We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Grounds”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Nice Grounds”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2012

This motel is located right on the bank of the Russian River, with nice grounds and beautiful view. They have rooms of different sizes, but all rooms are well outdated. Breakfast is very light, so you need to bring something with you if you want to survive till lunch. The owners are helpful (if you ask), but it seems they do not really care about the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    30
    10
    1
    4
See reviews for
24
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2012

Ron has the best place on the Russian River for a get-away. Whether you are single, a couple, a family or extended family, you'll find a clean and cozy place to stay at the Rio Villa Resort. Set right on the river, with easy access,it has a nice lawn and great outdoor patio with fireplace and grills for cooking your catch. No mildewy, dank or sketchy accomodation here. Grab a coffee or tea and enjoy breakfast "continentally"on the patio before you head off exploring the river, the redwoods or nearby coastal cities of Bodega Bay and Jenner. It's located right next to the public beach in Monte Rio where you can rent canoe's, kayaks and tubes to enjoy a river ride. Our family of 4 had a great 3 days based here. Thanks for the hospitality Ron!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famS95125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great Place, Excellent location right on the river and just a few steps to the bridge where you can rent Kayaks Canoes and Tubes for a small fee. Ron is a very attentive host and has done a great job making sure all the guests have what they need during their stay. A few large grills for b&q's in the evening, heaters around the patio. Lots of light, very nicely done simple, but plentiful breakfasts. Very safe area. A few steps away are 2 small markets for lunch or snacks..

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

My family (mother, sister, two sons, dtr in law and myself) stayed at this lovely little gem for two nights. We rented two units: a one room with a futon in the living area, and a two bedroom villa. When we pulled in, we were so pleasantly pleased. The pictures on the website don't do it justice. Ron, the owner/innkeeper greeted us, and was so cheerful and accommodating. He remembered our names throughout the entire stay. The rooms were clean, and had all amenities we needed. Remember, it is a quaint little town on the river, so it was just that, a quaint little cottage room. The walls were thin, but we were adjacent to my sons, which was fine. The grounds are so nice and lead right down to the river, with several canoes and kayakers floating by. The swing to sit and watch was so inviting, we sat for an hour just watching people. There is a back patio with an outdoor fireplace as well, all which overlook the river. The continental breakfast consisted of cereal, oatmeal, breads, bagels, coffee, juice, and milk. Everything you need to start your day. The first night, my mother became ill, and we had to take her to the emergency room. Ron and Bruce were very helpful with information to the local hospital, which was just 30 min away. All in all, we loved Ron, with his very bubbly personality, and were pleasantly surprised and pleased with this little gem.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fallbrook, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2012

Although the resort is very close to the road and there is road noise, it's not so bad that you can't relax and sleep comfortably. Recommend to stay in rooms that view out over the river. Rooms were dated but clean. Owners offered beach towels when he saw we were going to river; nice extra. The grounds are beautiful. Very close to beach area with river rentals. Highly recommend canoeing or kayaking from this area to Guerneville. Pretty close to lots of wineries; go across street to Sophie's Cellar for good winery recommendations from owner; he's a local wine expert. (Try Iron Horse and DeLoach.) Cell phone/internet service available: best closer to river. Very few places to eat in town.

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indian Trail, North Carolina
Level Contributor
130 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

Quaint resort, riverfront property. Absolutely, no smoking and best of all had rooms that were Non-Pet friendly, which is hard to find. Clean and with all the amenities that you would need. Room had a river view, small well furnished kitchen, fireplace and continental breakfast. Very cozy. Property has grounds outside where you can sit and enjoy the river view. Property owner personable and conscientious. Breakfast area small but gave us a chance to visit with other guests in a comfortable setting. This is in a very small town and is what you expect to find.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Home-By9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Booked earlier this month for two nights. The property is located steps from a busy River Road (seems like the average River cars don't have mufflers) and is at the Occidental/Jenner Junction. The room we stayed in did not have a flat screen tv nor was it filthy like the other reviewer stated. The rooms do need updating though. Possible a safe would be nice plus a larger water heater as we ran out of hot water for our shower in the early evening after a day on the beach. The room did not have a place to sit other than the bed although it did have seats outside. It would have been nice if they had cushions. The bathroom was very small and turning around in the shower was difficult. The resort does have wifi, a nice continental breakfast and beautiful grounds. Easy access for a dip in the river. Beach down the street within walking distance. If you're a light sleeper bring earplugs as you do hear road noise. Fan in the room but no air. Yes, Ron was mostly helpful. And, most will need a car to get to restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WorldTraveler1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
10.5 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 475 reviews
15.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Inn & Restaurant
Village Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Monte Rio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#1 of 1 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Villa Beach Resort

Property: Rio Villa Beach Resort
Address: 20292 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Villa Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Russian River in West Sonoma's Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rio Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing