We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful and welcoming. Outstanding in every way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rio Villa Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Monte Rio B&B and Inns
london
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Restful and welcoming. Outstanding in every way!”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Prior to our visit to San Francisco, and to unwind from 2 weeks and 1500 miles of driving, I booked 3 nights here having researched for suitable accommodation on the Internet. We had originally planned to stay in the Napa Valley but my partner had heard of this gay enclave - Russian River - so we thought we would support a local gay area.

We did manage to get hopelessly lost between the town of Guerneville and the resort (a distance of 3 miles!) thanks, he says, to a mad woman giving us GPS directions and sending us up various mountain lanes - most of which were dead-ends! I know we should have followed the owner's emailed directions. Hey Ho!

On first seeing the resort, which is basically a 'pull-off' area of the road, with space for a dozen cars, we were not sure if we had made the right choice.

However, we were very warmly welcomed by co-owner Ron. A gregarious, funny, helpful, knowledgeable man who really made our stay 'extra special'. We only met his partner (Bruce) for a few minutes.

We were given room 7 that was well appointed - light and airy and a balcony overlooking the large garden with beautiful views down to the river. It was also very quiet - thankfully.

The resort is in the centre of a Red Cedar paradise and this lent an unbelievable atmosphere and aroma to the area. Superb.

Breakfast could be taken in the room, the garden or the reception area. We opted for the latter and were entertained by Ron, regaling us with his stories of the 'Lazy Bear' weekends and also gave us lots of ideas for visits.

Rio Villa Resort is ideally located for some dramatic sight-seeing - the coast, the Redwood forests and, of course the vineyards and wine-tasting tours.

Ron and Bruce have built up a lovely relaxing holiday centre that we would recommend again and again and will almost certainly be back - especially for Lazy Bear or Folsom!

They certainly know the meaning of 'Good Customer Service'.

Good luck guys - and thanks a million.

Stephen and Paul.

Room Tip: We opted for a Deluxe Balcony room - 7. A good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonWeary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    30
    11
    1
    4
See reviews for
26
29
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeport, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

We left with feelings of contentment with the room, the garden area and the general peacefulness of the resort. Ron and Bruce are great hosts and make the experience just that more wonderful and personal. We are definitely looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusieandWanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013

I loved this little inn and would give it a "5" but for the bathroom. It was so tiny. My six foot husband could not shower without bending way low to get his head under the water and when he did his backside hit the back of the shower. He is not a large man, other than his height, so this was awkward and uncomfortable. The toilet was no better. He had to sit sideways in order to fit on the seat, otherwise his knees rammed into the wall. I had to do the same and I'm 5' 4". The bathroom was the only downside. The hosts were phenomenal, very oriented to customer service and went out of their way to provide a nice stay. The bed was comfortable and the other amenities in the room were nice. The free wi-fi was much appreciated. Heck, you don't get that in the big hotels! Loved the serene setting along the Russian River. Couldn't have asked for a prettier location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the meadow and river. Beautiful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffree I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2012

Took a trip with my sisters and 89 year old mother. Rio Villa was a great spot for our evening. We loved the grounds, loved the patio with table off our room and overlooking the river. Loved the fireplace where we met lovely teachers from SF and shared some of their port. Loved Bob. It was a great experience in every way!

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank wccarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocklin, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

My wife and I stayed here 26-29 October 2012. Ron, the owner, greeted us pleasantly and sorted out the paperwork with the minimum of fuss. The rooms are quaint (as is much of Monte Rio), but very comfortable and exceptionally clean. We had a mini-kitchen which was nice, and a view over the gardens. The gardens and river frontage, particularly this late in the season, were peaceful and relaxing - just what we were looking for. I tried fishing the river (without success!).
All in all, a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: We had the deluxe room with the Jacuzzi bath - well worth a little extra!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spellbinderguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012

This motel is located right on the bank of the Russian River, with nice grounds and beautiful view. They have rooms of different sizes, but all rooms are well outdated. Breakfast is very light, so you need to bring something with you if you want to survive till lunch. The owners are helpful (if you ask), but it seems they do not really care about the comfort of their guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Igor U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Ron has the best place on the Russian River for a get-away. Whether you are single, a couple, a family or extended family, you'll find a clean and cozy place to stay at the Rio Villa Resort. Set right on the river, with easy access,it has a nice lawn and great outdoor patio with fireplace and grills for cooking your catch. No mildewy, dank or sketchy accomodation here. Grab a coffee or tea and enjoy breakfast "continentally"on the patio before you head off exploring the river, the redwoods or nearby coastal cities of Bodega Bay and Jenner. It's located right next to the public beach in Monte Rio where you can rent canoe's, kayaks and tubes to enjoy a river ride. Our family of 4 had a great 3 days based here. Thanks for the hospitality Ron!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank famS95125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monte Rio
10.5 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,378 reviews
15.3 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
102 reviews
9.7 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
119 reviews
3.5 mi away
Cottages on River Road
Cottages on River Road
#1 of 13 in Guerneville
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Village Inn & Restaurant
Village Inn & Restaurant
#2 of 5 in Monte Rio
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Villa Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Villa Beach Resort

Property: Rio Villa Beach Resort
Address: 20292 Highway 116, Monte Rio, CA 95462-9746
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Sonoma County > Monte Rio
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Monte Rio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Rio Villa Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax at our Bed & Breakfast Inn on the Russian River in West Sonoma's Wine Country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Rio Villa Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing