We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For the money, this is a good place to stay.”
Review of Cannery Row Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cannery Row Inn
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“For the money, this is a good place to stay.”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The Cannery Inn has rooms on the second floor that have a view of the bay. They are half the price of the beautiful hotels in front of them, but they offer a quaint, clean, refurbished place to stay. The beds and bedding are wonderful, the fireplace takes off the morning chill and the location is excellent. Free wifi, free parking and complimentary breakfast are added pluses. At $130/night, it is the only moderately priced hotel with a view. Lower prices will give you no view and prices with a view jump from $250-$650. For us, it was a perfect fit.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view on the top floor. It's not the perfect view of the $250/night rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moveyourfeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    114
    87
    32
    26
See reviews for
61
157
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

A great value and location. Our room was large and clean with a fireplace and a balcony with an obstructed view of the bay. The bedding was comfortable, there was a fridge and a microwave and friendly staff too.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlynTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

On our drive up the coast we stopped at Monterey for the night. There were five of us in total and we had an adjoining family room with one bathroom. It was just perfect for us. The beds were very comfortable and the rooms were nice and clean. Very moderately priced and the light breakfast was quite OK. The staff were very helpful and friendly, I would definitely recommend Cannery Row Inn to any travellers who like something nice and clean and comfortable without the huge prices.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Good hotel. The hotel is ugly on the outside, but comfortable rooms. I like that the parking is underneath the hotel, with stairs and elevator right there for your convenience. The rooms have a microwave, refridgerator, ironing board, and coffee maker, but do not have hair dryers, so bring your own! The hotel does provide cribs upon request. Comfortable mattress, but terrible pillows and stiff sheets. Larger sized bathrooms. I love that it is about 1/2 mile from Cannery Row attractions (restaraunts, gift shops, aquarium) and very close to the beach. Hint: take the bike path behind the hotel to get to Cannery Row...less traffic and safer for pedestrians and bikers. There is a nice shared patio next to the office with tables/chairs and a smoking area. Great service-staff very friendly, professional, helpful, and efficient. Hint: if you want tickets for the aquarium, get them from the hotel, not the aquarium. You can get two-day tickets for the price of one day. The hotel provides a basic yet decent breakfast including fruit, danishes, muffins, juice, milk, cereal, coffee, tea, and toast. The coffee isn't the greatest, but it's complimentary, so I can't complain. Good TV selection, which made my son happy. Paper thin walls-could hear the neighbors upstairs tromping around (didn't bother us though). Good price for a hotel near Cannery Row-we stayed two nights off-season and middle of the week, so it was reasonable. Quick check in and out. Will be staying there again.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are closer to office and outside patio area. Get the upgraded rooms-the double qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Collie7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013 via mobile

Located about 10 minute walk from Cannery Row. Amongst lots of commercial "for sale" property. Price was pretty good and included light breakfast, wifi, parking, good sized king room with fireplace and patio. Room was clean, but dated. Clearly effort continues going into property to upgrade. For instance, we had newly tumbled marble tiled bathtub/shower yet heavy soiled carpeting (we didn't want to go barefoot on.). We would consider returning. And staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nova Lima, MG
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

Very good hotel. Big room, big bathroom. Walk distance from Cannery Row, Aquarium and many stores and restaurants. The breakfast dont have bacon, eggs and other cooked foods but you can find a lot of cereals, juice, breads, muffins, cookies, etc. . nice place to leave your car, elevator from the garage. I will stay there again

the dinning room is outside. if the weather isn't good can be a problem because de dinning room is very very short.

Room Tip: ask the back rooms to stay far from the street. but it isn't a noise hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Machado666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
569 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

I wasn’t sure what to expect of this hotel as there are quite a few mixed TA reviews. However, would like to report that everything turned out great! I stayed there for one night last Saturday, and was perfectly satisfied with the service and accommodation. Had a king room with fireplace (definitely use it, gets rid of the chill right away – the aircon could be a bit loud coming on and off) on the second floor, with balcony although not much of a view – can see a bit of the ocean if you are out on the balcony. Room’s spacious, high sloped ceiling, clean and contemporary, with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. Bathroom has shower (quite strong and hot) over a tub, curved shower curtain rod. Bed very comfortable – firm with soft padding. Free wifi (pretty fast) and parking are huge pluses. Location wise, it’s at one end of Cannery Row, so a couple of blocks walk from the very center of the touristy area. Don’t expect much of breakfast – hotel has a tiny lobby with no seating, and there’s self help coffee and tea all day, and breakfast also served there. Best to just pick up a tray and take it back to your room to eat (if weather’s warm, would be pretty pleasant to eat on the balcony!). Served from 7-10 am, consisting of waffles, chocolate/poppy/blueberry muffins, fresh fruit (water melon, cantaloupe and pineapple), whole oranges and apples, orange and cranberry juices. No hot items, very basic, but fairly adequate as long as you know this is what you are getting. Price wise, $119 before taxes (on Booking.com) seemed to be fairly reasonable compared to the other options in the same area. Would definitely not hesitate to stay here again on my next trip to Monterey.

Room Tip: Had a king room on the second floor - 208 - very nice with fireplace and balcony - although not much...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paxa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Monterey - Cannery Row
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Victorian Inn
0.4 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 56 in Monterey
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 56 in Monterey
1,612 reviews
0.5 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.8 mi away
Monterey Hotel
Monterey Hotel
#18 of 56 in Monterey
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cannery Row Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cannery Row Inn

Property: Cannery Row Inn
Address: 200 Foam St, Monterey, CA 93940-1406 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Cannery Row Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Cannery Row Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cannery Row Hotel Monterey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing