We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect location for romance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 May 2011

A gorgeous hotel with fantastic views in Monterey. We only stayed one night, but I would have loved to say there for much longer.

Pluses:
Everything is fantastic here - location, service, views, variety of restaurants
Location - right on cannery row, right by the ocean with fabulous views, there's a great F&B outlet within the hotel, but if you choose to eat outside of the hotel, there's lots of choices within a short walking distance. In fact, we had a fantastic meal (steakhouse) that is totally value for money at the Whaling Station less than 10mins walk from the hotel.
Room - We had the King Deluxe room, even comes with a fireplace, and a small little balcony, just good enough to stand outside. And the most gorgeous direct view of the water with completely no blockage. You can sit inside your room and look out on a beautiful day and catch sight of sea otters, even schools of dolphins. The view is pure relaxation!
The F&B outlet has a bar, service was pretty alright, but to sit outside on a chilly night with a fireplace that heats up, stand up heaters right behind you, and blankets to keep you warm.

Minuses:
I can't think of any!

Room Tip: Pay for a room with ocean view. Totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JazzyJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,197 - 2,203 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2011

The hotel is clean, bright, roomy and comfortable. Staff is friendly and helpful. I would have nothing bad to say except that they market the rooms as having a 'partial ocean view', which is completely false. The room faces an inner courtyard so to see the ocean you have to step out on a 'balcony' - which is a steel plate about 8 inches wide - and look hard to the side. Instead of coming away feeling good about our stay, I felt like I had been manipulated by marketing efforts. The hotel is so nice, they don't need to play that game - it's disappointing.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cherabeara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2011

we booked a room on our anniversary for a night and paid extra big bucks for an ocean view room when we got there the room we got was at the back of the hotel facing canary row. we complaint about it and they maid us wait for 2 hours when we only had 3 hours of day light left to enjoy the ocean view than they said they don,t have ocean view room even though we booked the hotel 3 weeks a go so we went to an other hotel and decided never choose that hotel again they did not do any thing to fix there mistake such an attitude.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Service
12  Thank sofiaambreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2011

The hotel is VERY comfy, and if you are looking for a place to stay in the middle of tourist street scene of Cannery Row, the Intercontinental is the place. Our room was overlooking the main drag of Cannery Row, and it was pretty noisy. The bars stay open until "late30",so with the windows open you can hear the party pretty clearly. Really the location of our room (third floor facing and across the street from the main hotel) felt like staying in New York or Atlanta from a crowd and noise standpoint. The beds were great, and the room well appointed new and very chic. The staff was excellent, and very helpful. Parking was either valet or self-parking, but both were expensive...$18 for self park and $20 for valet.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the bay
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pipercam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Proper hotel in a terrific location right next to the Monterey aquarium. Very comfortable very quiet. Nice big room with gas fire, very comfortable bed and enormous bathroom. Sensible price. A real find.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TPLOR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

The Intercontinental The Clement in Monterey is my favorite place to stay on the Monterey Peninsula for so many reasons. The property is newer and has bright rooms that are nicely furnished. The location is perfect! Located adjacent to the aquarium, it is right on the bay! There is no place I would rather spend the evening in Monterey than here. The bar and restaurant have beautiful views of sailboats cruising the bay. There is an outdoor area with fireplaces right on the bay. A common site: Sea Lions playing in the water and having a treat! To top ot off, the staff here is so amazing! So friendly and accomodating. I am always greeted with a smile! Michael and Jevon in the front are always fantastic! And Luis Salinas at the bar not only mixes some delicious libations but he is so attentive. I cannot imagine staying anywhere else when I visit Monterey.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelFiend-7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

Central location near the pier. Beds are very comfortable. Service was exceptional. Rooms were very clean and fairly spacious.
Lap pool is quite small and does not lend itself to recreational use very well.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scotymac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,011 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,652 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,540 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £144 - £740 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing