We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced, Outdated, and Average at the Best.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northwood Lodge & Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Rio
Pleasant Hill, California, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Overpriced, Outdated, and Average at the Best.”
Reviewed 19 July 2012

Mid week paid $150 a night. Maid enters without knocking. 20 year old tv's with no extras. Room clean and linen smell good. Pool only heated by solar, 65 degrees can't use. Will not stay if I had a choice. My girl and I are in the hotel business.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Giacomo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 17 August 2012
We regret that this guest did not have a pleasant stay at our resort. We appreciate this guest's feedback and will use it to better our rooms in the future.

There are, however, a few points that I would like to comment on.

July is peak season in the Russian River Resort area, so our rates are higher than they are during our slow season, as is with most if not all resorts in this area.

Our guests' privacy is very important to us. Our housekeeping staff does not enter rooms without knocking and asking for permission. Though, as a precaution, we have reminded our housekeeping staff to seek permission before entering our guests' rooms.

We thank this guest for the feedback regarding the televisions. We are in the process of upgrading our televisions to flat panels to enhance our guests' stay at our resort.

Our swimming pool is heated through solar panels. The sun was out the day this guest stayed with us, and we did have other guests that utilized the pool without any complaints, indicating that the pool was not only usable, but also at a comfortable temperature. In addition, our solar heating equipment is set to heat the pool to 78 degrees. All of our equipment has been checked and is functional.

Finally, the room that this guest chose had two double beds. This is our most basic room, without the additional extras that this guest anticipated. Our front desk staff tried its best to explain to the guest exactly what the room had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    11
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
8
15
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

We appreciate the warm greeting and excellent service from management.
The location is lovely, in the redwoods, quiet and cozy. The rooms and
furnishings are old fashioned but comfortable. The staff keeps the rooms
very clean. The pool area is nice. We like the larger room with
entrances on both sides. The rates are reasonable in comparison to
other places to stay in the very popular Russian River area.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2012

As others have commented this hotel is over priced and the only positive thing I can comment on were the flowers that are outside the room. I found it expensive for what was provided and I was not impressed by the service at reception.
I would not choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarryPy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NorthwoodLodge, General Manager at Northwood Lodge & Resort, responded to this review, 18 August 2012
We are sorry that this guest did not have a wonderful stay at our resort.

June is peak season in the Russian River area, and we try to keep our rates reasonable relative to other resorts. Given that this is a busy time during the year, our rates are higher than they are during our off-season, as is common with most other businesses in the area.

Our reception staff is knowledgeable and trained to give our guests the best service possible. I do not know why this guest did not find the service at reception to be impressive, since it is not indicated in his review.

Furthermore, this guest's concerns were not brought to our management staff's attention during any point in his stay, making it difficult to correct the situation. We are always open to feedback from our guests, so we can continue to make improvements to enhance the enjoyability of our guests' time with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

This is a nice little place, about 5 minutes outside of Guerneville. Very clean and very quiet rooms with flowers blooming everywhere. The only downside is it was a little overpriced but during this event, everything else is too. I would gladly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jeffrey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carson City, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We found this to be a pleasant place. Very clean & quiet. The grounds were beautiful and well kept. All in all we were pleased and would stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank murphynv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for two days over labor day. The nightly rate after taxes was about 174 dollars for a room with two double beds which is INSANE for what the room looked like. Obviously, there was an inflated rate for Labor Day but I just felt taken advantage of. It must have been one of the last rooms booked because I did notice that not every room was as small and miserable as ours looked. However, I wasn't staying in another room so I can't review a different room!
Anyway, our room was very, very small (it literally looked as if three feet had been cut length-ways) and the furniture was very old. The beds were quite soft, the shower was ancient and we didn't have a phone (which though I never use in most hotels, I actually needed here because none of our cell phones had ANY service whatsoever).
The upside was that the room was quiet and the ancient bathroom, beds and furniture were all very clean.
Basically, it felt like a Super 8 room (which I haven't stayed in since I was 22 because well, they aren't very nice) only it was two-three times the cost of a Super 8.
Basically, if you HAVE to stay somewhere (i.e. you are attending a wedding and all the good places are taken) or if you are staying mid-week and the prices are 60 dollars less a night, then it might be doable but I personally would not come back.

Room Tip: Room 15 is very small, ask for a room that's bigger than that one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank splianka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

Not necessarily a resort -- hooray! Nice, quiet, friendly, and clean. Good golf, not so good (not so bad) restaurant. Eat there if not in a hurry. We were looking for a weekend away and this was perfect. Redwoods are beautiful. We had seen bad reviews on other sites and were worried. None of them fit our experience. If you want simple and comfortable this place is the one to choose.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ajalmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
5.6 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
121 reviews
14.7 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
327 reviews
10.4 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,442 reviews
6.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn
Farmhouse Inn
#1 of 2 in Forestville
691 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#2 of 13 in Guerneville
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northwood Lodge & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northwood Lodge & Resort

Property: Northwood Lodge & Resort
Address: 19455 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9716
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. The Northwood Lodge and Resort is nestled among the towering Redwoods along the picturesque Russian River Valley Wine Country. All rooms and suites include air-conditioning, satellite TV; some include kitchenettes, spa tubs, and patio. Rooms are located across from the Olympic-size solar-heated swimming pool, surrounded by colorful flowerbeds and roses, and manicured lush lawn. Cottages located under the towering Redwoods include a master bedroom, living room, full kitchen, wet bar, fireplace, and deck. Scenic outdoor barbecue and picnic facilities located under a canopy on Redwoods. Adjacent to the prettiest nine-hole golf course in the area, restaurant, and coffee shop. Enjoy your stay in a unique and relaxing atmosphere by visiting the famous Russian River and beautiful Sonoma Coast, the tallest Redwoods in the world at Armstrong Redwood Park, and many fine Russian River Valley wineries. Minutes away from Guerneville, a variety of activities like canoeing, hiking and biking, and fine dining to make your stay more enjoyable. Our staff is always on hand to help make your stay a memorable one! Your great vacation getaway awaits you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Northwood Lodge & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing