CPAP machine at night. Found plug by bed and plugged it in. Throughout the night my machine kept turning off and then back on. I thought it was my machine until I came home and used it and it was fine. Also noticed alarm clock was plugged in over by TV instead of by the bed and now I know why. Would not stay here again and would not recommend this hotel either, pay a little more for a better hotel. In the end it is worth it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveMauitoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2013

Stayed 6 nights checking in Feb 6th. Room was ready about 20 minutes after arriving as we got there before 1:00pm. Our room was large and clean, but all furniture very worn and outdated. The staff were pleasant and helpful and gave us Clubhouse passes to Santa Anita for Saturday and Sunday. Restaurants are close by and easy access to the 210 to get around LA. Rooms are inexpensive and we would stay there again. If you want luxury then be prepared to pay for it in LA.

Room Tip: The rooms on the very end seem to be the largest. Also, you may get a cheaper rate calling direct in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gramgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2013

Checked in late on a Wednesday night, had no problems. Front desk said internet line was down, but I tried to sign on I DID get on, that was a bonus. Beds are very comfy!!! Breakfast was really good the first day! However, the next, the coffee pot wasn't there and the donut I grabbed must have been day old and tossed it after one bite. Lots of good restaurants to choose from in the area. Great walk to the racetrack on a beautiful day. Only thing I was surprised not to see in the room for $74-$79 bucks a night was a iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darren g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakTreeMgmt, Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear darren g,

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad that you had a good experience at the Oak Tree Inn and found our location and amenities to be a plus. We took a note for your input about the iron and ironing board. We hope we can add this to every room, right now we have them in the front desk which guest can make a request.

Once again, thank you for choosing our hotel as your destination. Please call the hotel direct at (626) 358-8981 if you need any assistance with reservation.

Sincerely,
Management Team
Oak Tree Inn
Monrovia/Arcadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I was part of a grup of 14 that stayed for two nights to visit Huntington Gardens. We all agreed the hotel is well-located, clean, and has a professional front desk staff. It is a basic hotel with a good continental breakfast of coffee, juice, donuts, muffins, croissants and fruit. It is not the Ritz, but a good place to stay for the money.

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank GardeningBabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakTreeMgmt, Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear GardeningBabe,

Thank you for your positive feedback. We are happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay and liked our breakfast. What you said is why our guests chose to stay with us because of our clean room, location and most importantly our friendly service.

We hope to see you guys back again soon. Please call the hotel direct at (626) 358-8981 for your future reservation. We're sure that there's a lot more to explore around here. Thank you once again.

Sincerely,

Management Team
Oak Tree Inn
Monrovia/Arcadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

This hotel's photo doesn't do justice to it. The motel is generally well maintained, well kept on the exterior and has the same features as many chains. Our room, 309, was a king bed with a microwave, small frig, table, coffee maker and desk plus a small couch (probably a twin hide-a-bed). The couch had definitely seen better days but everything else in the room was just fine. The room was even somewhat spacious. A small breakfast is offered 6-9am in the lobby - coffee, orange juice, some cereal, packaged pastries, and fresh fruit. No waffles or pancakes, etc. but it is a breakfast if you want something.
The entire motel backs right up to I-210. Despite the nearness, our room's dual pane windows made the road noise very muffled. Our room had windows the entire width of the room. I am not sure other rooms have the same because they had a window by the entry door and ours did not.
The only negative is that the room did not have a suitcase stand and we had to put our suitcases either on the floor or the table.
There is plenty of parking, a small pool and quite a few restaurants nearby including a Red Lobster, Claim Jumper and several other well known hotels. This is not a bad neighborhood. Freeway access is very easy. We would have no problems staying here again if we were visiting the area. We stayed here to attend the Rose Parade and Rose Bowl which were about ten minutes down the freeway.

Room Tip: Ask if the center rooms like #309 are different from the other rooms and judge if road noise might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank janiewall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OakTreeMgmt, Manager at Oak Tree Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

Dear janiewall,

Thank you for your excellent and informative feedback! And, more importantly thank you for the lovely pictures you have upload. Yes, the hotel is indeed well-located. Within walking distance, you'll be able to find any kinds of cuisine. The room that you stayed in RM309 is what we called the Deluxe King, the layout is different and more spacious than the other type of rooms. We are sorry for the missing suitcase rack in the room and apologize that you had to put your suitcase on the floor. On the plus side, we are currently updating some of our furniture.

We hope you enjoyed the Rose Parade and Rose Bowl this year. If you do have a plan to visit the area and need room accommodation please do not hesitate to contact the hotel direct at (626) 358-8981 for reservation.

Thank you,
Sincerely,

Management Team
Oak Tree Inn
Monrovia/Arcadia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monrovia
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Monrovia
0.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Monrovia - Pasadena Area
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Los Angeles/Arcadia/Pasadena
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Near City of Hope
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Los Angeles Pasadena/Monrovia
0.4 mi away
Extended Stay America - Los Angeles - Arcadia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oak Tree Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oak Tree Inn

Address: 788 West Huntington Drive, Monrovia, CA 91016
Region: United States > California > Monrovia
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Monrovia
Price Range: £65 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Oak Tree Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Oak Tree Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oak Tree Hotel Monrovia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing