We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You really made my holiday!!”
Review of Ocean View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean View Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 October 2011

Dear Dee Patel,
dear Nemu & Karina,

I'm already back to Austria and my holiday is over. BUT for my whole holiday in California your Ocean View Inn was the best! This has especially a lot to do with your personal effort! Thank you so much once again for everything. It was a pity and I really regret that I couldn't stay longer than for one night.
I'll definitely come back to you again due to the lovely and nicely arranged accomodation and most of all to see and meet you again! Thank you!!!

Wish you all the best and best regards from Vienna, Christian F.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

My new wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely bed and breakfast while on our honeymoon mid September. We were treated with great respect and felt like royalty when we viewed our room for the first time. We had great vaulted ceilings, very comfy bed, and a large deck/patio with a ocean view. Definitely eat at the restaurant next store, its amazing. We had the most delicious pizza ever, all fresh and hand made right in front of us. Only a few miles away from Half moon bays charming Main street. The husband and wife running it were very kind and warm. A hot breakfast and coffee was also provided via complementary room service. Would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return in the near future.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Even with some of the renovations already completed, this place is still a dive motel, not a Bed and Breakfast (even though it is listed as one on several websites). They do serve you breakfast, but no amount of remodeling (and there is still a LOT that needs to be done) is going to turn this into a quiet place to get away. The staff was pleasant, so I feel bad I can't give anything but a very negative review.

Our initial room had not been remodeled and was falling apart. We asked for a different room (and they moved us immediately), and while the new room had some updates, there was still some peeling wallpaper, water stains, broken drapes, a funny smell and obvious patch jobs. The windows and sliding doors to the dilapidated deck are old and thin, and the only way to drown out the highway noise was to leave the room AC unit blowing all night. The mattress was uncomfortably hard.

Breakfast (eggs, bacon, fruit, potatoes, toast, OJ) was decent but nothing remarkable.

For HALF the price we paid, if the remodel was complete, I could imagine calling this a cheap, quirky place to stay the night on a road trip, but at the price we paid, it was a very poor value.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PoorArtists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We booked our room in advance-which was a mistake considering there were no reviews for the new owners. While the inn has potential, they should not rent the rooms until they have been remodeled. It felt dirty. If nothing else, replace the filthy shower curtain, curtains, bedspreads, etc. before renting. The caretakers/owners were very nice, but that does not make up for the horrible condition of the rooms. We would not stay there again. Also, the locks are not secure enough. The sliding glass door could be accessed easily and the front door to the inn was never locked. Had we not paid in advance, we would have left. My husband would not even bring his luggage in-he left it in the car. Wait until the inn is remodeled and then check it out before you pay.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank qui222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I didn't actually stay here, although I did book a room and pay a deposit. When I arrived, my room had been given to someone else. I was running late getting there. I phoned ahead at 9pm. I was assured by a sweet young man named Travis that my room was waiting for me. I arrived at the Inn at 10 pm. When I arrived with my reservation paperwork, Travis seemed genuinely mortified that he had mistakenly given my room to another woman who showed up within that hour. He thought she was me. The young woman Inn Keeper immediately found rooms available in the area but for over double the cost. I opted to drive back to the bay area to stay with a brother. I showed the Inn Keepers my paper work. I had paid a 10% deposit on the room. She offered to tell the booking agency that I did not show up, which I pointed out wasn't the truth because I was standing in front of them. They were very sweet people, but, I wasn't helped out in any way. It wrecked my weekend at the coast and no one has offered any kind of restitution.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank GreenQueenColleen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanViewInn, Manager at Ocean View Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2011

The management of the Ocean View Inn is extremely sorry for the confusion that took place that evening. We have definitely taken this problem seriously and have worked out the bugs in the communication error. Once again the Ocean View Inn offers our deepest apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank iPhone89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MucAntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
264 reviews
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Pacifica
299 reviews
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#2 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
0.6 mi away
The Goose and Turrets
The Goose and Turrets
#1 of 2 in Montara
58 reviews
0.5 mi away
HI-Point Montara Lighthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Region: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range: £214 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its contemporary coastal-inspired decor, specious suites & penthouses with all the comforts of home. All of the inns nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary WiFi, premium channel lineup with 42" HD flatscreens, free parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery. Walk to the Montara State Beach and watch the sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing