We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so interesting”

Monterey Bay Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
US$49.95*
and up
Monterey Bay Aquarium Admission
Ranked #1 of 103 things to do in Monterey
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located at the ocean's edge, the Monterey Bay Aquarium is a window to marine life -- for dive masters and non-swimmers alike. It's home to sea otters, penguins, sharks, jellies and thousands of other marine animals and plants. Its mission is to inspire conservation of the oceans.
aisaac
Level Contributor
175 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“so interesting”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We didn't have much time, just 2 hours, but managed to fit in a feeding, the "behind-the-scenes" movie, a visit to the penguins, the otters and of course the jellies and sharks. Amazing. Wish we'd had more time!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank aisaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

10,952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,750
    2,235
    717
    178
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Mids
Level Contributor
85 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Well, we've seen many aquariums around the world on several continents now, and this one is definitely the best we've visited!

From the interactive areas, the light/music shows and the ecological focus they really have thought if everything.

Really amazing for kids, but equally enjoyable of adults as well. Full of colour, interest and wonder. It's not cheap, but you'll get your monies worth! We spend hours looking into as many areas as we could during our 3hr visit, but even this was a bit rushed, and it's so big we may have missed a few bits out, it truly is a full day out if you want to enjoy all the shows and scenes on offer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scottish_Red
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
316 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great visit”
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

The Monterey Bay Aquarium is a must see for visitors to the area. Lots of exhibits, different environments, fish, birds, and aquatic life. Allow a good 2-3 hours to explore. Wonderful outside ocean views, the sea life comes right up to the aquarium, seals, birds, and beautiful kelp. There is an excellent cafeteria that serves great chowder.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Jellies are incredible!”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

At first I thought the cost of admission was really steep. Maybe I'm just out of touch with how much tickets cost these days since it has been 20+ years since I've gone to an aquarium. Despite the sticker shock, we had a fantastic time walking around the exhibits. My husband is a scuba diver so he is really fascinated with anything aquatic. Even though we saw some great creatures, the jellies stole the show! Simply amazing! I could have watched them all day!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank AlisonDB_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One Aquarium To Rule Them All”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

I've been to a few aquariums -- Dubai lost chambers, Dubai aquarium, Orlando, and Seattle. This one is easily the best one. It is pricey but you get what you pay for. The little kids will love this place but adults will be entertained too. The place is huge so you could easily spend half a day there!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Enchanted_Trees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monterey Bay Aquarium also viewed

Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 
Monterey, Monterey County
Monterey, Monterey County
 

Been to Monterey Bay Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing