We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you really want "Quality"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montebello
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Avoid if you really want "Quality"”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

To begin, the room wasn't ready at 5:00 pm when I wanted to check in. The elevator was scarry and made a very big jolt when it began to move. When I did get into the room, one of the housekeepers barged in. I had to yell at them to get out. The microwave in the room didn't work. The sheets had holes in them. The restaurant server didn't care that we were there and we ended up ordering pizza from someone else.
Avoid this hotel.

Room Tip: fourth floor has best coverage on wireless internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoNavy1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 20 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide the feedback regarding to our hotel. I'm certainly disappointed that your recent stay was not up to expectation.

Please accept our apology for the inconvenient of a late check in, although our normal checking time is 3:00pm. I've addressed the service and operational issues with the appropriate department and to take corrective actions.

Once again, I appreciate your patronage, and hope that you'll reconsider staying with us in the near future.

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
Montebello CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    33
    29
    17
    32
See reviews for
47
16
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel has one thing going for it... it is right off the 5 freeway. This hotel is owned by an Asian company and there are bazaars and events happening there that typically would not be at any other Choice hotel property. The front entrance has a couch in bad need of cleaning or reupholstering. A very pervasive smell was in the front office that was similar to old food that needed to be thrown away. It lingered all throughout the lower level. The carpeting in the hallway was dirty and worn. The rooms were just average for a Quality Inn. I went down for breakfast at 6:50 am only to be turned away because the breakfast starts at 7:00 am. And when I came back from visiting a hospital at 9:55 am that morning they would not serve me because I was too late. I will never, ever stay at this hotel again. There are several other hotels within blocks of this hotel - stay at any of those hotels. They must be nicer and smell better.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omnifox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Appreciate your comments and sorry for the shortfalls. The hotel had since then is in the process of improving its general conditions. Plans for carpet replacements in rooms and hallways, and increase lighting are being finalized.

We regret that you missed your breakfast. To better accommodate guests and to ensure that their breakfasts needs are taken care off, our management has decided to revise the breakfast serving hours from 6:30AM to 9:30AM. with a 15 minutes grace time for the late risers.

We hope to have the privilege to welcome you back.

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites
Montebello, CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Horrible hotel and the photos are misleading. I stayed in one of the double "Business Plus" rooms where the table barely accomodated one laptop, the carpet was full of stains and very nasty looking. Not somewhere you wanted to walk barefoot or allow children to play on.

Upon check-in you will be given a slip of paper for the Breakfast which says you are entitled to up to $8.00 of credit towards your breakfast. This DOES NOT mean you can order from the restraunt menu. It is only good for the Breakfast Buffet. The breakfast buffet was anything but. A Meatless affair except for the what looked like the leftover spaghetti from the previous days function (for breakfast!) and some other scary looking dish involving tortillia chips the next morning--which also looked like it might be left over from function the night before. The coffee was so bad it was undrinkable and the juices were watered down. Most of the food was cold even the things which were supposed to be hot. The restraunt doesn't open until 7a.m. even during the week.

The hallways are dimly lit, as are the rooms, and the their tiny bathrooms. They are in the middle of remodeling apparently even though their sign out front claims "Newly Remodeled" as the old furniture was being stored on the closed pool patio and the new pieces stacked by one of the entrances downstairs.

The bar faces onto the front desk, and we were treated to many "gangsta rap" tunes playing loudly featuring prolific use of four-letter words while children played in the front lobby. The ice machine was broken on our floor and the elevators are exceedingly slow. Upon close examination, the entire building looks like it was a former cheap motel that has been painted over.

You will be required to post a credit card for "amenities" even though there are no PPV channels, or even Premium movie channels for that matter, on the TV. Internet and parking is free, so exactly why they require a credit card is beyond me. If you refuse to give them one or do not have one, you will be turned away by Cynthia Curiel, the front desk manager.

Definitely not a place I would recommend for anyone!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 11 February 2012
Our apology for the deficiencies encountered during your stay. Management has taken remedial steps to improve on the general environment of the hotel with extra lightings, carpet and furniture replacements. The next time you check in, you'll notice the changes.

For clarification purposed, we provide complimentary breakfasts at our Lobby restaurant through the use of " coupon system" . As part of our internal control, the dollar figure written on the coupon is meant for purchase by anyone. However it cannot be used towards a credit or discount off from the breakfast entrees menu.

Credit Card is about the most common form of payment used by guests to settle their hotel's bills and also other incidental charges. Our hotel does not impose or insist a credit card for the use of its amenities. It's not the practice of the Front Desk Manager to turn away guests who refused to show proof of a credit card.

We would like to extend our invitation to your next visit.

Regards,

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2011

we stayed at his hotel for 4 nights with kids during our LA visit. It's located in the middle of Disney Land and Universal (approx. 11 miles from here). We booked it through a site by selecting 3 star rating and above.But I didn't get the same experience as other 3 star hotels. And i was really confused by reading other users reviews about this hotel. I prepaid the booking and I didn't have other choice than staying at his hotel. So I was little worried. But it was okay rooms were clean and staff also was okay. Only problem we had is one day we were at room when the house keeping came and we asked to do clean it later, we have informed at reception also but when we came back at night we found the room was not cleaned and towels also were not changed. Two days we had problems to find parking place the whole lot was full and I had to wait for more than 30 mins. evening and night the whole area was crowded with lots of people and off course like in other reviews there's a noisy restaurant in the hotel. There's free breakfast and wireless internet available. There was no parking fee charged.

Room Tip: make sure you get a room not near to the noisy restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your family vacation. From your comments, it seemed that your stay had been a satisfactory one other than some minor issues with our cleaning staff and Front Desk agents in messing up with your request for room cleaning services. Our standard policy is to encourage guests to use the doorknob “room – cleaning request” Our hotel being a full service hotel, offers entertainment at the Lounge for the guest’s enjoyment. There may be times the music and noise level may have gone off limit, and consequently become a nuisance. However, we’ll continue to take all precautionary measures to keep the noise level to a minimum.

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
7709 Telegraph Rd,
Montebello CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The price was good so we stayed one night. I will never stay here again. The hotel was extremely loud due to a party in the lobby that was heard in the entire hotel. The room smelled like smoke although it was a non-smoking room. The entire hotel was run down, the staff was unfriendly and the area around the hotel was scary. I do not reccommend this hotel.

Room Tip: I requested a high floor but non-smoking rooms are only up to the 3rd floor. If you don't mind n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinrods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
We appreciate your constructive comments. For clarification purposes, our hotel offers a total of 4 floors as non-smoking with the 5th floor being specially designed for smoking. Unfortunately, due to a high occupancy and demand for this room type, your request for the highest floor was unavailable at the time of checking in. Our location and its surrounding areas being in close proximity to commercial and industrial activities are well accepted by most guests. As guests' satisfaction is always our top priority, we'll continue to re-enforce and retrain our front line employees.

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
7709 Telegraph Rd,
Montebello CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AZ
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 November 2011

***********Do not stay here *********Do not stay here!****************
At least one or more cleaning staff are thieves... Do not leave anything in the room if you are not there. I have property stolen out of the room the first night i was there, i stayed for 2 nights hoping the staff and management wouild assist in finding my stolen item, nope.

Do not stay here, do not book a hotel here, if someone books a hotel for you here, change the hotel booking.
********* Do not stay here********* ********* Do not stay here!***********

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
The majority of our housekeeping staffs have contributed many years of loyal and dedicated service to the hotel and are guests orientated. We valued their length of service, honesty and integrity and have no hesitation to take disciplinary action even up to termination of employment if anyone is caught stealing from guest.

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
7709 Telegraph Rd,
Montebello CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2011

They were clean. They have a deep big pool. Secirity so I felt safe to leave my car in the parking lot. Convienant location. I was happy with my stay.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NotDiscombobulated
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qualityinnsuites, Manager at Quality Inn & Suites Montebello, responded to this review, 7 February 2012
Thank you for your compliments, we’re delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel’s facilities – the Sports Lounge and the delicious food from the restaurant. The next time you visit us, the complimentary drink is on us.

The Management
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
7709 Telegraph Rd,
Montebello CA 90640
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montebello
3.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Los Angeles Montebello
2.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles - Commerce
2.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Bell Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Los Angeles-Downey
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Los Angeles - Commerce Casino
3.2 mi away
Quality Inn Near Downey Studios
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Montebello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Montebello

Property: Quality Inn & Suites Montebello
Address: 7709 Telegraph Rd, Montebello, CA 90640-6518
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Montebello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Montebello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Montebello 2.5*
Number of rooms: 151
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Montebello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Montebello Hotel Montebello
Quality Inn And Suites Montebello
Quality Inn Montebello
Montebello Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing