We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cute and cozy”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Highland Dell Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 7 Restaurants in Monte Rio
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Reservations
Geyserville, California
Level Contributor
249 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Cute and cozy”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Such a pretty little place. We sat right by the window with a lovely view of the river and an array of ducks in the water. This is a place I'd like to stay at, it's been remodeled and tastefully so. They managed to keep the charm and history but still give it a new and more modern feel. Staff were friendly and inviting. Food was good. We tried the seafood dish, the chicken cordon blue the pot roast and the pork dish. All were good. The pot roast though is in a very heavy sweet BBQ like sauce, it was just ok. Can't really taste the meat just the sauce. I would give this four stars for the ambiance and three for the food, four for the service. It's out of the way but we were glad we made the effort. Be sure to check hours and days they are open as this is a seasonal Restuaraunt.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DiannaC20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    7
    3
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Marin County
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excelllent German food”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I don't remember the name of dish ordered but it was the special for the evening and it was very good. It was a beef roast dish.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovemassage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belmont, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A nice river setting”
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Nice location overlooking the river. A friendly staff, german food was good but I am vot an expert, Thought the menu was a little pricey for the area but still a nice evening.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 78reg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Salmon, Red Wine and a Gorgeous View”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We were staying at the lovely Highland Dell Lodge and had no idea the restaurant was so good. The service was great, the food was delicious and the view was gorgeous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sonoma County, Callifornia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Last Chance Visit Failed”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

My husband and I have been to the Highland Dell Restaurant 3 times now; and not had a good, calm, unstressed dinner any of our times there. The first time we ate there was an off-season Local's Night, with reduced menu prices: Our server visited our table 4 separate times to tell us the kitchen had suddenly run out of the food we'd ordered (in a half-empty restaurant?), and the meals we finally received were overcooked (steam table?) and very disappointing. Second time we ate there we called ahead for reservations, and were given a late evening table (8:30pm) because it was tourist season and that's all they had available. Same thing: The kitchen was out of the meals we wanted and the meals we wound up with were disappointing - PLUS the restaurant staff was gathered in a corner of the dining room next to the cash register, focused on gossip and closing out for the night rather than checking on their remaining customers. The third (and last) time we visited, we went reluctantly with our son and his wife who live nearby. Same thing: Poor food, terrible service. Oh...and did I mention my husband is German? He said the food didn't deserve to be served in a self-described German restaurant.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank helmerphud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Highland Dell Restaurant also viewed

Guerneville, Sonoma County
 
Monte Rio, Sonoma County
Monte Rio, Sonoma County
 
Guerneville, Sonoma County
Duncans Mills, Sonoma County
 

Been to Highland Dell Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing