We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a great time.”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monte Rio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Northwood Lodge & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Rio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We had a great time.”
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Not necessarily a resort -- hooray! Nice, quiet, friendly, and clean. Good golf, not so good (not so bad) restaurant. Eat there if not in a hurry. We were looking for a weekend away and this was perfect. Redwoods are beautiful. We had seen bad reviews on other sites and were worried. None of them fit our experience. If you want simple and comfortable this place is the one to choose.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ajalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    11
    8
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California California, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2010

We stumbled into this little lodge, and were pleasantly surprised! A sweet little campus surrounded by redwoods! We soaked up the quiet, used the great wi-fi connection, and happily went on our way the following morning!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neverfaithless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

This place is super clean and when me and my partner stayed there - super quiet. Pool was very nice along with the staff. It is right by the golf course, a restaurant and a coffee shop.
The room was quaint, with a spa tub and good air conditioning/heat.
It is perfect for a quiet getaway, especially if you want to go join the party scene in Guernville, but just don't want to sleep around it.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank catstevansdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, California
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

This older property is well-maintained, with lovely gardens and pool, and a very accommodating manager. The clientele appears to be mainly retirees and foreign tourists, so it was very quiet when we were there.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank producewagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granite Bay, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2008

My friend and I stayed at the Northwood Lodge on a late September weekend for a wedding in Monte Rio. All the lodging in Monte Rio was already booked. We were not unhappy with our choice; it was a good value, as we were not spending much time at our lodging.

The place is actually much more attractive in real life than in the website photos...at the foot of towering redwoods, with well kept grounds and a very pleasant pool. Our room was clean, quiet, and smelled nice. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was new and well appointed. I was able to make tea in the morning (very important!)

It is a simple motel, and a good place to stay if you don't want to spend too much, and there are myriad things to do very nearby. The ocean is about 10 minutes away, and Monte Rio and Guerneville are full of charm.

  • Liked — simple accom for good value, quiet, comfortable, clean
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank livinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England, USA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

After a couple of nights at a 4-star hotel in San Francisco, we headed to the Russian River Valley for vineyards, biking, and hiking the redwood forest. As you enter Monte Rio, you are greeted by a sign exclaiming it to be a "vacation wonderland" teeming with "resorts." Don't expect luxurious spas and 5-star "resorts" like the Four Seasons -- this is truly an old fashioned "motel" type place, very much the kind of place our family would have stayed at when I was a kid. Nestled at the edge of a redwood grove, pool in the center with L-shaped, single-story motel looking out at the pool. Family works the office. Nice book of local restaurant menus in the office. Friendly people, but once you check in you won't see them again unless you need something. The rooms are not luxurious, but they are very clean and tidy. The bathroom looked new and was equally clean. Towels are changed daily, unlike the trend of the chains to conserve water and leave your towels unless you request a change. Restaurant next door doesn't open for breakfast until 10, so that was a curiosity ... why put a restaurant next door to a motel and then not offer breakfast at, say, 8:00 am? There is a bakery/coffee shop next door, though. There are a couple of local, homey restaurants for a full breakfast right down the road in Guerneville.

Northwood Lodge is very conveniently located to Russian River vineyards & wineries, the beach and spectacular Route 1 in the Jenner/Bodega area, hiking at Armstrong Woods redwood forest, bike rentals and tourist shopping in Healdsburg. Great vacation at the rustic Northwood Lodge!

  • Liked — Clean, comfortable, quiet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
4 Thank QQ2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
5.6 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
14.8 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
11.1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
10.2 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Rio Villa Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Monte Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Lodge & Resort

Property: Northwood Lodge & Resort
Address: 19455 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9716
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. Cottages located under the towering Redwoods include a master bedroom, living room, full kitchen, wet bar, fireplace, and deck. Scenic outdoor barbecue and picnic facilities located under a canopy on Redwoods. Adjacent to the prettiest nine-hole golf course in the area, restaurant, and coffee shop. Enjoy your stay in a unique and relaxing atmosphere by visiting the famous Russian River and beautiful Sonoma Coast, the tallest Redwoods in the world at Armstrong Redwood Park, and many fine Russian River Valley wineries. Minutes away from Guerneville, a variety of activities like canoeing, hiking and biking, and fine dining to make your stay more enjoyable. Our staff is always on hand to help make your stay a memorable one! Your great vacation getaway awaits you. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing