We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel, excellent location”
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cannery Row Inn
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We stayed there for a weekend getaway recently. You could not ask for a better location to explore Monterey Bay: Walking distance to everything aorund downtown Monterey, the pier, and of course, Cannery Row. Free parking is a good perk. Nice clean, comfortable rooms w/fireplace is another good reason. Perhaps the best reason is the price -- it was one of the cheapest places to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the Bay -- even a peek. The rooms have balconies so there's a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jose M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2013

This motel is in a great location. Park on the property and you can walk or ride bikes anywhere you need to go. The major attractions are all right there. I was scuba diving and just liked across the park to the breakwater to meet my group. We were there over New Years and it was an easy walk to the "First Night" activities. The rooms were a bit chilly (we were on the 2nd floor where there rooms had high ceilings) but we put a towel under the door (exposed corridor) and the front desk got us a space heater and we were fine. Nothing fancy and a decent conti breakfast with a VERY friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachfeetSoCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

My son and I stayed here for couple of days this is our first time in Monterey. Evening girl was completely disappointment extremely rude not helpful in any ways. Told her not happy with the room online descriptions was very deceiving no apology nor offered to move us to another room she needs to go to public relations seminar or something .Morning staff was helpful straight forward but very professional.Room was decent it's all about location. Breakfast very limited.Overall the experience at your hotel not good.First impression always start at Front Desk Clerk.Spare yourself and don't go here.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blumegerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is right on the walkway between Fisherman's Wharf and Cannery Row, a perfect location for seeing the best of Monterey. Every room we've had has been great. We've been going for years. It used to be an outstanding bargain and still is reasonable. Very good breakfast, confortable, clean. This time, we stayed in a room with a view and a fireplace.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

This hotel was chosen by the price on our way down via Hwy 1 to LA.
It was only one night stay and we found the hotel room huge and cozy, with a lovely fireplace.

It is a simple hotel and breakfast is not delicious, however has a great value for money, for its location and cozy rooms.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2013 via mobile

Very unfriendly,roude Reception.Horrible chemical smell in the room,not clean,defect electrical appliances(dangeros)in the bathroom.Very loud at night.The only good thing is the location of the Hotel.But rather pay a little more,even for 1 night.It was my last day vacation and the worst Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

We spent Saturday night in this hotel and found it great! Loved the fireplace and balconies in the rooms. Looked out at Monterey Bay and watched the lights come on at night. It also didn't hurt that the harbor had their Christmas lights on! We got there arouand midday adn though we weren't allowed to check in until 3 they let us park our cars in their garage at no cost and we walked all over the area . Continetla breakfast was on the skimpy side buat we had eaten so well the night before it was all good! Friends we were traveling with said the coffee was outstanding. Loved every part of this trip but the price was great compared to many others we had checked.

Room Tip: I liked the rooms on the floor where registration was close to the elevator but with the balcony fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rnprofessr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.3 mi away
Wave Street Inn
Wave Street Inn
#33 of 56 in Monterey
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Colton Inn
Colton Inn
#30 of 56 in Monterey
571 reviews
0.8 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#19 of 56 in Monterey
702 reviews
1.1 mi away
Monterey Bay Lodge
Monterey Bay Lodge
#29 of 56 in Monterey
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940-1406 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range: £62 - £128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing