We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Ranked #4 of 55 Hotels in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2010

THE GOOD: Spectacular location, right next to the Monterey Aquarium. Beautifully appointed. Hip, modern, incredibly clean, spa-like retreat. The rooms are large, comfortable, and we LOVED having the fireplace in the room. The concierge, restaurant wait staff, and all of the other staff members, we wonderful and accommodating. We really can't say enough good things about this hotel.

THE BAD: Nothing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dbsccp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,913
    676
    135
    56
    31
See reviews for
891
1,256
89
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (668)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2009

We stayed at the Clement for four nights Dec. 18-23. Positives: 1) Great location right next to the aquarium, 2) friendly/pleasant staff, 3) nicely appointed comfortable rooms, 4) very clean (good maid service), and 5) my son loved having the gas fireplace (something most hotel rooms we stay in don't usually have).

Not as positive: 1) Internet descriptions were misleading (I thought I was booking a balcony where we could sit out with a Cannery row view, but what I booked was a small Juliette (standing room only balcony). I booked right through the hotel, but no one even warned me of this.) -- To give the hotel a little credit -- I later saw this in the fine print of the hotel features list on my email confirmation. Other places have always warned me ahead of time if I am booking something that might not meet my expectations and made sure that I knew my choices and what I was getting. I would have expected the same from this hotel, 2) This is mostly a pet peeve of mine, but rather than having an empty hotel refrigerator for my use, it was filled with expensive items ($3 cans of soda, etc.) that are automatically charged to your room (the system can tell by weight if you take anything out) -- I understand that you can get special permission to empty the refrigerator out. Rather than do this, I just used by soft sided cooler for personal item, but that meant regular trips to the ice machine, making my hotel stay a little like camping, 3) very minor item: The very lovely spacious bathrooms have a design where no towels or wash clothes can be hung right by the sink, 4) Prices were high -- not a great value -- a) dinner for three $84 with tip (and that's no alcohol, a kid's meal for one of us, just salad and appetizer for one of the adults) -- at least the food was good and the restaurant had a nice ambiance, b) breakfast for three was $42 -- here the offerings/combinations were pretty strange too -- I'd avoid his place for breakfast, c) no free wi-fi -- $10 a day, so we didn't use this, and d) in room movies for the bargain price (Not) of $15 (I let my son get one movie during our four night stay).

There was a small 1/2 lap pool and jacuzzi that they keep at about 95 degrees which we used and were happy to have, which were fine, but not a nice as these facilities are in most hotels where we stay.

All in all, the hotel was a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathy884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

I called 3 separate times to make sure that my reservation was on the top floor with a view of Cannery Row. When we checked in we were told our reservation was for a view of the parking garage. They did not apologize or offer a reduction in price, they said we were misinformed. I called 3 times on 3 separate days and was told the same lie, that we would get the view that we wanted. I am warning you, they do not offer the truth and when you get there, no discount for their lies.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank CaliforniaBlondee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2009

If you want to stay in Monterey and see the aquarium this is the only hotel to stay at. Beautifully decorated, attentive and friendly staff. Locate right in downtown next to the aquarium. Caution no sunset views but Monterey is on the southern side of Monterey Bay so you look North over the water. the bedding and the room was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2009

We had a wonderful stay the night before my husband's half marathon!!! Our room was located on the 3rd floor right above the pool, which was really nice because it has a fountain attached to it...so we could open our window and hear the relaxing sounds of the water. The room itself room exceeded our expectations--extremely clean and romantic...all the bells and whistles. We frequent 4 star hotels in SF so we know a good one when we see it!

One star lopped off for closing their restaurant on a Saturday afternoon and night for a private party of 47 people. They have no other restaurant or cafe in the hotel to choose from and did not pre-warn of this affair. Also, the staff was nice enough, but if we passed them in the lobby or hallway, they did not acknowledge us. Not a big deal because the room and location and comfort made up for this BIG time!

Just some notes:
1. The pool is not really for swimming...it's very small and narrow.
2. We ate in the restaurant for breakfast on Sunday--decent prices and you can't beat the view.
3. We checked in 2 hours early with no problem.
4. We called the morning of check out to ask for a 12pm check out instead of the usual 11am. Again, no problem.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DahliaWaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2009

This was our second stay at the Clement- and we loved it even more than the first. We had signed up for their loyalty program, and they welcomed us back, acknowledged our Anniversay, and pre-arranged for a 2pm check-out. The service was great, from the Front Desk to teh restuarant- and don't miss breakfast! We'd skipped it our first trip- thinking it'd be like a lot of "hotel" restaurants- but we were completely surprised! It was FANTASTIC! I loved my Castroville omlette with artichoke hearts and my husband had this amazing lamb hash dish, is was sooooo yummy! We had planned on using the gym & pool- but ended up enjoying our room with the view & fireplace so much we hardly got out! :) Like some people have mentioned pool is really small- but it's cute & stylish and better than nothing if it's hot out!

I highly recommend the InterContinental Clement for those wanting a nice getaway, relaxation, nicely appointed rooms with all the amenitities and friendly service. Take advantage of their amazing deck with gas firepits for a sunset cocktail or glass of wine overlooking the Monterey Bay- you won't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SF_Foodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2009

My husband treated me to a weekend away at The Clement. We were very pleased with our accomodations. We had book a room with a king bed, but were pleasantly surprised when we were given a room that also had a fireplace, small balcony and a partial ocean view. The room was first class all the way - great linens, down comforter, feather bed, sony radio with ipod connection, flat screen TV, safe, desk, easy chair, complimentary bottled water, bathrobes, and a very nice bathroom. Our room was on the opposite side of the street from the ocean and lobby, but the ocean view was still nice (especially if you ignored Bubba Gumps restaurant below). Although our room was right above Cannery Row, it was extremely quiet - one evening there was a classic car show/parade (Cherries Jubilee) taking place on the street below and we have never even heard it if we didn't open our patio door to watch. There is also a pretty well equipped gym on site as well as a very small pool.

The location is fantastic - right on Cannery Row, steps away from Monterey Bay Aquarium, a beautiful bike/walking path, and a number of restaurants. The restaurant at the Clement was excellent!

The only complaint I had was the after the first night, I realized that there was a rubber-backed mattress pad on the bed - I'm sure it was there to protect the feather bed, but it also made the bed less comfy. I called guest services in the morning about it and they had housekeeping remove it when they made up the room.

We had such a great time staying at the Clement that we have booked ourselves to return for New Year's getaway.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sweetflowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.5 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,557 reviews
0.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,925 reviews
1.1 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Monterey Tides, a Joie de Vivre hotel
1.6 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#7 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,138 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental The Clement Monterey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental The Clement Monterey

Property: InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Address: 750 Cannery Row, Monterey, CA 93940-1087
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#2 Business Hotel in Monterey
#2 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#2 Family Hotel in Monterey
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental The Clement Monterey 4.5*
Number of rooms: 208
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The new InterContinental the Clement Monterey is next to the world-renowned Monterey Bay Aquarium in the heart of John Steinbeck's historic Cannery Row. Many guest rooms and suites feature fireplaces, balconies and ocean views and all sparkle with stylish décor. The picturesque hotel offers more than 1,393 square metres (15,000 square feet) of indoor and outdoor meeting space, including an oceanfront ballroom perfect for weddings, conferences and special events. The C Restaurant & Bar, spa, health club, pool, whirlpool, Kids Club and an oceanfront patio offer plenty of reasons to stay close, and Cannery Row s fashionable boutiques, delectable eateries, upscale galleries and vibrant street scene are just a few minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your InterContinental The Clement Monterey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental The Clement Monterey Hotel Monterey
Intercontinental Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing