We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy, Quaint, Accommodating” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River View Garden Resort

River View Garden Resort
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monte Rio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
River View Garden Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Comfy, Quaint, Accommodating”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

The owner, Jay, is incredibly nice. My boyfriend and I were complicated customers, because we didn't get to the resort til after midnight, and we wanted to hang around late the next day. Jay was incredibly accommodating. He coordinated the late arrival with us and let us chill next to the river for most of the next day.

The place itself is in a beautiful location, right on the river. There's also balconies overlooking the river, which are amazing viewpoints. It's clean and neat, but I wouldn't say it's ritzy. Definitely more of a really nice hostel vibe.

Room Tip: #17 has a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Wonderful beautiful scenery, the owners made us great breakfasts and made sure we were very comfortable. Rooms were very charming and bed was comfortable. Nice little decks off each room with view of the Russian,. Would most definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2012

RVGR is a lovely little place right on the Russian River. It's not particularly high end, so it may not be a good choice for someone looking more for the quaint B&B type place or more elegant. However, the room in which we stayed had a queen bed and futon, so it slept two of us in separate beds quite comfortably. There is a small kitchen, which was great for making breakfast. Jay, the proprietor, is a charming and helpful host with a lovely attitude. I had been desperate to find a place without a two-night minimum with two separate beds, and this place fit the bill perfectly. Everything was quite clean. I'd stay there again. The bathroom was small, but the tranquility and friendliness made me give it an excellent rating.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank artemis1858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

We traveled from San Diego to Bodega Bay, planning a canoe trip on the Russian River. We booked a room in Bodega Bay where we did stay a couple of days until we found Jay at the River View in Monte Rio. Although we did not have reservations, Jay showed us two options, with all rooms facing the peaceful gardens and quiet river. Our room, with a very tiny bathroom, was otherwise spacious, clean and included a sitting room, kitchen, bedroom and amazing deck. We were able to cross to the other side of the river to a wonderful restaurant/inn and a couple of grocery stores. It was a wonderful stay, close to the canoe rental. Not a lot to do in Monte Rio, but easy drives to wineries, and bigger cities. An amazing find! We will be back! Thanks Jay!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KARYNLS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2010

My husband and I went to the Russian River for a canoeing weekend. After a bumper to bumper trip on 101 we arrived to find at River View lush gardens abundant with gorgeous flowers and a huge rolling lawn towards the river where we put in our canoe. We had our own private deck overlooking the river where we drank wine and enjoyed dinner. I believe I could have simply sat on our deck day and evening watching the peaceful beauty of the river flow. The manager of River View is extremely attentive, humerous, hospitable and generous. I hope we return again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JubiladosMagnificos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
0.2 mi away
Monte Rio Vacation Cottages
0.1 mi away
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Rio Villa Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Monte Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.2 mi away
Village Inn & Restaurant
Village Inn & Restaurant
#3 of 5 in Monte Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Inn at Occidental
Inn at Occidental
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
2.3 mi away
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
West Sonoma Inn & Spa
#7 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Applewood Inn
Applewood Inn
#3 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Garden Resort

Property: River View Garden Resort
Address: 20250 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9746
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing