We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
Cal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

Great hotel staff was very attentive, beutiful Hotel and scenery

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kidandkiddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,838 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,929
    683
    138
    56
    32
See reviews for
903
1,265
93
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (677)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2009

My overall experience was good. I booked a junior suite for 2 nights, we were pleasantly surprised to be upgraded to a terasse suite when we checked in. Room was spacious, comfortable and quiet. People next to us also had kids we did not hear anything. We order food from the restaurant, with mixed results. See food was good ,but the steak was way to dry.

I am only giving a 4 stars because of the view. I booked a junior suite for a panoramic view "overlooking the Monterey bay". You are actually overlooking the patio and have a view of the bay only if you look at certain angle. You are in the inside of the coutryard and still see other people rooms.

The only way to guaranteed an ocean front view and only have the ocean in front of view is to book a Luxury suite. They also have 6 deluxe king bed with fireplace room that are on the ocean front but you can not book them in advance . They are assign at the moment of checking only, so you you are taking a gamble there.

If you still want the cannery row feeling with the view without paying 800$ a night, the Spindrift is the place to go. We also stay at the Monterey Bay inn in the past , they also have some very nice rooms that are directly on the bay, they are just 5 minutes walk from the aquarium.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FairTravellerSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2009

I had a few "Free nights" for a long stay at a Holiday Inn brand hotel. The frequent traveler program with Holiday Inn is the same as Intercontinental. That is great I got to use my free nights here that I earned for a work stay in a 2 star Holiday Inn.
This hotel is much more modern that I was expecting but not a cold feeling as many. We had a ocean-view room which was really nice. We stayed there for a mini-honeymoon and let the hotel know on the online reservation that this was the case. The concierge sent up chocolate dipped strawberries. Very nice touch.
Over all this is a great hotel in a very nice location (right next to the aquarium) but is normally very expensive. The nightly rate for the room we had on a Monday night was $300. Is it worth it, I would say for a short stay yes but if you are staying more that one night or on the weekend you might want to look else where.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnhayden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2009

The Clement is a great addition to a huge tourist area right on Cannery Row and just feet away from the awesome Monterey Aquarium!
The hotel is modern and beige in hue. My room was modern and angular with all the modern amenities, good amount of closet and drawer space, and a terrace that looked out onto the Buba Gump's across the way. The public space like the lounge is very slick including a fireplace, a prismatic jellyfish of light, a boardwalk/deck with a couple fire pits and heat lamps on the ocean front. This is a hotel I would definitely return to if I were to visit the area again.

  • Stayed November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crash89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monterey, CA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

Stopped in while out cycling the beautiful coastal bike path, as I heard well-executed acoustic classic rock coming from the lounge. Impulsively decided on an early supper here, and was glad I did. The artichoke fritter was especially yummy, as was their Scheid merlot. And the mealtime covers by local musician Bryan Diamond were indeed a pleasant surprise--classic songs masterfully delivered. Very comfortable lounge, fun company of international guests in a warm, friendly atmosphere. What a great bike path stop!

And to make it even better, bicycle valet parking was graciously provided. See "Tips for Tourists Bicycling Monterey" at my personal blog if you'd like more reasons why the Clement and other places along the bike path can contribute to making cycling an awesome way to experience the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariLynch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2009

We were only able to stay at this hotel for 1 night, but it was a wonderful stay. First of all, the location on Cannery Row is very convenient to the aquarium, restaurants, etc. in Monterey. We were able to park our car at the hotel, and then walk everywhere we wanted to go. Secondly, the service was excellent! Everyone that we encountered from the valet, front desk, and concierge were eager to help make our stay memorable. They were even willing to offer a late checkout for Priority Club members. We were fortunate to receive a room upgrade to a junior suite with an ocean view. It was very spacious and comfortable. The entire property was very clean. Even if you don't have an ocean view from your room, the hotel has a great area to sit and view the ocean. Overall, our experience at this hotel was very positive. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pokes12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2009

I stayed at this hotel during the classic car exhibition before the labor day. It was sold out and we got a small room at the end of hall way. The room seemed ready...

1. Not so clean.
After long hours of flight from east coast to SFO and then hours of driving, I wanted to wash up. but the bathroom floor and the shower booth were not clean - hair, cookie crumbs, etc. We didn't want to make a big deal, but the next day, they didn't clean up the shower, again.

2. Great location. Valet parking.
The location was perfect. right by the bay and next to the aquarium. we could easily step out to the main street and go to the park.
Valet parking was good as long as you call them 15-20 min. advance.

3. So-so restaurant.
The view was gorgeous, but the food was bland and not so fresh. We had lunch over there. The salad was not crisp, calamari was greasy, sandwich was okay but the soup was way too salty. The to-go coffee was pretty good.

4. Good customer service.
The concierge was helpful to plan a day.
For the cleaning service and other accidents, we called the front desk and complained. they were quick to respond and apologized.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,577 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,201 reviews
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing