We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Hotel on my trip”
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cannery Row Inn
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Very unfriendly,roude Reception.Horrible chemical smell in the room,not clean,defect electrical appliances(dangeros)in the bathroom.Very loud at night.The only good thing is the location of the Hotel.But rather pay a little more,even for 1 night.It was my last day vacation and the worst Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2012

We spent Saturday night in this hotel and found it great! Loved the fireplace and balconies in the rooms. Looked out at Monterey Bay and watched the lights come on at night. It also didn't hurt that the harbor had their Christmas lights on! We got there arouand midday adn though we weren't allowed to check in until 3 they let us park our cars in their garage at no cost and we walked all over the area . Continetla breakfast was on the skimpy side buat we had eaten so well the night before it was all good! Friends we were traveling with said the coffee was outstanding. Loved every part of this trip but the price was great compared to many others we had checked.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the floor where registration was close to the elevator but with the balcony fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Stayed two nignts, and like other reviewers, the decision was all about the location v price formula! Location is spot on, easy stroll to Cannery Row shops, bars and the Aquarium. Parking is free, always a bonus. Breakfast was included, but we didn't try it.
The room we had was a little dated, but very clean and had all we needed. We didn't have much contact with the staff apart from check in/check out, but no problems there.
Good value for money, and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulE57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

Best value hotel we could find so close to Cannery Row. On arrival we were not delighted with the room allocated, mostly because it was on the ground floor and the lock on the patio doorts seemed a bit less secure than we would like. We asked to change rooms which was no bother to the staff and we were then on the first floor which was great as we had a balcony. Some rooms face the sea though we weren't fortunate enough for one of these but our room was very clean and adequate in terms of space. Breakfast was provided each day, with reasonable range of options though served in quite a small space at reception which could get busy. That said it was fair enough for the price. The location was perfect, easy and quick access to Cannery Row and next to a walkway/cycle path to Fisherman's Wharf, so for us it was ideal. Quiet hotel, free parking and good value in this area. It's not luxurious but given the price it was pleasantly surprising.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean and on a higher floor as due to the location you might be lucky to c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PG66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed at Cannery Row Inn for 3 nights. Given the price and some reviews we were pleasantly surprised. The room was very clean and comfortable, fireplace, comfortable big bed and fridge in room (empty) and ice maker in the hall. Location excellent and a busy spot. First impression was noisy, but we didn't find this a problem at all. Had breakfast every morning which was decent quality and variety. I would recommend it to friends and stay here again given the price. Free parking was also a big bonus. Bearing in mind that this is an Inn and not hotel I thought it was good value for the area. I didn't expect luxury, and didn't get luxury, but got more than i thought i would.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitni2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We stayed in this hotel for four days, because of its great location. The hotel is just near the Cannery Row close to Fisherman Wharp. Our room faced Lighthouse Avenue, a busy arterial street. It was kind of distructive.
Our room had a fireplace, high ceiling, and soft bed. Breakfast menu was limited to your typical bread and muffins continental style. No hot dishes like eggs or sausages. But the hotel offers the free parking!

Room Tip: The best rooms are on second floor facing the Monterey Bay. I think, their numbers are 14, 16, 18, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tzd60820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

We just checked in at this hotel as we speak.Great location my buddy booked the room for one night great service the moment we arrived gal at the front desk really nice and got the best sense of humor!Our room has private balcony free wine breakfast and parking.Will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mark40069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.3 mi away
Wave Street Inn
Wave Street Inn
#36 of 56 in Monterey
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,638 reviews
0.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
2,000 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940-1406 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £74 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing