We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school hotel a winner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Ranked #22 of 56 Hotels in Monterey
GreenLeadersSilver level
Napa, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Old school hotel a winner”
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Nice grounds, comfortable rooms, feel of open space. We had an issue with our room and the manager, Joelle, worked hard to come to a generous solution. Regency room staff very accommodating. Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnchild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,500 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    999
    1,199
    776
    324
    202
See reviews for
1,013
1,106
104
692
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
420 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Attended a three-day conference with approximately 500 other attendees. The hotel has a large conference center that is situated towards the freeway, with additional smaller conference rooms (3) by the bar off of the main lobby area. There was also another conference going, so there were at least 600 people fort he conference facilities. Stayed in building 8, even numbered room/suite overlooking the golf course. it had a sliding glass door and small patio and was quite lovely with the surrounding greens...and occasional golfer. Many of the rooms in the low-slung buildings across this large property had greens views, however just as many faced the parking lot , or bordered the freeway. Tip: Inquire about the actual view, as it does matter. Other attendees who stayed near the freeway did sayt hqt it was quiet, however, inside the room. There is a shuttle from the close by regional airport which is very convenient. You do need a car-- or taxi-- to get to Cannery row, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Inquire about location...golf course vs parking lot vs freeway facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wdee2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here after a long trip from the east to west coast. We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the pool which was absolutely perfect to wake up to in the morning. The bathroom was very nice and large. While we didn't get to explore much, the grounds seemed lovely with the fire pit at night and a great view of the course on the walk from the lobby in the morning. The lobby was a nice spot for a drink or two at night as well. We chose the room/breakfast/aquarium deal which was great for us. The breakfast was definitely satisfying. In the room, the built-in AC unit/dehumidifier was a bit odd, but we did use it to cool the room down overnight. Would've loved another night to enjoy the fire pit and to play some ping pong! Only complaint is that I think the bed was a bit lopsided. After twelve hours of travel though, we didn't care. We would stay here again as it's only a short 5-10 minute drive to the main streets in Monterey, and I would much prefer staying at this lovely property over staying "downtown."

Room Tip: Request a top floor room facing pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LSB906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear LSB906,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your recommendation! I’m pleased to hear you enjoyed your room and the aquarium package – the Monterey Bay Aquarium is definitely a must see! I hope we see you again soon!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

The Hyatt Regency had a beautiful lobby and well manicured grounds. However, the room we stayed in had scuff marks on the furniture, and the shower was very small. It was supposed to be a handicapped shower, so I would have imagined it would be a little more spacious. (On a plus side, the shower head was maneuverable, so it could be removed from the holder on the wall, and the shampoo/soap smelled good). The comforter on the bed was lumpy, as if it had been washed too many times. I absolutely loved the city of Monterey and hope to return soon. However, I will not stay at the Hyatt. FYI: there is hidden resort fees.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Student_DOcs_onthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Future_DOs_on_the_go,

I want to thank you for providing feedback concerning your recent visit. I’m happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated lobby and the landscaping around property. Our engineering team works hard to keep these areas looking beautiful and I will be sure to share your kind comments with them! Thank you for bringing the furniture marks and comforter issue to our attention. We are constantly making improvements to our property and information coming directly from our guests is very valuable. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the future.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I am really late with my review, but last July I decided to take my wife and niece away to Moneterey to beat the summer heat in Sacramento. My wife and I stay several times a year in Monterey/Carmerel. I did Hotwire and was realy excited to get what I thought was a good deal on the Hyatt. We took are dog because when I booked the Hyatt as a mystery hotel, it showed as a pet friendly. Little did I know that this was going to double my price and require a pet deposit!!

The worse part is that once we checked into the room, there were toys and garbage left in the room by the previous guest. There was a spilled water bottle from a previous guest left behind the sliding glass door blinds, and dirt on the floor in the bathroom. I even found a cheese stick and crushed trail mix in one of the dresser drawers. I made the mistake of leaving my clothes I was changing out of on the ground. When I picked them up to put them away my white shirt was stained.

When I reported this to the staff, they were very rude. I am not the type to write a review but, several months after staying there I am still angry. Do not stay here!! I ussually stay at other Hyatt's for business trips but I am trying to avoid them after my experience. Very unclean!!!! There are many, many better options in Monterey!

Room Tip: Pick a different property
See more room tips
Green Features: Should warn people using Hotwire of costs in advance. Price doubled!
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Dear Gary B,

I want to thank you for taking the time to provide valuable feedback. I am disheartened to hear that your stay was not enjoyable and I want to sincerely apologize for the missteps in service that you experienced. Please trust that I will address your concerns with our staff. I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel and regain your confidence.

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monterey hotels

Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

I booked this hotel at the last minute and was happy to get a room. It was already dark when we arrived so I did not get to experience the grounds. The room was clean and fresh but in the back on the resort. Each of the buildings is motel-style so we faced the parking lot. I wasn't crazy about it, but it was quiet enough. The bathroom was quite small with no fan so we had to open a window after showering, which gave anyone walking by full view of the bathroom. Overall adequate but not a great stay. Also, the resort is very dated and in need of a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Look for something away from the road that leads to the resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GaPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HRMontereyGM, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear GaPO,

Thank you for taking a moment to post on TripAdvisor. I have forwarded your review to our housekeeping team who work hard to keep our hotel looking “clean and fresh”! While I understand the horizontal layout of our hotel is not for everyone, I hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back again and you are able to enjoy the grounds surrounding the hotel. The 22 acres the hotel rests on look especially beautiful in spring and summer!

All the best,
Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redondo Beach, California
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The hotel is quiet and relaxing with nice views of the golf course and hills behind it (Im not into golf, but this golf course is surprisingly pretty). Good wine selection. I loved the restaurant with their focus on local and organic, their salads and breakfast are delicious. Location is walking distance across the Naval Postgraduate School, which is great if you have meetings there like I did. Its a short drive into the main areas of Monterey, and 10 min from the regional airport.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monterey hotels
2.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.2 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
0.9 mi away
Hotel Abrego
Hotel Abrego
#8 of 56 in Monterey
2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Monterey Marriott
Monterey Marriott
#15 of 56 in Monterey
1,294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Monterey
1.0 mi away
Casa Munras Garden Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course

Property: Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course
Address: 1 Old Golf Course Road, Monterey, CA 93940-4908
Region: United States > California > Monterey County > Monterey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Monterey
#5 Green Hotel in Monterey
#6 Spa Hotel in Monterey
#16 Business Hotel in Monterey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course 4*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 550 deluxe guestrooms and suites and over 40,000 square feet of newly renovated meeting and event space, the Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa is the most complete hotel destination on the Monterey Peninsula. Nestled in 22 acres of Monterey Pines, the Hyatt Regency Monterey provides the quintessential Monterey experience in a location offering guests close proximity to downtown Monterey, Monterey airport and easy access to the Peninsula's top attractions like Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf, Monterey Bay Aquarium, Carmel-by-the-Sea and Pebble Beach. The property offers world-class amenities including two outdoor swimming pools, whirlpools and fire pits, full service tennis facility, state-of-the-art health club, new 12,000 square foot Marilyn Monroe Spa and salon and Pebble Beach Company's Del Monte Golf Course. Also enjoy all three of Hyatt Regency Monterey's unique restaurants and lounges: TusCA Ristorante offers diverse Italian and California cuisine in a beautiful show kitchen setting. Knuckles Sports Bar has been voted #1 by the locals for 10 years straight with 24 HDTV's, 20 draft beers and a full menu with burgers, wings, pizza and more. Fireplace Lounge offers a casual indoor/outdoor environment perfect to enjoy either lunch or dinner and unwind with a glass of wine while listening to live jazz on the weekends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel and Spa on Del Monte Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel And Spa
Hyatt Regency Monterey Hotel Monterey
Hyatt Regency Monterey Ca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing