We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #2 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Spent at weekend here with my Mom and sister, and we had the most amazing time! We booked the suite with balcony and though it was a little pricey, the room, comfort and the views is more than enough reason to go for it. The balcony opens up to this amazing view of the ocean right below us. There were canoes passing us by, and the gentle breeze and the sound of the waves lapping on the pier was very relaxing, it was almost a lullaby. The room has 2 gas lit fireplaces and it adds charm to the place. My only gripe was that upon check-in, I specifically asked for wine and cheese plate to be delivered in our room at a certain time. We came back from dinner, ready for the wine and cheese, but there was none. What was delivered was a fruit plate which we haven't ordered at all. After 3 phone calls and an hour later, we got what I ordered, and all's well. In fairness, they left the fruit plate for us to enjoy on the house. Kudos to the young lady who picked the red wine for us - it was really good! Despite the miss, we'd definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Samantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,032)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,218 - 1,224 of 3,032 reviews

Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed here for a 2 night stay in Monterey in June. Staff and service are of a very high quality indeed, the hotel is in a great location on cannery Row, backing onto the ocean. The problem is it's too big and lacks character. I was expecting something more historic, but the interior and rooms are very modern and austere.Would go back though and would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank djh&cjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear djh&cjh, We were pleased to have you here for a two-night visit, and I am delighted you found our associates to be friendly and helpful. We hope to see you back for another visit very soon!
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

My daughter, her girlfriend and I needed a short break from life. The Plaza Hotel, where we usually stay could not accommodate us for the full length of our stay, so I made reservations at Monterey's #2 hotel instead.
The interior, even the hotel itself is austere in appearance with monotone shades of white and beige. What I refer to as "lifeless'. The rooms are nicely sized, with plentiful amenities, including a fireplace, but also lacking in visual warmth. This seems to be the hot trend in interior design. Comfortable, but unimaginative.

However, the staff was absolutely the nicest, most professional, yet friendly and helpful. They cheerfully went above and beyond to assure every guest stay was the most pleasurable it could be. There was a minor mix-up with the reservation. My confirmation intimated the rooms would have balconies (though most were not large enough to sit on, it's nice to have a large glass door for viewing as well as for allowing the beautiful weather to enter one's room). Even though the hotel was at capacity, they were able to switch things around enough for me to a balcony. It had a solid view of the outer wall of the Aquarium. What seemed like a minus, was a plus. I never had to worry about closing my drapes, except to keep the sun filtered! Straight down there is a small inlet for the ocean to enter, making it feel as though the entire ocean was crashing under you. A fresh water stream came out from under one of the many small historical buildings along Cannery Row, nearly joining the ocean through a jumble of rocks. This protected area with fresh water made it a perfect meeting spot for many of the local sky life. It was very pleasant to watch in the morning while having breakfast. The room is also the last in the row allowing privacy and quiet from neighbors bookshelved around you. The bedding was very comfortable, and we were asked if any of us were allergic to down, would need extra pillows or blankets, etc. Not being allergic, but preferring non-down pillows, this swap was arranged with a smile. I thought to other travels where upon arriving in the room you discover 2 pancake flat pillows, a thin blanket that may have kept you warm in Death Valley, and one set of towels barely thick enough to absorb a small spill, let alone dry one off. When requesting additional linens in one of those establishment, you are told that housekeeping went off duty at 5:00, even though check in isn't until 4:00, and the front desk would, "would see what it could do". I'm sure these types of places simply go yo an un-occupied room and raid there linens. At the Inter-Continental, I believe I was allowed a total of 6 pillows, and was offered even more. The desk staff arranged that our breakfast coupons (usually used in restaurant dining only) could be used for a delivered breakfast, if we should choose so. Even changing the time to an earlier delivery was done with an efficient, pleasant smile, plus, the guest(s) would receive a call to alert them the tray was on its way up.
A Privacy Please sign was treated with respect. The halls were constantly, pleasantly free from the clutter of empty trays, and the rooms were nicely sound proofed. Not once did I hear a TV or music coming from another room.
To say the service was impeccable, gracious, efficient, and handled as unobtrusively as possible, would only begin to describe how brilliantly they handled their jobs. From all the genuine smiles and easy attitudes which they handled requests, I would say, for these people, it wasn't so much a job as a way to meet new friends.

While I still prefer the ambiance of The Plaza Hotel from a visual aspect, The Inter-Continental may have out done them, not on the level of service, but the cheerfulness with which it was handled. The employees would even stop to say hello to you on the street and make sure all was well.

I was very impressed with this dedicated, cheerful staff - and I am not easily won over.

I just ask the designers to add a touch of warmth to the color scheme. That would make the lobby and rooms as nearly welcoming as the staff itself.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Ready2Go935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Ready2Go935, I was delighted to read your comments about our associates, and pleased that you enjoyed your relaxing stay with us. I will share your experiences with our staff, and we all look forward to seeing you again soon!
Best wishes,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We don't usually stay at such fancy and expensive hotels, but opportunity came and we took it. Very pleased with the hotel. Perfect location if you want to be on Cannery Row and close to the Aquarium. Rooms were clean and modern. Even though it was summer, we had to run the gas fireplace! You don't see that everyday in a hotel. Don't follow your GPS, you end up at a parking lot that really isn't part of the hotel. Even the Reception Staff said it was a problem. Just go down the main drag for Cannery Row and you will be fine. Really the only disappointing thing was that they charged for Wi-Fi! Really? Even Motel 6 gives you free Wi-Fi! For the price we paid for the rooms, that is the LEAST that could have been included.

Room Tip: We had a "partial ocean view" and it was just fine. Didn't feel the need to spend ext...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank 11moog-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Our family was taking a road trip up the coast and had a good experience at the Clement in Monterey for our one night stay. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right on the water, just steps away from the Aquarium and all the shops on Cannery Row. The service at the hotel was excellent, very accommodating and kid friendly. The hotel had great outdoor spaces with fire pits and heaters with great views of the ocean. While some of the carpet and upholstery throughout the hotel had stains and looked a little tired and could use some updating, our rooms had spacious marble bathrooms with comfortable beds, nice linens and amenities you would expect such as robes, slippers etc. While the price was higher than other hotels in the area, the location, modern rooms and good service was worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear sdbrick, I am pleased you enjoyed the great bay views from the hotel and our Pacific View Courtyard, and enjoyed your time here in Monterey. I hope we will see you here again very soon.
Best regards,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

By far the best hotel in this area. Clean, modern and good location. Staff was particularly helpful. This will be our hotel for our next visit to the area. Pool is a little small so not for kids, but a small issue. The rooms are a nice size and very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Martin940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clement_Management, General Manager at InterContinental The Clement Monterey, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Martin940, Thank you for sharing your experience, and we hope to see you again very soon here in Monterey!
Sincerely,
John C. Turner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We had an impaired member in our party and we requested relocating to another location in the hotel that wouldbe more conveniently located, and they happily complied, plus furnished us with a wheelchair to facilitate our love nets during our stay, very pleasant stay, clean, lovely!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Oceanviews2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#3 of 56 in Monterey
2,022 reviews
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,662 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 56 in Monterey
2,567 reviews
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#16 of 56 in Monterey
1,352 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range: £144 - £396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing