We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bed, no breakfast” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean View Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ocean View Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Montara B&B and Inns
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bed, no breakfast”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2012

OK, I didn't expect the Ritz. I didn't even count on an ocean view. But I did count on Ocean View delivering on what was promised: bed and breakfast. When we arrived, however, the owner told us that the cafe next store that usually serves breakfast had had a gas leak. We assumed some other provision would be made. The room was OK. There was no view. The bed was OK. The problems started the next morning when I tried to take a shower: There was no hot water. (My husband, who is heartier than I, took a lukewarm shower.) Disgruntled, we packed, headed downstairs, wondering about breakfast. There was none to be had. The cafe was indeed closed. There was no coupon for another cafe.There was no offered discount on our room rate. There was no apology. There was not even a cup of coffee. And what of the so-called breakfast? It was a smattering of the cheapest individually packaged coffee cakes and a container of some kind of orange drink (not juice). Now that I read this, I wonder why we didn't say anything to the woman at the desk about the hot water or the breakfast. At the time, however, Ocean View's message seemed clear: Tough luck.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JB2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    12
    8
    8
    17
See reviews for
10
30
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

I was there for one day, on my way driving up to San Francisco and was looking for a place to relax before entering the city itself. I certainly found it. The views are great, the room was much bigger and better equipped than I expected, the location is awesome! You can see the ocean from almost every room in this hotel, but if you like the sea like I do, just cross the road and sit on a rock, observing sunset... The breakfast next morning was very delicious too! :)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elijah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

We where looking to stay some place different than your run of the mill hotel and we found it. We checked in around 8 and the friendly gentalmen at the front gave us a tour of the property and told us about all the history. This place really turned our night around because we blew out our tire on the way here and wasn't in a good mood. I'm writing this review from the room incredibly hung over but I just got back from eating their breakfast which is made to order we had eggs bacon hash browns toast and milk. Which worked wonders on my hangover. And you cant forget that every room has a jacuzzi tub. I highly recommend staying here if you get a chance.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiley4505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2011

Dear Dee Patel,
dear Nemu & Karina,

I'm already back to Austria and my holiday is over. BUT for my whole holiday in California your Ocean View Inn was the best! This has especially a lot to do with your personal effort! Thank you so much once again for everything. It was a pity and I really regret that I couldn't stay longer than for one night.
I'll definitely come back to you again due to the lovely and nicely arranged accomodation and most of all to see and meet you again! Thank you!!!

Wish you all the best and best regards from Vienna, Christian F.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Hollywood, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2011

My new wife and I had the pleasure of staying at this lovely bed and breakfast while on our honeymoon mid September. We were treated with great respect and felt like royalty when we viewed our room for the first time. We had great vaulted ceilings, very comfy bed, and a large deck/patio with a ocean view. Definitely eat at the restaurant next store, its amazing. We had the most delicious pizza ever, all fresh and hand made right in front of us. Only a few miles away from Half moon bays charming Main street. The husband and wife running it were very kind and warm. A hot breakfast and coffee was also provided via complementary room service. Would highly recommend this hotel and look forward to a return in the near future.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

Even with some of the renovations already completed, this place is still a dive motel, not a Bed and Breakfast (even though it is listed as one on several websites). They do serve you breakfast, but no amount of remodeling (and there is still a LOT that needs to be done) is going to turn this into a quiet place to get away. The staff was pleasant, so I feel bad I can't give anything but a very negative review.

Our initial room had not been remodeled and was falling apart. We asked for a different room (and they moved us immediately), and while the new room had some updates, there was still some peeling wallpaper, water stains, broken drapes, a funny smell and obvious patch jobs. The windows and sliding doors to the dilapidated deck are old and thin, and the only way to drown out the highway noise was to leave the room AC unit blowing all night. The mattress was uncomfortably hard.

Breakfast (eggs, bacon, fruit, potatoes, toast, OJ) was decent but nothing remarkable.

For HALF the price we paid, if the remodel was complete, I could imagine calling this a cheap, quirky place to stay the night on a road trip, but at the price we paid, it was a very poor value.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PoorArtists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Montara hotels

florence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2011

We booked our room in advance-which was a mistake considering there were no reviews for the new owners. While the inn has potential, they should not rent the rooms until they have been remodeled. It felt dirty. If nothing else, replace the filthy shower curtain, curtains, bedspreads, etc. before renting. The caretakers/owners were very nice, but that does not make up for the horrible condition of the rooms. We would not stay there again. Also, the locks are not secure enough. The sliding glass door could be accessed easily and the front door to the inn was never locked. Had we not paid in advance, we would have left. My husband would not even bring his luggage in-he left it in the car. Wait until the inn is remodeled and then check it out before you pay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank qui222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montara
3.6 mi away
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
Beach House at Half Moon Bay
#1 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
3.1 mi away
Oceano Hotel & Spa Half Moon Bay
4.1 mi away
Pacifica Beach Hotel
Pacifica Beach Hotel
#4 of 6 in Pacifica
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Lighthouse Hotel
4.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
Comfort Inn Half Moon Bay
#5 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
8.9 mi away
Half Moon Bay Lodge
Half Moon Bay Lodge
#3 of 8 in Half Moon Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean View Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean View Inn

Property: Ocean View Inn
Address: 8425 Cabrillo Highway, Montara, CA 94037 (Formerly Farallone Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Montara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Montara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean View Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly situated 20 minutes south of San Francisco between Half Moon Bay and Pacifica on California's beautiful Pacific Coast. Originally built as the first mansion & residence in what then was called Farallon City, our historic property still echoes its turn-of-the-century heritage with its contemporary coastal-inspired decor, specious suites & penthouses with all the comforts of home. All of the inns nine rooms have large shared or private sundecks with ensuite bathrooms. Complimentary WiFi, premium channel lineup with 42" HD flatscreens, free parking and a mouthwatering continental breakfast hosted by Montara Cafe & Bakery. Walk to the Montara State Beach and watch the sunsets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean View Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing