We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Celebrations”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Goose and Turrets
Ranked #1 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 April 2012

A lovely stay with Emily and Raymond to celebrate 10th anniversary and birthday! Raymond's love of cooking is apparent with gourmet afternoon tea and marvelous breakfasts (truly 4 course). Conversation was stimulating and interesting with afternoon tea and breakfast. Our room was comfortable and cozy, and the owners have so many interesting items on display that you can spend quite a bit of time just browsing around. We'll definitely consider staying here on a future trip!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lewis444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maggiejake, Owner at The Goose and Turrets, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2012

Thank you for the kind words; we enjoyed having you here and sharing a birthday. Next time, I'll find some Bruckner CDs.
Emily

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for The Goose and Turrets
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2011

Afternoon tea was great with wonderful conversations with Raymond, The breakfasts were out of this world - most excellent. During our 4 day stay Raymond & Emily helped us plan our day with great advice, books and road maps. The only concern was that the bedrooms are not very soundproof. It would be a great add on if there was coffee/tea avialable later in the evening.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clabbyroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2011

Our group of friends (five couples) took the whole Goose & Turrets for a Saturday night. It's 3/4 of a mile inland from the Montara Beach, a few miles north of Half Moon Bay and Moss Beach, in a nice neighborhood. The B&B has five highly stylized rooms, all comfortable and interesting, at prices that are generally below the competition, with individual room prices reasonably set to size and value, all with private bath. Afternoon tea was great, breakfast was four courses and quite good, hostess asked us for any food aversions before we arrived. Service overall was excellent, common areas and grounds most charming, and it worked well for our gathering. Only slight negative: hosts were somewhat inflexible in ways, but they have that right, and while they were traveling, we had some communication difficulties that did eventually get resolved.

Room Tip: Hummingbird is quite large for $190, Lascaux has the only bed smaller than a queen, Clipper has priv...
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ArnieDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

I'm only now getting around to writing a review for the Goose and Turrets now, though we visited two years ago, for our tenth wedding anniversary. My wife and I loved the place, and we loved our hosts too. We had tea with Emily and Raymond and enjoyed talking about books, travel, food and their adventures in small plane piloting. The old house is really charming and the breakfasts were delicious. Trust their recommendations for local restaurants. We look forward to visiting again sometime soon (hopefully!).

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DDandAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2010

Emily and Raymond are attentive without hovering. Breakfast was served at a leisurely pace with menus each morning that were fresh and prepared and served elegantly. During the days we enjoyed hiking, walks on the beach, and touring the coast. Next time we plan to play on the Bocce court at the B&B. The bed was so comfortable with luxurious linens.
Thank you for the great food, hospitality, and friendship. Our stay was delightful.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethesdaMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

We stayed at the G&T for two days. It was a good base for our explorations of the area. Having read other reviews on this site, I thought I would add my opinion:

Don't expect high-end luxury. This is a homey place, on a back street (no highway traffic noise), full of memorabilia from the hosts' very interesting lives. Yes, it's like visiting the grandparents, but only if yours were world travelers, private pilots, raconteurs and cooked a great breakfast. Raymond and Emily were very helpful with restaurant recommendations and advice about local attractions. They have an extensive library of maps and guides to help.

The only off-note I will sound is that it's fairly easy to hear your neighbors in the next rooms. Our neighbors were not wildly noisy, but ordinary noise seems to travel through the walls.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandFF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

If you enjoy peace and quiet off the beaten path the Goose and Turrets is for you. The building is a former post office that has been through several transformations, including a Civil War Veterans Retirement Home. I love visiting quaint buildings in small, historic places. I am an artist so I particularly enjoy painting in the gardens and adjacent lanes, with multitudes of seasonal blooms. The owners are world travelers and their collections of books, art, and memorabilia abound in the common area, giving it the feel of a small Smithsonian room in which you ARE allowed to touch. Their afternoon teas complete with companionable conversation and multi-course breakfast parties at which strangers become friends make guests feel like family. This is a very unique B&B experiience, and if you are lucky, during your stay one of the old veterans may even make an appearance to welcome.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
4.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
261 reviews
3.1 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
941 reviews
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Lighthouse Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
8.5 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
574 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Goose and Turrets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Goose and Turrets

Address: 835 George St., POB 370937, Montara, CA 94037-0937
Region: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range: £158 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Goose and Turrets 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goose & Turrets is an old-fashioned B&B where you are pampered with comfortable beds and generous four-course breakfasts. There is also an afternoon tea of freshly brewed teas from around the world accompanied by savouries and sweets - in a setting of lively conversation. The house was built in 1907 as a grocery, post office, and town hall. After its long and checkered history, the Hoche-Mongs converted it into a bed and breakfast in 1983 and have been welcoming happy guests ever since. It sits in an acre of gardens which contains an Appalachian courting swing, two hammocks, and a bocce ball pitch. Montara Beach is a half-mile walk away as is a terrific Peruvian restaurant with a huge view. Nearby one may fish, kayak, go whale watching, aero-sightseeing, beach combing, hiking, biking, antiquing, shopping in quaint stores at Princeton Harbor and in Half Moon Bay, explore Montara Mountain or go down the coast to Pescadero's famous restaurant and market or continue to Año Nuevo to encounter mammoth elephant seals. On a foggy day, you may choose to just sit by the fire and read and listen to classical music. It's a good place for adventure and for complete lethargy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Goose and Turrets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing